Tinfoil not installing some games - "Error – failed to read NSP metadata" and “Error – Install unsigned code”

unpatchedswitch

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
I'm new to this, and I'm at the point of giving up as it's just too hit and miss whether a game will actually work. Feels beyond pointless at this point.

Some games I've installed without any issues, but most games just refuse to install. These are the two most common errors but I have no idea what to do to fix them;

1) "Error – failed to read NSP metadata"
2) “Error– Install unsigned code”

My understanding that 1) means Tinfoil needs to be updated. So I've updated Tinfoil yet I get the same error. I was on Tinfoil 16.0v2 earlier today but in trying to fix these errors, I have subsequently downloaded the latest Tinfoil 17.0. I copied and pasted the contents of the Tinfoil folder onto the SD card (replacing the older 16.0v2 files) but it hasn't made a blind bit of difference. When I'm using the Tinfoil app on the switch I can't find a way to check which version number Tinfoil is currently on, so I'm not 100% certain it has updated to the latest version.

I know there's bound to be a few hiccups but my christ I don't see how people consider this to be a convenient means of gaming. The constantly downloading, unzipping, copy and pasting, opening tinfoil, clicking install then getting knocked back with these errors! :hateit:

Last edited by unpatchedswitch,

kenpachi

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I'm having this problem too. I can instal most nsp or xci games, but some randomly failed to open .nsp. Also these games are showing in tinfoil with their name like this Sonic Frontiers.xci [01004AD014BF0000][v0].xci

So it's showing that .xci twice but when I look at the name of the file on my PC it just says Sonic Frontiers [01004AD014BF0000].xci

Reactions: unpatchedswitch

unpatchedswitch

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom