Translating S-JIS TO ANSI?

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by zideeq, Sep 28, 2011.

Sep 28, 2011

Translating S-JIS TO ANSI? by zideeq at 8:36 PM (1,379 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. zideeq
    OP

    Newcomer zideeq Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi guys, I'm a soon to be fan of Disgaea, I have yet to play any of them but there's a group who are translating the JAPANESE VERSION to English by:

    Converting S-JIS to ANSI

    the problem is, it's duplicating letters e.g

    the word 'helpful' would come out as 'hellppfuulll'

    Any suggestions? [​IMG]

    thanks!
     
  2. StorMyu

    Member StorMyu "I'm too old for this"

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    892
    Country:
    France
    ANSI =/= ASCII

    And can you show us what you're talking about ? because Disgaea came out in English for the DS so...
     
  3. Sora de Eclaune

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, Disgaea DS is already in English. There's no reason to even translate the Japanese version... Unless there's another Disgaea DS I don't know about.
     
  4. andibad

    Member andibad Soon™

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    699
    Location:
    hospital
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Shift JIS if for japanese character map, if you want translate it you just convert them into UTF-8 or unicode, ansi is not compatible with shift-JIS , why? because shift JIS is japanese character and ansi is just for roman character only is not include a asian character map... so ANSI =/= Shift JIS......

    ansi is just need 1 byte only and shift JIS is need 2 byte.

    see on http://www.unicode.org/ ...
     
  5. zideeq
    OP

    Newcomer zideeq Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry, the game is the PS3 game Disgaea 4 (JP VERSION)

    it's already been partially translated but ofcourse the main game dialogue hasn't because of this problem, thank you anyway guys, I'll see what happens...
     

Share This Page