Hacking USB Loader GX: Problems with File Paths Due to External Wii U Storage Device

Technocality

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hello there,

This is my first time posting on this forum, or really any forum for that matter. Apologies if I am not following guidelines or doing something incorrectly in making this thread--please let me know if this is the case.

About a year or so ago, I hacked my Wii U, including my vWii. I've been using USB Loader GX to play backups of my Wii and Gamecube games, and the program has worked wonders in helping to streamline my library.

Recently, I decided to purchase a storage device for my Wii U in the hopes of redownloading all of my digital Wii U games in anticipation of the eventual full closure of the Wii U eshop.

However, this is where I've run into problems in using USB Loader GX.

To avoid confusion, I'll be referring to the two storage devices I have by different names:
Wii storage device -- What USB Loader GX accesses. Stores my Wii and Gamecube games. Is hidden via the "Ustealth" program to prevent the Wii U from recognizing it.
Wii U storage device -- What the Wii U accesses. Stores additional Wii U titles. Formatted to be used with the Wii U.

Here's the basic gist of my problems:

When only having the Wii storage device plugged into my Wii U, USB Loader GX works as intended. All file paths can be set correctly, and do not default to "usb8:" upon load.