Until which M3 Slot2 is RTC?

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by JunTi, Mar 21, 2007.

Mar 21, 2007

Until which M3 Slot2 is RTC? by JunTi at 10:08 AM (1,420 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. JunTi
    OP

    Newcomer JunTi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    My Bed <3.
    Country:
    Germany
    I wanna buy a M3 Slot2 Card, but I want one, with an RTC.
    So, which M3 Cards do have an RTC for Games like Pokémon & Co?
     
  2. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    G6 lite & M3 lite has real time clock, do not buy a EZFlash 4 it has no real time clock!
     
  3. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Just don't get an M3 Professional, they're no good for GBA.
     
  4. nl255

    Member nl255 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,995
    Country:
    For the M3 large/slim/lite to have the RTC function don't you have to boot it in NDS mode then press start to reboot to GBA mode so the card can get the time from the DS?
     
  5. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i thought it was built in? so it can work in gba mode aswell?
     
  6. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,712
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  7. JunTi
    OP

    Newcomer JunTi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    My Bed <3.
    Country:
    Germany
    So, M3 Lite has RTC. Great, Thought there wasn't enough Space for RTC [​IMG].
     
  8. Untouchable757

    Newcomer Untouchable757 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    What does it matter. Like what effect does it have
     
  9. aslacker55

    Member aslacker55 I like pie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    631
    Location:
    So Cal
    Country:
    United States
    pokemon games needs the RTC to play exactly like the real cart.
     
  10. larvi

    Member larvi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    233
    Country:
    United States
    The patches help but it's not as good as a RTC imo. The clock only moves when you are in game and playing, and quits when you shut the game off where a true RTC will keep running. So if you are waiting on an event that occurs in 8 hours you have to leave your game on for that long. And if in pokemon for example, you are trying to grow berries which can take up to 3 days the patch isn't going to help a lot.
     
  11. aslacker55

    Member aslacker55 I like pie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    631
    Location:
    So Cal
    Country:
    United States
    Nice explanation, couldn't have summed it better. [​IMG]
     
  12. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,712
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @larvi I agree and probably should have mentioned it but pokemon is far from real time: 8 hours to a game day I seem to recall.
     
  13. larvi

    Member larvi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    233
    Country:
    United States
    @FAST, yeah certain things like shoal cave will cycle in 6 or 8 hours so if all you are trying to do is wait for the tide to go in/out to catch certain pokemon then that's manageable with the patch. But for the berries, some of them take up to 24hours per growth stage, with a total of 3 growth stages until they mature. So it's one of those things where you water/harvest berries once a day at a set time and a flash card with a real RTC (or the real cart with the RTC) is the only good way to make that work.
     

Share This Page