1. Savai

    OP Savai Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    So, I found an old 3ds that I had laying around and since I had hardware issues with my new 3ds xl, I decided that I want to install Luma on the old 3ds. However, from the last time I installed a CFW, going through the guide, there was a step where I was told to go to system settings to update. My concern here is that if I did that, wouldn't it update to 11.3? And if so, wouldn't that interfere with the process since homebrew doesn't work with it currently? I'd like a bit more advice before I tried. Thanks!
     
  2. zoogie

    zoogie playing around in the dsiware
    Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    8,271
    Country:
    Micronesia, Federated States of
    You can install a9lh directly from 9.7

    3ds.guide
     
    netovsk likes this.
  3. Jayro

    Jayro MediCat Dev and Gameboy Modder
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    9,812
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think there are any fame cartridges out with 11.2 on them yet.
     
  4. comput3rus3r

    comput3rus3r GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    3,568
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think you're required to update. You do a nanda backup before you down grade to 2.1 then you'll restore back to 9.7.
     
  5. zoogie

    zoogie playing around in the dsiware
    Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    8,271
    Country:
    Micronesia, Federated States of
    Yoshi's woolly world does but that's probably irrelevant here.
     
  6. ElijahZAwesome

    ElijahZAwesome Hey. I exist. Woo
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    833
    Country:
    United States
    that step is a the very end of the guide, right? so you can update, the only thing that wont work is hblauncher loader, but that will be updated soon once the new otherapp payloads are released. if that step is at the beginning, umm?? because it shouldn't matter i think.
     
  7. Savai

    OP Savai Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    Oh ok, my fault then. If it's at the end of the guide then I shouldn't have an issue. Thanks!
     
  8. proflayton123

    proflayton123 Sakura思い
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,032
    Country:
    Japan
  9. ElijahZAwesome

    ElijahZAwesome Hey. I exist. Woo
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    833
    Country:
    United States
    yeah, you'll be fine. i'm still waiting for the payloads cause i have CFW already but I need to open HBL. :(
     
  10. proflayton123

    proflayton123 Sakura思い
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,032
    Country:
    Japan
    You want* ;)
     
  11. Savai

    OP Savai Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the confirmation guys! Much appreciated! :D
     
    ElijahZAwesome likes this.
  12. ElijahZAwesome

    ElijahZAwesome Hey. I exist. Woo
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    833
    Country:
    United States
    lol yeah, just really badly, organiz3d doesnt work as a cia.
     
  13. Shikkichu

    Shikkichu A little Pika girl~
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    626
    Country:
    United States
    Why do you need to open HBL?
    FBI has almost every HB known in CIA format through the "TitleDB" selection from the main menu
     
  14. ElijahZAwesome

    ElijahZAwesome Hey. I exist. Woo
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    833
    Country:
    United States
    organiz3d and Portal3DS don't work as CIAs. I kinda really want to use the former and I like the ladder.
     
  15. Savai

    OP Savai Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    Not meaning to interfere with your conversation, but does anyone remember the size of their OTP? I remember the last time I backed it up and saved it on my pc, it was only about 1kb and I'm not sure if thats the average size for it? If not then I'm wondering if that's why my nand restore didn't fix the issue on my new 3ds that black screened on me.
     
  16. Queen of SoS

    Queen of SoS Story of Seasons Queen
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    844
    Country:
    United States
    Yea it's normally 943mb for me everytime...
     
  17. I'm in the same pickle, I just picked up an n3dsxl that's on the way, hoping that 11.3 does get an exploit for HBL in near future, blargsnes has never once worked for me in CIA form and I use my 2DS a lot for snes.
     
  18. Savai

    OP Savai Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    Wow, that's a huge difference there. I did everything right in the guide, any idea why it was only 1kb for me?
     
  19. Queen of SoS

    Queen of SoS Story of Seasons Queen
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    844
    Country:
    United States
    Nand.bin.sha is 1kb btw

    Honestly I have no idea.
     
  20. Savai

    OP Savai Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, that's also 1kb for me but some reason the OTP.bin is also 1kb. I betting that's why it didn't restore correctly.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Updating, possible, updating