Hacking USB Loader GX doesn't show Gamecube CISO files

TheArcadeStriker

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2016
Messages
215
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
somewhere
XP
287
Country
Venezuela
Exactly what it says on the tin. Nintendont can detect and play these correctly, but USB Loader GX doesn't show any GC game in .ciso format in the menus (games I have in full and shrunk ISO format are displayed). Is this supposed to be normal? Or do I need a specific version of ULGX?
 

GreyWolf

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2015
Messages
5,399
Trophies
0
Age
54
XP
1,516
Country
United States
Rename the games from .ciso to .iso and they Will work flawlessly with usbloadergx+Nintendont, all' my GC games (100+) are in .ciso format ;)

The loader won't be able to read the disc images to get metadata and the banner out of them.
 

Zonta85

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2007
Messages
436
Trophies
0
Age
39
Location
Ascoli Piceno
Website
www.facebook.com
XP
523
Country
Italy
The loader won't be able to read the disc images to get metadata and the banner out of them.



IMG_20171206_093632.jpg



As i said, 196 Gc Games in my hard drive, all of them are .ciso renamed in .iso and all of them work flawlessly, for banner and metadata, he just needs to put the correct name (title id) in the subfolder that contains the ISO.



Immagine.jpg
 
Last edited by Zonta85,

migles

All my gbatemp friends are now mods, except for me
Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2013
Messages
8,033
Trophies
0
Location
Earth-chan
XP
5,300
Country
China
IMG_20171206_093632.jpg



As i said, 196 Gc Games in my hard drive, all of them are .ciso renamed in .iso and all of them work flawlessly, for banner and metadata, he just needs to put the correct name (title id) in the subfolder that contains the ISO.



Immagine.jpg
how di ya rename that way?
 

Zonta85

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2007
Messages
436
Trophies
0
Age
39
Location
Ascoli Piceno
Website
www.facebook.com
XP
523
Country
Italy
how di ya rename that way?

You Can get the title id Launcher Nintendont or Reading It on gametdb then You Can rename your subfolder with Every bame You want, the importante thng is that It must have the title id inside the two [ ], example: "Another Super Mario Game [GMSP01]" (for Super Mario Sunshine PAL version) or "Another Super Mario Game [GMSE01]" (for SMS USA version.
The name You put in the subfolder doesn't matter, the importante thing is to put the exact title id.

Yes. The loader is getting the title ID from the folder names, not the images.

Yes, and all' my Wii games have their subfolders madre in the same way, because UsbLoaderGx is a looooot faster in listing/showing the games while reading the game id from subfolders instead of opening Every single iso and reading It from the inside, especially if You have a lot o games.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Stormflora

migles

All my gbatemp friends are now mods, except for me
Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2013
Messages
8,033
Trophies
0
Location
Earth-chan
XP
5,300
Country
China
You Can get the title id Launcher Nintendont or Reading It on gametdb then You Can rename your subfolder with Every bame You want, the importante thng is that It must have the title id inside the two [ ], example: "Another Super Mario Game [GMSP01]" (for Super Mario Sunshine PAL version) or "Another Super Mario Game [GMSE01]" (for SMS USA version.
The name You put in the subfolder doesn't matter, the importante thing is to put the exact title id.
i understand but you have like hundreds of folders like i do, i don't want to manually rename them, what is the easiest way? is there a software to make that automatically?
 

GreyWolf

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2015
Messages
5,399
Trophies
0
Age
54
XP
1,516
Country
United States
Yes, and all' my Wii games have their subfolders madre in the same way, because UsbLoaderGx is a looooot faster in listing/showing the games while reading the game id from subfolders instead of opening Every single iso and reading It from the inside, especially if You have a lot o games.

That's my point. If you didn't have the folders named that way already the loader would fail to find the title IDs because it doesn't know how to access CISO files. The data isn't in the same place as it is for a full 1:1 GC disc image. If your GC banners are showing up it's likely because they were already in the banner cache folder.
 

Zonta85

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2007
Messages
436
Trophies
0
Age
39
Location
Ascoli Piceno
Website
www.facebook.com
XP
523
Country
Italy
i understand but you have like hundreds of folders like i do, i don't want to manually rename them, what is the easiest way? is there a software to make that automatically?

I don't remember if at the time i did It manually or with a software/tool, i'm back "following the scene" after a while, sorry.

That's my point. If you didn't have the folders named that way already the loader would fail to find the title IDs because it doesn't know how to access CISO files. The data isn't in the same place as it is for a full 1:1 GC disc image. If your GC banners are showing up it's likely because they were already in the banner cache folder.

Yes, but i don't really care about banners while covers/disc images/games are showed, listed and launched perfectly.

Maybe @GerbilSoft Can help @Cyan implementing ciso compatibility in usbloadergx GX?
I remember that he implemented ciso in Nintendont and at the time i made some tests for him.
 
Last edited by Zonta85,

Zonta85

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2007
Messages
436
Trophies
0
Age
39
Location
Ascoli Piceno
Website
www.facebook.com
XP
523
Country
Italy
adding ciso is not the hardest.
I just need one ciso to know where the disc header data is located.

If You need only one ciso You Can easily convert One of your GC games with WiT
https://wit.wiimm.de/features.html
I converted all' of my games with It if i remember correctly ;)
This would be a nice new feature in the next release since Nintendont is already compatibile from a while.
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,746
Trophies
4
Age
46
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,665
Country
France
what I'm a little "against" that idea, is that the loader has always been thought as "compatible with everything and all versions".

