Hacking Updating a modded xbox 360 elite

gbands

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Ok, just to clear it out first, I have no experience with modding and if ever, this might be the 1st console that I'll open just to do an update.

So here's my problem. When I borrowed this xbox from my partner, it was already modded in a shop. So I've no problem playing burnt games. The reason I want to update is because the firmware it's on is still 2.0.12625.0 and there are a lot of games that don't work on it anymore.

I was planning on having it updated back in the shop that modded it but my partner doesn't remember what shop did it, and it's a bit of a trip from where we are. I've browsed different shops but they charge a lot just to update it, about $25 or so and they always say it takes a day or two before I can get the console back. Since I've no experience with modding and updating and I wasn't there when they had the 360 modded, I couldn't say if it really takes that long to just update and do whatever they needed to do to get it done. That's why I'm resorting to DIY.

Now I won't and will never go on LIVE so I don't mind if what I need to do will flag the console or whatever. And I have a hunch that the mod the shop did to the xbox is just a dvd flash since my partner said they never touched the board or anything like that. So my questions are:

Just to make sure, what do I need to do to know what kind of mod the shop did?
What kind of tools do I need?
If the dvd is just flashed, is it possible to have it reflashed without removing the drive from the xbox?
I've been hearing about keys, since the xbox is modded, is it still possible for me to get these keys?

There may be a lot of other stuff I need to know so any help is greatly appreciated. I'm sorry to be such a noob but I really want to learn how to do this myself which will save me money and other troubles I might run into with our local shop modders.

BTW, the mrf is 2008-07-21