USB Loader GX, Black Screen

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by marroking, Dec 30, 2014.

  1. marroking
    OP

    marroking Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Dec 30, 2014
    United States
    Newbie here. I've ran through a couple of threads now attempting to resolve the problem on my own but based on my results I've had no luck

    I had started off my homebrew with outdated IOS's and now I've updated them but I still have the same problem.

    Issue -
    Backed up Mario Kart Wii through USB Loader on a WBFS drive (Sandisk Extreme 3.0) everything was successful and then I proceeded to launch the game but it only takes me to the warning screen about strapping on your wiimote or whatever followed by a never ending black screen. Any help would be grateful!

    Here's my syscheck
    Code:
    sysCheck v2.1.0b19 by Double_A and R2-D2199    Nano           
    ...runs on IOS58 (rev 6176).               
                   
    Region: NTSC-U               
    System Menu 4.3U (v513)               
    Priiloader installed               
    Drive date: 2007.02.13               
    Homebrew Channel 1.1.2 running on IOS58               
    HomebrewFilter ist nicht installiert               
    Hollywood v0x11               
    Console ID: 113040927               
    Boot2 v4               
    Found 90 titles.               
    Found 49 IOS on this console. 5 of them are stub.               
                   
    IOS4 (rev 65280): Stub               
    IOS9 (rev 1034): No Patches               
    IOS10 (rev 768): Stub               
    IOS11 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug    NAND Access           
    IOS12 (rev 526): No Patches               
    IOS13 (rev 1032): No Patches               
    IOS14 (rev 1032): No Patches               
    IOS15 (rev 1032): No Patches               
    IOS16 (rev 512): Stub               
    IOS17 (rev 1032): No Patches               
    IOS20 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug    NAND Access           
    IOS21 (rev 1039): No Patches               
    IOS22 (rev 1294): No Patches               
    IOS28 (rev 1807): No Patches               
    IOS30 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug    NAND Access           
    IOS31 (rev 3608): No Patches               
    IOS33 (rev 3608): No Patches               
    IOS34 (rev 3608): No Patches               
    IOS35 (rev 3608): No Patches               
    IOS36 (rev 3608): No Patches               
    IOS37 (rev 5663): No Patches               
    IOS38 (rev 4124): No Patches               
    IOS40 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug    NAND Access           
    IOS41 (rev 3607): No Patches               
    IOS43 (rev 3607): No Patches               
    IOS45 (rev 3607): No Patches               
    IOS46 (rev 3607): No Patches               
    IOS48 (rev 4124): No Patches               
    IOS50 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug    NAND Access           
    IOS51 (rev 4864): Stub               
    IOS52 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug    NAND Access           
    IOS53 (rev 5663): No Patches               
    IOS55 (rev 5663): No Patches               
    IOS56 (rev 5662): No Patches               
    IOS57 (rev 5919): No Patches               
    IOS58 (rev 6176): USB 2.0               
    IOS60 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug    NAND Access           
    IOS61 (rev 5662): No Patches               
    IOS62 (rev 6430): No Patches               
    IOS70 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug    NAND Access           
    IOS80 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug    NAND Access           
    IOS202[60] (rev 65535    Info: hermesrodries-v6): Trucha Bug    NAND Access    USB 2.0   
    IOS222[38] (rev 4    Info: hermes-v4): Trucha Bug    ES Identify    NAND Access    USB 2.0
    IOS223[38+37] (rev 4    Info: hermes-v4): Trucha Bug    ES Identify    NAND Access    USB 2.0
    IOS224[57] (rev 65535    Info: hermesrodries-v6): Trucha Bug    NAND Access    USB 2.0   
    IOS236[36] (rev 65535    Info: rev 3351): Trucha Bug    ES Identify    NAND Access   
    IOS249[56] (rev 21008    Info: d2x-v8final): Trucha Bug    NAND Access    USB 2.0   
    IOS250[57] (rev 21008    Info: d2x-v8final): Trucha Bug    NAND Access    USB 2.0   
    IOS254 (rev 65280): Stub               
    BC v6               
    MIOS v10 (DIOS MIOS 2.6.1+)               
                   
    Report generated on 2014/12/29.               
    
     
  2. masterpad

    masterpad Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    84
    6
    Aug 26, 2008
    Cameroon
    First thing i can tell you is that your Cios are still out of date!!!

    especially the one in slot 249 (IOS 249) essentialy used by loaders for wii backup launch throught usb .

    You should have at least IOS 249 [56] (rev 21010 info: d2x-v10-beta52). I used d2x-v10-beta53-alt one, since i don't plan anything with usb nand acces.

    I update my Cios with PympMyWii but i noticed that on gbatemp Modmii is very plebiscited so many people can backup you if you use it.
     
  3. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,567
    8,914
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    v8 is totally fine.
    he doesn't need v10 if his drive is detected correctly with v8.
    v10 only adds new drives detection, v10-alt adds port1 but less EmuNAND support.

