Hacking USB LOADER GX incompatible with usb 3.0 hdd enclosure?

Somnianti

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 12, 2020
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
59
Country
Brazil
So i got a new hdd enclosure for my wii, its a 3.0 with power and a fan! really cool! no pun intended.
The problem is that with this enclosure the loader freezes (the irony) mid game, always after 1 or half minute.
The wii freeze and i need to hold the power button to shut down, if i turn the wii on without turning off the hdd, the home brew channel will hang (wont load) until i turn the hdd off. If i turn the wii and hdd off and on after the freeze, the home brew channel will load normally.
in short here's the test i made:

new enclosure, same hdd, OTHER backup (same game) = freeze
new enclosure, DIFERENT hdd , other backup (same game) = freeze
OLD enclosure, same hdd, same backup = works!

in conclusion, the new enclosure is usb 3.0 cable, the old one is 2.0 cable, both are 3.0 capable. Maybe it will work if i use a 2.0 cable in the new enclosure. i cant use the cable of the old one because its different tipes.
Anyone have a solution? thanks in advance!

update: its working fine with 2.0 cable.


sysCheck v2.1.0b19 by Double_A and R2-D2199, Nano
...runs on IOS58 (rev 6176).
Region: NTSC-U
System Menu 4.0/4.1U (v54449)
Priiloader installed
Drive date: 2008.12.18
Homebrew Channel 1.1.2 running on IOS58
HomebrewFilter ist nicht installiert
Hollywood v0x21
Console ID: 146944426
Boot2 v4
Found 112 titles.
Found 53 IOS on this console. 4 of them are stub.
IOS3 (rev 65280): Stub
IOS4 (rev 65280): Stub
IOS9 (rev 1034): No Patches
IOS10 (rev 768): Stub
IOS11 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS12 (rev 526): No Patches
IOS13 (rev 1032): No Patches
IOS14 (rev 1032): No Patches
IOS15 (rev 1032): No Patches
IOS16 (rev 54321): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS17 (rev 1032): No Patches
IOS20 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS21 (rev 1039): No Patches
IOS22 (rev 1294): No Patches
IOS28 (rev 1807): No Patches
IOS30 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS31 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS33 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS34 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS35 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS36 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS37 (rev 5663): No Patches
IOS38 (rev 4124): No Patches
IOS40 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS41 (rev 3607): No Patches
IOS43 (rev 3607): No Patches
IOS45 (rev 3607): No Patches
IOS46 (rev 3607): No Patches
IOS48 (rev 4124): No Patches
IOS50 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS51 (rev 4864): Stub
IOS52 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS53 (rev 5663): No Patches
IOS55 (rev 5663): No Patches
IOS56 (rev 5662): No Patches
IOS57 (rev 5919): No Patches
IOS58 (rev 6176): USB 2.0
IOS60 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS61 (rev 5662): No Patches
IOS62 (rev 6430): No Patches
IOS70 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS80 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS90 (rev 54321): Trucha Bug
IOS202[60] (rev 65535, Info: hermesrodries-v6): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS222[38] (rev 4, Info: hermes-v4): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS223[38+37] (rev 4, Info: hermes-v4): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS224[57] (rev 65535, Info: hermesrodries-v6): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS236[36] (rev 65535, Info: rev 3351): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
IOS247 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS248 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS249[56] (rev 21008, Info: d2x-v8final): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS250[57] (rev 21008, Info: d2x-v8final): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS254 (rev 65281): BootMii
BC v6
MIOS v10
Report generated on 2020/06/12.
 
Last edited by Somnianti,
  • Like
Reactions: jeannotte

jeannotte

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
3,721
Trophies
1
Age
51
XP
3,424
Country
France
So i got a new hdd enclosure for my wii, its a 3.0 with power and a fan! really cool! no pun intended.
The problem is that with this enclosure the loader freezes (the irony) mid game, always after 1 or half minute.
The wii freeze and i need to hold the power button to shut down, if i turn the wii on without turning off the hdd, the home brew channel will hang (wont load) until i turn the hdd off. If i turn the wii and hdd off and on after the freeze, the home brew channel will load normally.
in short here's the test i made:

new enclosure, same hdd, OTHER backup (same game) = freeze
new enclosure, DIFERENT hdd , other backup (same game) = freeze
OLD enclosure, same hdd, same backup = works!

in conclusion, the new enclosure is usb 3.0 cable, the old one is 2.0 cable, both are 3.0 capable. Maybe it will work if i use a 2.0 cable in the new enclosure. i cant use the cable of the old one because its different tipes.
Anyone have a solution? thanks in advance!
Hello,

1) is your hack up to date ?? ==>https://gbatemp.net/threads/posting-a-system-check.300279/

2) connect the hard drive to port 0 of the wii ??
3) Did you format your hard disk in fat 32 with "" guiformat "" ??
4) Do you use "wii backup manager" to manage your games ??
5) is your hard disk in MBR instead of GPT (see "disk management" on your computer) ??
 

