Tools to remake PS1 Doom

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
36,798
Trophies
3
XP
28,375
Country
United Kingdom
While not the strangest of the "let's modify ports of Doom" things I have seen (SNES, GBA and Jaguar all having been looked at considerably from the hacker side of things in threads I have seen, and plenty of others claiming it was their childhood version of Doom) I do have to ask if there is anything special about the PS1 version that would make one want to have a look in?
 

vstar950

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2018
Messages
276
Trophies
0
Age
123
XP
1,143
Country
United States
I really like the music. My childhood version of Doom was on super Nintendo. Because that's all I had. When I moved up to PlayStation I got hooked on the PlayStation version because you could play two player with two separate consoles on two separate TVs. The other thing I really did enjoy was the game shark code make a rapid fire for all guns. No other Port of Doom has that code. and since all of us in high school were on PlayStation 1, that was the console to go to and we wanted to have all the games we liked on that one console. Emulation and other things as well.
 

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
36,798
Trophies
3
XP
28,375
Country
United Kingdom
To be a pedant I should note that link play would technically have been possible on SNES doom. See Xband.

Anyway don't know that I have seen people discuss PS1 networking before. I picked up a cable for it the other month because I pick up strange cables like that when I find them but never even knew about it back when.
 

Jayro

MediCat USB Dev
Developer
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
13,049
Trophies
4
Location
WA State
Website
ko-fi.com
XP
17,238
Country
United States
Did the PS1 run the game using real 3D rendered polygons and textures like DOOM64, or did it stick to a ported doom engine, keeping the graphics looking good? I've never played the PSX port.
 

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
36,798
Trophies
3
XP
28,375
Country
United Kingdom
Did the PS1 run the game using real 3D rendered polygons and textures like DOOM64, or did it stick to a ported doom engine, keeping the graphics looking good? I've never played the PSX port.
For the most part Doom 64 was the only thing that was its own thing. Everything else might lack one or more enemies, tweak a few minor things, maybe lose a level or two, maybe have a bit of different music and naturally could run like arse because bad port/weak machine but still fundamentally going to be Doom. Today it is pretty much Doom 64 and whatever source port floats your boat/works on the machine you have, or nostalgia for a lesser version. Some like the extra levels from XBLA Doom 2 ( https://gbatemp.net/threads/a-bit-of-doom-2-xbla-hacking.229989/ ) but that is perhaps a different discussion
Videos that might serve as a reasonable overview on differences


 

Jayro

MediCat USB Dev
Developer
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
13,049
Trophies
4
Location
WA State
Website
ko-fi.com
XP
17,238
Country
United States
The one thing that chaps my ass about DOOM on the GBA is the resolution it runs at... The pixels aren't even square, they're stretched. It's like they took the game running at 160x120, and stretched it to fit the 240x160 window. Making the 4:3 aspect ratio stretched to fit the 3:2 ratio GBA screen, resulting in rectangular pixels that are HUGE.

Now I know optimizations had to be made to get a smoother framerate, but they could have at least used a 2x2 pixel scaling, even if it meant thin black bars on the sides. Personally, I wanna see a doom port on the GBA that has 1:1 pixels... A real 240x160 30FPS version of DOOM. I don't know why this hasn't been done yet. The GBA has more than enough hardware to make DOOM run perfectly at such a small resolution.
 

vstar950

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2018
Messages
276
Trophies
0
Age
123
XP
1,143
Country
United States
There was a mod for the GBA version that made it look very nice.

On second thought it might be a gz Doom mod for the ROM
 
Last edited by vstar950,

Jayro

MediCat USB Dev
Developer
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
13,049
Trophies
4
Location
WA State
Website
ko-fi.com
XP
17,238
Country
United States
There was a mod for the GBA version that made it look very nice.

On second thought it might be a gz Doom mod for the ROM
The PC conversion mod helps uncensor the game's blood and optimizes it, but the resolution scaling is still garbage. It's the one thing modders haven't messed with yet.
 

EldritchPenumbra

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2022
Messages
140
Trophies
0
Age
49
XP
184
Country
United States
While not the strangest of the "let's modify ports of Doom" things I have seen (SNES, GBA and Jaguar all having been looked at considerably from the hacker side of things in threads I have seen, and plenty of others claiming it was their childhood version of Doom) I do have to ask if there is anything special about the PS1 version that would make one want to have a look in?
The ambient sound track, the lighting, and the fact that you get Super Shotgun in DOOM as well as 2. It's just an amazing port compared to all others from the day, in fact I never liked the Sony Playstation but bought one just to play this version of the game.... while sitting in the dark with fat head phones on.
 
  • Like
Reactions: vstar950

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    me doin' simple stuff
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Don't always need a bunch of electronics to enjoy electronics
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Issue is we want new and best then it piles up
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    i'm all gud if my browser don't lag
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I fixed a 2010 netbook for someone and they were happy
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    i did something similar to for a friend, was a old acer netbook, he was over the moon, guess guys are just that simple
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Still had xp all the works at least got 7 on it
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    even if MS says newer windows works fine on 1 Gb of ram, I'd still go for the default or similar OS
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    It loaded youtube with like a 5 minute lag lol
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    it's a old potato, can't expect much
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I told her it's not a good porn book
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    it's fine if it work and can watch their fav porn
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    For images maybe
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    it's not a vibrator la, ...that lags
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    No haptic feedback in laptops
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    you ain't paying for that kinda realism with this hardware
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Need to give apple $600
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    the more you give apple the more features they will take away
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Apple finally invented folders
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    i still want headphone jacks for my shit
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    i dont want do deal with low on battery earbuds and shit
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I hate cords but my life is a cord will probably make a noose from cords
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    we'll all croak one day, no need to fuss so much
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    @K3Nv2, Use a Pi it can hack PS4 now too lol
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Until that day there is a need
    +1
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: Until that day there is a need +1