TUTORIAL Backup GameCUbe on Wii without modchip

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by kakarotto, Oct 8, 2008.

Oct 8, 2008
  1. kakarotto
    OP

    Newcomer kakarotto Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Italy
    Sorry for bad bad english, feel free to correct where i'm wrong
    This tutorial is mainly a translation of an existing tutorial on elotrolado
    compatibility List SDBOOT 0,4beta8
    Warning: Spoilers inside!


    WHAT YOU NEED
    -wii with HOMEBREW CHANNEL Not explained here, there are other guides.
    -joypad gamecube
    -1 or better 2 sd

    -Sd Gecko or similiar,as wiikeySD.You can buy it for 5-10 €
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    You can buy it for example here :
    -1original gamecube game

    Software needed:

    - RVL-mios-v5.wad.out.wad ,you can find in some games(Super Mario Galaxy,mariokart PAL)it's illegal to ask it here.. NOTE FROM MEGAMAN If you use a different version, this is on your own risk. The MIOS patching wad installer will only allow to install MIOS. This can only break the GC mode. Loader should not patch any starlet code.

    Should be this

    [​IMG][​IMG]
    TO obtain it you can use WUFE (Wii Update File Extractor
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?nmqn8h0miot
    There's a readme which explains everything

    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    - Wii Gamecube Homebrew Launcher 0.2 by Mega Man. Herehttp://wiibrew.org/wiki/Wii_Gamecube_Homebrew_Launcher

    ATTENTION: If you use pal gamecube games, use this versionhttp://www.megaupload.com/es/?d=OTRN10MQ

    - SD-Boot 0.4 b8 built by Emu_kidid http://www.speedyshare.com/409578637.html

    - iso GameCube *.ISO o *.GCM.

    Utilities:

    - GCMUtility 0.5 -> tO shrink the iso. It removes blank sectors http://www.agendo.es/mutl/SDBoot/GCMUtility0.5.zip

    - Pre-Patcher v2 -> You can find it in the SDBOOT archive. There's a readme with explanations. It's useful with some games like MarioTennis

    TO DO
    1.- Copy in the SD1(you'll put it in the wii front sd reader)

    In the Root:

    - RVL-mios-v5.wad.out.wad

    - sd-boot-0.4b8-B.dol renamed start.dol

    In apps folder:

    -The folders GCBooterHomebrew and MIOSPatchingWADInstaller included in Wii Gamecube Homebrew Launcher 0.2. To use this homebrew you'll need HBC



    2.- In the second SD(the one you'll insert in SD Gecko)

    -create a folder "GCGAMES".

    -Copy in the folder GCGAMES your backups (ISO or GCM).

    3.- Remove the SDs from your pc,put in wii(1) and sdgecko(2)

    4.- PLug in gamecube pad in your wii and an original Gc game

    5.- Open HBC and run MIOSPatchingWADInstaller,a screen tell you to press A to install or B to uninstall: PRESS A (i don't remember if you have to press it on wiimote or gc pad)
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    NOTE:someone on GBA TEMP had this problem
    do_wad() failed with rv -1
    If you have this error message

    6.- RUN GCBooterHomebrew (there must be no memory on slot B or the homebrew won't run), SD-Boot 0.4 b8 will run and will ask you to INSERT SD-Gecko into slot B and then press A
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    7.- Do it and press A

    8.- THe program autodetect the speed of you sd(best is 32)
    If everything is correct you'll see your backup

    [​IMG][​IMG]


    [​IMG][​IMG]
     


  2. Syangel

    Newcomer Syangel Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Canada
    yea... but u still need an adapter...
     
  3. kakarotto
    OP

    Newcomer kakarotto Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Italy
    i'd correct the title if've been able but i can't.....
    if a moderator can change the title
    backup gamecube on wii withou modchip. Need a SDGECKO

    by the away, a sd gecko or similiar is very cheap
     
  4. TheWon

    Member TheWon GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    That's what I would love to see. A way to play gamecube backups on wii through the homebrew channel. There are acouple of jewels out there. I would love to play.
     
  5. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I bought an SD Gecko, but I couldn't get it to work. Thanks for the tutorial, I'll try it again to see if I've forgotten something.
     
  6. Mr-Kory

    Newcomer Mr-Kory Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Australia
    i have an sd media launcher i always get an error reading the sd card. it works on my gamecube though
     
  7. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Does the working games run at normal speed??
     
  8. spliff007

    Newcomer spliff007 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    France
    tested, not easy to install, only few gamecube games can be launch, and there are some bugs when playing...
    nothing very interestin for moment...

    also tried zelda collector for majoras mask (patched with pre-patcher), it crash after the choice menu
     
  9. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    spliff I recall reading something a while back about that disc having multiple *.dol's which would cause issues
     
  10. LagunaCid

    Member LagunaCid GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    370
    Country:
    Canada
    It simply freezes for me at the MIOSPatchingWADInstaller main screen. My wiimote desync, can't press a button, GC controller doesn't work either, I have to hard reset the Wii....
    I tried everything yet no dice...
     
  11. _CARLOX_

    Newcomer _CARLOX_ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    Now that coders/programmers/hackers know more about the Wii, is there any way to modify SD-Boot so it can use the front SD slot?

    Just a thought, don't flame me.
     
  12. LagunaCid

    Member LagunaCid GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    370
    Country:
    Canada
    Stupid me, my controller was on the wrong slot. >.>
    Anyways, CARLOX, that is impossible since GC mode doesn't read front SD. It's a hardware limitation.
     
  13. _CARLOX_

    Newcomer _CARLOX_ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    I see [​IMG]

    Thanks for the answer [​IMG]
     
  14. spliff007

    Newcomer spliff007 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    France
    it is possible to use the front sd but you must open your wii and do a solder somewhere...
    http://www.nintendomax.com/index.php?forma...p;topic_id=6855
    simple way is purchase sdgecko, i had buy one for 9euros...

    but like i said before don't wait for full play gamecube, some bug... not stable at all

    i had buy a real gamecube for 20euros and had put a xenogc modchip who cost 8euros, now i can play all backup i want...
    another solution is to put a modchip on your wii for real good play... mine is still under warranty, so i will do that later.
     
  15. rommy667

    Member rommy667 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Down the road around the corner
    Country:
    Ireland
    Great guide thanks a lot,makes me glad ive a d2pro though makes it a LOT simpler [​IMG]
     
  16. Miles

    Member Miles GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Country:
    United States
  17. LagunaCid

    Member LagunaCid GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    370
    Country:
    Canada
  18. kakarotto
    OP

    Newcomer kakarotto Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Italy
  19. kakarotto
    OP

    Newcomer kakarotto Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Italy
    some games, for example Wario World USA works with Sdboot 0,3(you can find it on tehskeen) and doesn't with 0,4b8
    ......
     
  20. Wiiman99

    Newcomer Wiiman99 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    I heard that once you install " RVL-mios-v5.wad.out.wad" then you cant play normal gc discs anymore? Anybody confirm this? Also, can you play a NTSC backup on a PAL wii using this method?

    Thanks
     

Share This Page