Tuna-vids plugin for ak2i

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Findecanno, Apr 15, 2009.

Apr 15, 2009

Tuna-vids plugin for ak2i by Findecanno at 1:37 AM (2,603 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. Findecanno
    OP

    Member Findecanno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    283
    Country:
    United States
    I have been trying to get a tuna-vids plugin for my ak2i to work. I noticed that the AKAIO firmware had one so I tryied to get it to work on my ak2 by renaming it from ,ak4 to .ak2 and editing the plugins.ini file so that it would work. It loads but give an error. It says "Failed to init FAT". So after that didn't work I tried renaming the normal tuna-vids.nds file to tuna-vids.ak2. It works great as long as the file name is Tuna-vids.avi and its on the root. If anyone can help me figure out how to get this to work that would be great. I know nothing about coding so any help would be apperciated
     
  2. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    the plugin system for akaio is being removed. you are better off just learning the use the homebrew.

    -another world
     
  3. VatoLoco

    Member VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,261
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States
    i experimented with trying to get the tuna-vids going via plug-in with no luck. i was able to launch it as a stand-alone nds file, but the quality was pretty bad. It does play avi, but the files need to be encoded to run on the DS. IMHO, you should just use Moonshell for your videos (they need to be encoded too, but the quality is much, much better)
     
  4. Joey90

    Member Joey90 Not around any more

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you want to use a plugin for video you have to use dsm, which is very smooth and good quality... but the filesize is ridiculous (700+ MB for 20 minutes).

    Moonshell isn't quite as easy, but it's still pretty good, and uses a fraction of the space.
     
  5. Findecanno
    OP

    Member Findecanno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    283
    Country:
    United States
    I prefer tuna-vids as it actually uses a standard format and not some ds specific format. I also cant get the tuna-open file to work becuase it cant find FAT becuase the root on my card is called FAT1 and I cant change it. If AKAIO is getting rid of the plugins what are they gonna use? And why doesn't somebody make a player that can play standard mpegs instead of some specially encoded dpg crap. I run linux by the way so dpg conversion is hard.
     
  6. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    perhaps because the framerate of a "mpg" would be around 8 fps while running on the ds, then again dpg is an mpg-1 encode. with tunavids you can only get around 12 fps with your xvid avi encode. i can get upwards of 22 with dpg. dpg is hardly crap, as you say. with some remastering of the source, using a good encoder, i can get near dvd quality out of it. i've had virtually no dithering issues, and have noticed the imperfections of the ds screen's ability to render because of the high quality i've pulled out of dpg. if you are on linux, why do you not run a virtual machine and install windows? you can get 2k off ebay for next to nothing. it supports the .net you would need to run all of the current dpg encoders. also have you tried to locate the python script for dpg encoding? i've only read about it, but it does exist.

    the akaio plugin feature was, and i might be wrong, written by bliss and ported in by norm. it uses outdated plugin versions of homebrew. to be honest most of the users have said that they never use the plugins. why can't you just launch the tunavids loader and run your files? is it really that troublesome to launch a homebrew before launching the file?

    -another world
     
  7. Findecanno
    OP

    Member Findecanno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    283
    Country:
    United States
    sorry for the double post my computer was lagging and I thought I didn't post it when in fact I did.
     
  8. Findecanno
    OP

    Member Findecanno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    283
    Country:
    United States
    The reason why I don't just use the tuna-vids loader is because it keeps saying the video directory is not found.
    And thank you for explaining dpg to me. I new to ds homebrew so i appreciate the help.
     
  9. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    -another world
     
  10. Findecanno
    OP

    Member Findecanno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    283
    Country:
    United States
    followed those instuctions and It still don't work
     
  11. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    your vids also need to be encoded correctly. they must follow the specific set of steps listed by chishm. failing that try posting in one of the many official threads: http://forum.gbadev.org/viewtopic.php?t=15767

    -another world
     

Share This Page