Unreadable HDD?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by GameDragon, May 2, 2009.

May 2, 2009

Unreadable HDD? by GameDragon at 3:33 AM (2,023 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. GameDragon
    OP

    Member GameDragon Mugiwara RAWR!

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I just purchased an external HDD today specifically for the Wii. Using WBFS Manager, I was unable to format into WBFS. Instead, I formatted directly from the USB Loader. That worked just fine. But, my PC was still unable to read my HDD. I tried pretty much all the WBFS programs I could find, and used "Run as Admin" also. Still no go.

    I tried the HDD on another PC using WBFS Manager. Surprisingly, it worked. Both computers are running Vista 32-bit. Disk Management shows the HDD as 'Unreadable', so that could be problem. I'm unable to reformat, partition, or anything of the sort on my PC using Disk Management. I'm running out of ideas.

    Anyone know a possible solution?

    EDIT: For anyone wondering. The HDD works just fine on the Wii. All games I've tried run perfect.
     
  2. nutella

    Member nutella Low Glycemic Index

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,097
    Location:
    Your nearest supermarket
    Country:
    Australia
    it isn't meant to be readable on disk management. only in WBFS mangers. seems normal to me.
     
  3. GameDragon
    OP

    Member GameDragon Mugiwara RAWR!

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Read it again. It's not readable in WBFS neither.
     
  4. MicShadow

    Member MicShadow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    457
    Country:
    Australia
    So... it doesnt even show in disk management on your computer?
     
  5. blitzer320

    Member blitzer320 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    did you try the latest wbfs manager
     
  6. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    Even if it shows as unreadable will it let you assign a drive letter to the partition?

    Mine shows up in xp 32 bit as unformatted and I mapped it to w: which makes it able for wbfs manager to mount it but unreadable using conventional means (My Computer, w:\, etc.)
     
  7. GameDragon
    OP

    Member GameDragon Mugiwara RAWR!

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    It shows in Disk Management as 'unreadable'. I'm not able to format, partition, change drive letters or anything of the sort. It's just there. On the the other PC I tried, it did not show unreadable.

    And I've tried WBFS Manager 3.0 as well as older versions.
     
  8. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    What hard drive/enclosure are you using?


    Sounds like a vista issue if it's the pc you're using. Is it on a bad usb port?
     
  9. GameDragon
    OP

    Member GameDragon Mugiwara RAWR!

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    It's a Cirago CST4320 320GB.

    The USB port is fine, and I've tried it on another port in the back also.
     
  10. blitzer320

    Member blitzer320 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    thats wierd because i just checked and mine comes up as healthy raw partition did u try taking off uac thats the only thing i edited on my vista setup
     
  11. GameDragon
    OP

    Member GameDragon Mugiwara RAWR!

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, it showed as Healthy on the other PC too. I haven't tried turning off UAC, I'll do that now.

    EDIT: Little mistake. It shows as healthy partition on my PC too. But on the status where it would normally say 'Online', it says 'Unreadable'.
     
  12. blitzer320

    Member blitzer320 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    where did you see the status try taking a picture of your screen with prt scr key and show me
     
  13. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    Your windows computer can't read a WBFS drive... it can't, and won't...

    Here's how you do it.

    Format the drive to FAT32. Assign it a drive letter. Plug it into the Wii, format it, and install 1 game via DVD (WiiSport will work, and it's only 310Meg) Plug it back into your PC, and THEN open a WBFS manager. Enjoy
     
  14. GameDragon
    OP

    Member GameDragon Mugiwara RAWR!

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    As I've said. I'm unable to format it at all.

    On a second look at Device Manager, almost all my drives are unreadable. They all seem to function fine though.
     
  15. MicShadow

    Member MicShadow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    457
    Country:
    Australia
    Format the thing on another PC, then try.
     
  16. GameDragon
    OP

    Member GameDragon Mugiwara RAWR!

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I'll have to try that another day. I don't have access to another PC at the moment.

    http://img.imgcake.com/unreadable.jpg
    If you look on the left of that image, every drive is unreadable. [​IMG]
     
  17. MicShadow

    Member MicShadow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    457
    Country:
    Australia
    lol wtf theres some major issues going on. Whats the options when right clicking? is there a 'Online' option or something?

    Otherwise its some vista issue hidden somewhere
     
  18. GameDragon
    OP

    Member GameDragon Mugiwara RAWR!

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Nah, it's just Properties and Help. I've went through the properties several times already and the help is no help at all...

    Ah well. I'll just try it on another PC whenever I get a chance. Thanks everyone who tried to help. If anyone has any more suggestions, feel free to add.
     
  19. MicShadow

    Member MicShadow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    457
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah its probably the best idea. However if you have VirtualPC and a Windows disc you could try it early.
     
  20. GameDragon
    OP

    Member GameDragon Mugiwara RAWR!

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm, I can probably get a Windows disc from my neighbor. I'll try that, thanks.
     

Share This Page