USB Loader - Adding a new game screws up another one

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by crt, Apr 5, 2009.

Apr 5, 2009
  1. crt
    OP

    Newcomer crt Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Germany
    I've got a strange problem with the usb loader.
    At first I installed 3 games using wbfs_win and they all worked fine.
    Then I installed 7 more using the wii interface and as a result three games (one of the earlier installed games and two of the new ones) now crash on startup.
    So I uninstalled the broken games und started reinstalling. However, everytime I install one game, another stops working.

    Also I noticed something weired:
    Along with some other games I had Okami and Madworld installed. Okami was broken and when I tried to extract the ISO from the HDD using wbfs_win, I got half of the ISO of Madworld.
    After I reinstalled Okami, Madworld broke. Reinstalling Madworld made Okami stop working, then I gave up...
     


  2. Dodi

    Member Dodi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    243
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeh, I've noticed this as well. [​IMG]
    Hopefuly they will fix it in the next release.
     
  3. m-tek

    Member m-tek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    dont use the wii for dumping... it seems to have this effect of screwing your games up!!
     
  4. Cypherdias

    Newcomer Cypherdias Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, that might be the problem. I'm using the wbfs PC tool most of the time. The first time I got such an error as described here was yesterday - after dumping one game via USB Loader (had no ISO for that game). So it seems better not to use that function at the moment. Especially with USB Loader 1.1, which seems to make even more problems here than 1.0 did.
     
  5. Omegax0

    Newcomer Omegax0 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Has nothing to do with it. I always use the PC for installing games and also have this problem.
     
  6. delta123

    Member delta123 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    Hyougo, Japan
    Country:
    Australia
    i haven`t had that problem yet. installed over 20 games via usb and 10 games via the loader install. haven`t had a problem with any of my games yet.

    well i did think that i had a cople of problems with some of the installs, but that was with the loader install.
     
  7. m-tek

    Member m-tek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You might be right actually... Ive not had the problem , but heard reports of game corruption when dumping from the wii... So you say this happens via the pc aswel??

    Well another theory that sprins to mind is bad media... ie the hdd/flash drive isnt compatible ... You get this with the psp if your using a cheap china pro duo stick... You'd install a game to the card and other games got corrupted.... Sounds like a simular case here...Wouldnt you think??
     
  8. FoGBaV

    Newcomer FoGBaV Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    Sweden
    I still want a verify fuction in the loader and in the tools.

    I crashed a game when i was trying to dump 2 isos at the same time ... this is no good idea.
     
  9. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Ok it sounds like your games get corruted somehow, but could you test your games with my toy, you can find it here:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=125909&st=45

    Dump the games as usual, but please don't start them even once with the usb loader, only start them with my toy. I wonder if this is able to solve the problem.

    PS: You need Kwiirk's usb backup cIOS installed for this(IOS222)
    PPS: Don't use patches and use DISC REGION VIDEO MODE!
     
  10. Sanf1

    Newcomer Sanf1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Netherlands
    What media do you use, hdd/usb flashdrive?
    Maybe your media is corrupt, I had that with a cheap fake usb stick (8gb) from China.
    I bought it as 8gb but actually it was only 1gb.

    You can test your usb flasdrives with this little tool:H2testw 1.4

    H2testw 1.4 Website - English (Google translate)

    H2testw 1.4 Website - German
     
  11. dope_X

    Newcomer dope_X Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Germany
    is there today a fix to repair "code dumped"-crashed games?
    my backup is broken, and i only got that iso on my HDD, but when i extract it and want to install it again, it says "not a wii disk" =(
    how can i avoid that code-dump crap?
     
  12. bluebird12

    Member bluebird12 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Country:
    United States
  13. dope_X

    Newcomer dope_X Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Germany
    but no fix too =(
    so i have to buy a new disk...
     
  14. bula

    Member bula GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    814
    Country:
    United States
    Hi m-tek,

    how do you dump a game using a PC if it is not original? rawdump2.0 does not work for a copied game. Thanks.

    Nevermind I fund out that ImgBurn is the easiest way....
     
  15. dope_X

    Newcomer dope_X Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Germany
    you can use imgburn or nero for backups.. ^^
     
  16. bula

    Member bula GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    814
    Country:
    United States
    thanks anyway.
     
  17. Cypherdias

    Newcomer Cypherdias Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    United States
    Just looked through all games on my HDD and found another 4 games broken. Whatever causes this, it should be fixed really soon.

    It's a normal 3.5" desktop HDD in an external enclosure with it's own power supply. The drive itself is absolutely intact, this shouldn't be a problem. I can also play most of my games without any problems from it. Just dumping seems to be a problem sometimes.
     
  18. delta123

    Member delta123 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    Hyougo, Japan
    Country:
    Australia
    i just want to know, how many people here have 2 partitions on the HDD? its just i have installed over 20 games on my HDD and i haven`t had one screw up on me yet.
    I have a 320 Western Digital HDD and it only has the 1 partiton. so far everything has been working fine for me.

    *forgot to add in that i have installed 10 games via the USB loader. and i have managed to extract out problem ones and fix them to work on my system (SSBB and SMG had to edit the iso to force english mode).
     
  19. dope_X

    Newcomer dope_X Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Germany
    i got 2 250gig partitions on my 500gb HD, 1 for wii, the other for geexbox.. ^^
    well i got like 30 games on it and had like 5-8 times that damn code dump and like 3 times ret=0 error
    i put 50% by wii and 50% by pc on the HD..
     
  20. Cypherdias

    Newcomer Cypherdias Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    United States
    It's a 250GB HDD - with a single 250GB partition. So that's not the problem either. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page