    His other IOS Slots are all fine too. (except IOS254, you should reinstall Bootmii IOS using hackmii installer!)

    Newer =/= better.
    PimpMyWii is always installing latest version of everything, even when it's better not to do it.
    That's why it's not plebiscited here, and often criticized.

    His game launches, so the drive is correctly detected.
    he didn't explain if it's
    black screen (freeze) : redump your game
    or
    black screen (with audio continuing playing in the background and can press buttons blindly) : set video mode to Disc/game default.
     
  4. marroking
    OP

    marroking Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Dec 30, 2014
    United States

    Update: My backup of Mario Kart was a flunk my friend let me use his wbfs file and I used Cleanrip for Wii sports and it worked as well.

    Although now i cant seem to load GameCube Iso's or I may be doing it wrong. I have attempted to use Dios Mios but I get the "fatal error apploader size is zero" I have tried to use devolution as well and it sends me to a black screen. No audio no nothing the only way to get out is by turning off my wii. Any ideas guys? :(
     
  5. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,567
    8,914
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    devolution need you to scan/verify your ISO using your retail disc, it waits on a black screen until you scan it.

    DIOS MIOS error you have is common one for users with incorrectly setup HDD (wrong partition!)
     
  6. marroking
    OP

    marroking Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Dec 30, 2014
    United States
    Ok I'll try that with devolution but by partition what do you mean? I'm using a fat 32k cluster format. I noticed when I used usb loaded gx I can launch super Mario Galaxy 2 but not just dance 2014 it stays in a black screen no audio nothing my remote is disconnected. I got no clue man.
     
  7. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,567
    8,914
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    apploader size is zero means that the ISO is not found or not at the correct size/place.

    verify your ISO is a good dump
    use FAT32 with 32k/cluster
    use MBR (not GPT, not EBR)
    use a 512 bytes per sector drive (You can't edit that! it's a physical size of the internal plates, you need a different drive)
    don't use drive bigger than 2TB (99% chance they are 4096 bytes per sector, not 512)
    if you make multiple partitions, be sure your first "primary" partition is a FAT32 (for less issue, put only one primary FAT32 MBR partition)
    be sure you have DIOS MIOS, and not DIOS MIOS Lite installed if you launch game from USB
    verify your path don't have non-alphabetical letters (not accentuated letters, etc.)
     
  8. marroking
    OP

    marroking Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Dec 30, 2014
    United States
    Thanks man I got it to work I'm so happy now. Is it normal for some games to work and for some to not on usb loader? Just Dance 2015, and '14 do the same thing as Mario Kart wii did. Black screen same issue. Booting off same drive fat32 32k dumbped with wiibackupmanager. Sorry for asking all these newbie questions :unsure:
     
  9. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,567
    8,914
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    Musical games might require specific IOS base.
    Try to set that game to use slot250 (or 251 if you installed it with base58)


    What was your issue ? what did you do to fix it?
    it might interest other users with the same problem.
     
  10. marroking
    OP

    marroking Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Dec 30, 2014
    United States
    Thanks man I finally got all my stuff together! :lol:

    So my first solution to my Mario Kart Wii was that it was a bad rip of my own game. I checked the md5 hash with Wii Backup Manager and it verified as incorrect while my friends was in the green. (Check by selecting wbfs -> tools -> SHA-1 Hash Check)

    My second solution to DIOS MIOS was that I had installed lite rather than regular and formatted my directory as so x:games/Mario_Kart_Double_Dash/game.iso. I checked my iso with gym utility as well as diskex which I found from this TUTORIAL

    Finally my Just Dance issues were fixed by Just Dance 14' being compatible with IOS 250 and 15' being compatible with IOS 251.

    Thanks once again, you guys are awesome!:yaywii:
     
  11. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,567
    8,914
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    You shouldn't use DiscEX or GCReEX.
    use full, plain, untouched, unaligned, uncompressed and clean 1:1 ISO for Gamecube.

    it works better and is faster.

    If you only want to know the GameID, you can use DMToolBox with the "raw" option. it will rename the ISO and put it in the folder with the correct GameID.
     
  12. Joseph D1998

    Joseph D1998 Newbie

    Newcomer
    3
    0
    Jan 19, 2015
    Sorry to bump the thread guys, But im incredibly new to the HBC and all its features and really could use some help. I have installed usbloadergx and installed some of my own games but Just dance 2015 just goes to a black screen. i was wondering what i could do to fix this. As i said i am really new to this, so could you dumb it down as much as possible with instructions if they are available. Many Thanks, Josephd1998
     
  13. tswntk

    tswntk GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    668
    136
    Aug 6, 2012
    Switzerland
    google is best friend
    Just dance 2015 black screen or
    Just dance 2015 usbloader
     
  14. Joseph D1998

    Joseph D1998 Newbie

    Newcomer
    3
    0
    Jan 19, 2015
    tswntk, I have googled it. For hours i have tried, but to no avail. Thats why im asking here.