UAC Prompt Conditions On EXE Launch

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by Rydian, Apr 14, 2013.

Apr 14, 2013
  1. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    So outside of a file stating that it'll need admin rights in the manifest, I learned that having "Patch" in the filename will make Windows assume it needs admin rights.
     
    Ammako and The Milkman like this.


  2. chrisrlink

    Member chrisrlink Rouge Temper

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,222
    Location:
    Unova
    Country:
    United States
    is there a way to "unpatch requiring no auth (UAC)
     
  3. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
  4. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,895
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Whoa, you're right. Interesting find.

    Edit: Same for the words "update" "install" and "setup" apparently.
     
    Fishaman P and Rydian like this.
  5. The Milkman

    Member The Milkman GBATemp's Official Asshat Milkman

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3,471
    Location:
    Throwing milk at the bitches!
    Country:
    United States
    whoa wait really? THIS is how that Admin rights window works?
     
  6. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Not at the core, no. This is just a fallback method Microsoft added for Pre-XP programs (or programs made without consideration to user rights levels at all) so they could still prompt for admin rights if they were obviously mean to, such as a program installer or patcher.
     
  7. The Milkman

    Member The Milkman GBATemp's Official Asshat Milkman

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3,471
    Location:
    Throwing milk at the bitches!
    Country:
    United States
    That still is interesting. Thanks for sharing.
     
  8. chrisrlink

    Member chrisrlink Rouge Temper

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,222
    Location:
    Unova
    Country:
    United States
  9. LoloLakitu

    Member LoloLakitu Shwowow Schogog

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    That new rad hangout.
    Country:
    Canada
    You turn off UAC, I don't see a reason to have to modify it.
     
  10. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The programs themselves, not in this case. UAC is used to launch a program with admin rights, if the program needs to modify protected area of Windows. Virtualbox needs to modify protected area of Windows (system settings, install virtual drivers, etc.) in order to run. If you removed all the admin-needing stuff, it wouldn't be useful.

    UAC disabled means every program you run has admin rights, which will bypass the need for a prompt in the first place, like LLL said.
     
  11. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,615
    Country:
    Sweden
    That's not the experience I've had. Despite having UAC disabled I've periodically had to force certain applications to run with admin rights.
     
  12. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Which programs, and how did you need to fix it? Right-as admin or something?
     
  13. Sly 3 4 me

    Member Sly 3 4 me GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    I have my UAC off and have it set to run all programs as 'Run as Administrator'.
     
  14. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,174
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    I think it's more for people who want to bypass Parental Controls.
    The only place I could see a manifest being useful for that is for the odd app that doesn't need admin rights yet requests them, like the Project64 2.0 installer or the Firefox installers (at least in the past, around 3.6's era)
     
  15. The Milkman

    Member The Milkman GBATemp's Official Asshat Milkman

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3,471
    Location:
    Throwing milk at the bitches!
    Country:
    United States
    Or for people who dont want to confirm with a small window that mimizes everything anytime they want to start a program.
     
  16. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,174
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    As already stated, it's laughably easy to disable the dimming or even UAC entirely.
     
  17. chrisrlink

    Member chrisrlink Rouge Temper

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,222
    Location:
    Unova
    Country:
    United States
    right on the money fisher my parents are treating me like a $%#@ing kid im sick of it
     
  18. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The Project 64 installer needs admin rights because Program Files is a protected directory.

    If you take a program that needs admin rights and edit it to no request them, it won't work properly because it won't be given permission to write to whatever or do whatever it needs. The manifest and prompting at start is so programs that KNOW they need admin rights can request it on launch automatically instead of the user having to run it once, notice it broke, then run it again with admin rights like they sometimes have to do.
     
  19. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,174
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    That's precisely the point: Project64 2.0 can run entirely from a removable drive, which is exactly what I was trying to do.
    However, the computer I was using wouldn't let me even run the installer.
     
  20. The Milkman

    Member The Milkman GBATemp's Official Asshat Milkman

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3,471
    Location:
    Throwing milk at the bitches!
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, wasnt that what you were referring to?
     

Share This Page