Thinking of getting a modchip?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by DarkLG, Jan 26, 2008.

Jan 26, 2008
  1. DarkLG
    OP

    Member DarkLG Wow One Shiny Ribbon!!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,401
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    Hello i was thinking of getting a modchip but don't know which one to get.I was thinking of getting the Wiikey but i have some questions.Will the wiikey work with the 3.1 update for the wii and also is there a better modchip that I can get please help!
     
  2. -K1-

    Member -K1- GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    Canada
    it would depend on the type of wii you have, for a d2c wii a some good modchips would be d2ckey, and the argon chip, for d2a and d2b chipset you can go forr the wiikey for cyclowiz
     
  3. DarkLG
    OP

    Member DarkLG Wow One Shiny Ribbon!!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,401
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    I have one of the fisrtly released wii's just to let you guys know
     
  4. AshuraZro

    Member AshuraZro Belongs in a museum.

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,409
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    Wiikey works fine with any current firmware version (3.1 at time of post). I don't think any mod is affected by what firmware your wii is at the moment, outside of their config discs which have long since been fixed.
     
  5. DarkLG
    OP

    Member DarkLG Wow One Shiny Ribbon!!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,401
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    Ok thank you but i have another question what tools do I need to install the wiikey and also where can I get a wiikey for cheap?
     
  6. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,108
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    To install you'll need

    Soldering iron
    Solder
    If you're not doing the quick solder install , then wire. AWG30 kynar wire is good.
    Maybe some flux.
    Screwdrivers to open the console.
     

Share This Page