Somnianti

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 12, 2020
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
59
Country
Brazil
Hello,

1) is your hack up to date ??

2) connect the hard drive to port 0 of the wii ??
3) Did you format your hard disk in fat 32 with "" guiformat "" ??
4) Do you use "wii backup manager" to manage your games ??
5) is your hard disk in MBR instead of GPT (see "disk management" on your computer) ??

Hello! thank you for your reply!

1) is your hack up to date ? = yes, i checked with modmii (up to date too)
2) connect the hard drive to port 0 of the wii ? = yes, the closer of the edge.
3) Did you format your hard disk in fat 32 with "" guiformat "" ? = yes, with FAT32 GUI Formatter.
4) Do you use "wii backup manager" to manage your games ? = yes
5) is your hard disk in MBR instead of GPT (see "disk management" on your computer) ? = MBR.

obs: i will upload my syscheck in the post.
 

jeannotte

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
3,721
Trophies
1
Age
51
XP
3,424
Country
France
Hello! thank you for your reply!

1) is your hack up to date ? = yes, i checked with modmii (up to date too)
2) connect the hard drive to port 0 of the wii ? = yes, the closer of the edge.
3) Did you format your hard disk in fat 32 with "" guiformat "" ? = yes, with FAT32 GUI Formatter.
4) Do you use "wii backup manager" to manage your games ? = yes
5) is your hard disk in MBR instead of GPT (see "disk management" on your computer) ? = MBR.

obs: i will upload my syscheck in the post.
Hello

What version of usb loader gx do you have ??

Prefer version 1268 or 1271 for usb loader gx ==>https://sourceforge.net/projects/usbloadergx/files/Releases/New revisions (3.0+)/

Did you test wiiflow or Configurable loader v70 with your external hard drive ??
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
30,188
Trophies
2
XP
19,847
Country
United States
I just got done testing my new enclosure. it's the same enclosure as previously, but the leds are different. no freezes, everything works. I suspect your enclosure is defective. is it detected in windows or does it lock up windows too?
 

Somnianti

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 12, 2020
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
59
Country
Brazil
Hello

What version of usb loader gx do you have ??

Prefer version 1268 or 1271 for usb loader gx ==>https://sourceforge.net/projects/usbloadergx/files/Releases/New revisions (3.0+)/

Did you test wiiflow or Configurable loader v70 with your external hard drive ??

I am using version 1271, i tested with cfg end freeze too.
this enclosure works fine with pc, only the wii is having a problem.
i suspect that is something related with DOLs, i changed in the game settings (select game > settings > game load > alternate DOL) in alternate dol from default to select a dol from game and let the offset as 0, its hit or miss, sometimes work, sometime wont.
I tested again with 2.0 cable and default settings, its working!

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I just got done testing my new enclosure. it's the same enclosure as previously, but the leds are different. no freezes, everything works. I suspect your enclosure is defective. is it detected in windows or does it lock up windows too?
3.0 enclosure with 3.0 cable? if yes, maybe my enclosure is partially incompatible.
its working fine with 2.0 cable tho.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
14,527
Trophies
3
Age
51
Location
Austria
XP
629
Country
Austria
Hello.:)

I am using version 1271, i tested with cfg end freeze too.
this enclosure works fine with pc, only the wii is having a problem.
i suspect that is something related with DOLs, i changed in the game settings (select game > settings > game load > alternate DOL) in alternate dol from default to select a dol from game and let the offset as 0, its hit or miss, sometimes work, sometime wont.
I tested again with 2.0 cable and default settings, its working!

Maybe a try with such an Cable is maybe worth a Try.:)

41LIuI2QYhL._AC_SX425_.jpg

EDIT:I am sorry,I overread it:
its a 3.0 with power and a fan!

So you do not need it of course,excuse me please.:)



Good Luck
Thank you.:)
 
Last edited by Alexander1970,

Fawe

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 6, 2020
Messages
95
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Hannover, Lower Saxony
XP
262
Country
Germany
The Wii is extremly picky when it comes to HDDs. I use 2.0 HDDs exclusivley. It all depends on which drive, enclosure and cable you're using. Also you should try formatting it to GPT. And set it as active while you're at it. I use Mini Tool Partition Wizard a really great tool for managing partitions.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    DuckBoi @ DuckBoi: .