You can use nintendont alpha if you want, and it would work.
you can use DIOS MIOS, you can use devolution, everything will work.
you can use the same emuNAND folder with cIOS or neek, etc.

if I add ciso, your games will not work anymore with the other setups. the loader will not be versatile anymore (easy go back and forth different settings and loaders).
But I guess if you already renamed your ciso to iso, the loader list them but it already doesn't work with DM/Quad/devo.
You know you did it, you converted them and the loader is not "natively" compatible. you know you can't use a different settings.
But I just don't want users who don't know anything about the file format to wonder why the loader list the files but they don't work, and it's just because they use DM/DML.
I could add a warning message if using an incompatible loader.

I know these loaders are older, and nintendont is probably the most used now.

I'll probably add ciso compatibility, I just don't like it being added while not 100% compatible with everything.
That's also why only the "games/title/game.iso" layout is working and not "games/file.iso" used by devolution (and now nintendont) : because it wouldn't work with DM/DML/Quad/Neek/Nintendont (back in the beginning)
this layout work with every loaders, that's just the best choice based on compatibility.
 
Last edited by Cyan,

CheatFreak47

Catgirl Expert
Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
1,576
Trophies
2
Age
28
Location
Michigan, USA
XP
2,807
Country
United States
what I'm a little "against" that idea, is that the loader has always been thought as "compatible with everything and all versions".

You can use nintendont alpha if you want, and it would work.
you can use DIOS MIOS, you can use devolution, everything will work.
you can use the same emuNAND folder with cIOS or neek, etc.

if I add ciso, your games will not work anymore with the other setups. the loader will not be versatile anymore (easy go back and forth different settings and loaders).
But I guess if you already renamed your ciso to iso, the loader list them but it already doesn't work with DM/Quad/devo.
You know you did it, you converted them and the loader is not "natively" compatible. you know you can't use a different settings.
But I just don't want users who don't know anything about the file format to wonder why the loader list the files but they don't work, and it's just because they use DM/DML.
I could add a warning message if using an incompatible loader.

I know these loaders are older, and nintendont is probably the most used now.

I'll probably add ciso compatibility, I just don't like it being added while not 100% compatible with everything.
That's also why only the "games/title/game.iso" layout is working and not "games/file.iso" used by devolution (and now nintendont) : because it wouldn't work with DM/DML/Quad/Neek/Nintendont (back in the beginning)
this layout work with every loaders, that's just the best choice based on compatibility.

A simple dialog popup saying "CISO format is not compatible with anything other than Nintendont v4.429 and above." and then you click OK and it will simply not launch the game. I don't think that supporting new features is at all a bad idea as long as a bit of consideration is put into it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Zonta85 and Cyan

Zonta85

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2007
Messages
436
Trophies
0
Age
39
Location
Ascoli Piceno
Website
www.facebook.com
XP
523
Country
Italy
what I'm a little "against" that idea, is that the loader has always been thought as "compatible with everything and all versions".

You can use nintendont alpha if you want, and it would work.
you can use DIOS MIOS, you can use devolution, everything will work.
you can use the same emuNAND folder with cIOS or neek, etc.

if I add ciso, your games will not work anymore with the other setups. the loader will not be versatile anymore (easy go back and forth different settings and loaders).
But I guess if you already renamed your ciso to iso, the loader list them but it already doesn't work with DM/Quad/devo.
You know you did it, you converted them and the loader is not "natively" compatible. you know you can't use a different settings.
But I just don't want users who don't know anything about the file format to wonder why the loader list the files but they don't work, and it's just because they use DM/DML.
I could add a warning message if using an incompatible loader.

I know these loaders are older, and nintendont is probably the most used now.

I'll probably add ciso compatibility, I just don't like it being added while not 100% compatible with everything.
That's also why only the "games/title/game.iso" layout is working and not "games/file.iso" used by devolution (and now nintendont) : because it wouldn't work with DM/DML/Quad/Neek/Nintendont (back in the beginning)
this layout work with every loaders, that's just the best choice based on compatibility.

Maybe with a setting that can allow the compatibility while is disabled by default?
In this way who has enough knowledge about file format can use ciso, without having to rename every subfolder (and the game file extension) and the most common users still has full compatibility.
 

GerbilSoft

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2012
Messages
2,395
Trophies
2
Age
35
XP
4,288
Country
United States
adding ciso is not the hardest.
I just need one ciso to know where the disc header data is located.
https://github.com/FIX94/Nintendont/blob/master/kernel/ISO.c

Basic structure:
  • 0x0000: u32 - CISO magic (0x4349534F, "CISO")
  • 0x0004: u32 - Block size (usually 2,097,152 - this is the only one supported by Nintendont right now)
  • 0x0008: u8[1024] - block map; each entry is 0 for "no block" or 1 for "has block"; this needs to be reassembled at runtime.
  • 0x0408: Unused.
  • 0x8000: First data block.
Block 0 is always present for GameCube games, since that has the disc header. Hence, the GameCube disc header will be located at 0x8000.

Note that Wii CISOs have a larger block map that uses the "unused" space. For Nintendont, I limited it to 1024 blocks, which limits GameCube disc images to 2 GB.
 
Last edited by GerbilSoft, , Reason: +Wii

Andyskater11

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 18, 2019
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
54
Country
United Kingdom
FIXED!

you've not got file extensions enabled within Windows. So when you've renamed your ISO files, you've called them gamename.iso.iso

I just did the same, but turned on file extensions, deleted the extra .iso and it's all working
 
  • Like
Reactions: jeannotte

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    SylverReZ @ SylverReZ: From the start of <insert global event here>, my mental health had started to worsen from 2016...