Updating the 3ds sysnand

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Ortega0517, Oct 5, 2015.

  1. Ortega0517
    OP

    Ortega0517 Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    May 12, 2015
    United States
    Okay I have a 3ds with firmware 7.1. I'm using the latest launcher from gateway which is 10.1. I wanna update my 3ds to (AT LEAST 9.2) is there anything I can use to update it to a specific firmware without updating it to the latest version? The reason why I'm asking is because I don't want to have to keep launching the exploit to use the ironhax exploit. Any help would be much appreciated.
     
    Last edited by Ortega0517, Oct 5, 2015
  2. Baccabechoppin

    Baccabechoppin GBAtemp's Finest Bacca!

    Member
    745
    300
    Aug 10, 2015
    Australia
    Magnolia Town
    Use a game card with the 9.2 update on it
     
  3. Ortega0517
    OP

    Ortega0517 Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    May 12, 2015
    United States
  4. Baccabechoppin

    Baccabechoppin GBAtemp's Finest Bacca!

    Member
    745
    300
    Aug 10, 2015
    Australia
    Magnolia Town
    If you're on 7.1 you wont have eShop access, therefore it'll have to be a physical copy
     
  5. Psi-hate

    Psi-hate GBATemp's Official Psi-Hater

    Member
    1,646
    1,046
    Dec 14, 2014
    United States
    Houston
    Uh.. you can eshop spoof via gateway, or possibly use sysupdater.
     
  6. marioguy234

    marioguy234 Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    2
    Jun 27, 2015
    Canada
    somewhere near Celadon City
    I heard there are some ssb4 3ds games that contain an update to 9.2.0 but they don't update you browser
     
  7. Trill Spector

    Trill Spector Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    61
    13
    May 8, 2015
    United States
    the only US game that meets that criteria is rev. 2 of Super Smash Bros iirc

    does sysupdater work on 2ds?
     
    Last edited by Trill Spector, Oct 5, 2015
  8. Baccabechoppin

    Baccabechoppin GBAtemp's Finest Bacca!

    Member
    745
    300
    Aug 10, 2015
    Australia
    Magnolia Town
    Oh yeah right you can do that
     
  9. Paladiex

    Paladiex Member

    Newcomer
    36
    5
    Sep 27, 2015
    United States
  10. Ortega0517
    OP

    Ortega0517 Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    May 12, 2015
    United States
    @Paladiex thanks i'll try it when i get a chance

    @Baccabechoppin if i update it using a game card, i can always downgrade using gateway right or is it unstable?

    @marioguy234 Ive seen the update BEFORE I played the game and was afraid it might update to the latest version so i cancel lol
     
  11. legofan623

    legofan623 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    418
    196
    Oct 3, 2011
    United States
    Puyallup, WA
    I can confirm it does, I went from 8.1 to 9.0. Make sure you use rxTools devmode or else IT WILL BRICK.
     
  12. Baccabechoppin

    Baccabechoppin GBAtemp's Finest Bacca!

    Member
    745
    300
    Aug 10, 2015
    Australia
    Magnolia Town
    Don't own a Gateway card so I can't be certain, fairly sure you can still downgrade, but I suggest seeing if someone else can help you
     
  13. legofan623

    legofan623 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    418
    196
    Oct 3, 2011
    United States
    Puyallup, WA
    If you mean going back to 4.5 from 9.x then I think downgrading with gateway is fine
     
  14. Ortega0517
    OP

    Ortega0517 Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    May 12, 2015
    United States
    The 3dnus wont download the 9.2 files :(
     
  15. daxtsu

    daxtsu GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    5,546
    3,952
    Jun 9, 2007
    Antarctica
    That's because Nintendo removed access to older firmware files a long time ago. You'll need to grab them from various websites that also host ROM downloads.
     
  16. Ortega0517
    OP

    Ortega0517 Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    May 12, 2015
    United States
    where exactly? i tried searching but cant seem to find it.
     
  17. Paladiex

    Paladiex Member

    Newcomer
    36
    5
    Sep 27, 2015
    United States
    Maybe google the terms 3ds and "iso".
     
    legofan623 and Margen67 like this.