Theoretical difficulty of adding Xbox 360 controller support to an app?

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by LeifEricson, Apr 19, 2014.

1. LeifEricson
    OP

LeifEricson Coming Soon™

Jun 22, 2012
    United States
    New York, USA
    I'm a coding novice and have been writing a few small apps for Wii. In short, what would be the dificulty of coding support for Xbox 360 gamepads? Are there any libraries that can help? Or will a whole new driver need to be written in order to work...? Basically I'm looking for the challenge of the task, and figured this would be difficult.

Thanks.

2. DinohScene

DinohScene Dino May Fire

GBAtemp Patron
    DinohScene is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

Our Patreon
    Oct 11, 2011
    Antarctica
    В небо
    Only the wired ones would work.
    The 360 controller don't have bluetooth.

3. FAST6191

FAST6191 Techromancer

pip Reporter
    Nov 21, 2005
    True but you could also build a USB adapter from a RROD 360. There is also stuff like http://maxbuy.cc/?page_id=1009

Anyway I can not recall seeing any Wii homebrew programs claim 360 wired pad support. I would not be shocked to hear Wii linux has support though.
    There are plenty of open source drivers ( http://pingus.seul.org/~grumbel/xboxdrv/ ) and from what I have read it is a pretty standard USB (it works on a raspberry pi).

However yeah you will probably end up porting drivers, the holy grail here would be adding it in at IOS level but that would be a serious hack.

4. DinohScene

DinohScene Dino May Fire

GBAtemp Patron
    DinohScene is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

Our Patreon
    Oct 11, 2011
    Antarctica
    В небо
    I think it's easier to port the USB drivers over rather then to the RF to USB conversion ;p

5. LeifEricson
    OP

LeifEricson Coming Soon™

Jun 22, 2012
    United States
    New York, USA