1. masagrator

    OP masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,136
    Country:
    Poland
    2019101321310200-1BB2CE368C4381D1A5EF7A2C59901B8F.jpg
    Witcher 3 has easy access to settings files, so I'm trying to check slowly what is working and what is not or it's broken. Main Menu has prerendered video, so testing in main menu won't make a difference. :P

    Code:
    - Bloom
    - Sharpening
    - Depth of Field (both gameplay and cutscenes)
    - Light Shafts
    - Underwater Effects
    - Foliage Visibility Range (it doesn't change ring size, because this is adjusted dynamically)
    - Water Quality (which is just disabling/enabling (default) physics simulation when swimming, changing tesselation factor doesn't work)
    - Anti-aliasing (which is technically TAA, but it doesn't have any string related to it, so I've used antialiasing string)

    Screens:
    • On (Default): On.jpg
      Off: Off.jpg
    • Disabled (default): 2019101119110100-1BB2CE368C4381D1A5EF7A2C59901B8F.jpg
      Low: 2019101119105300-1BB2CE368C4381D1A5EF7A2C59901B8F.jpg
      High: 2019101119104100-1BB2CE368C4381D1A5EF7A2C59901B8F.jpg
    • On (Default): On.jpg
      Off: Off.jpg
    • On (Default): On.jpg
      Off: Off.jpg
    • Low: 2019101314084700-1BB2CE368C4381D1A5EF7A2C59901B8F.jpg
      Medium: 2019101314083800-1BB2CE368C4381D1A5EF7A2C59901B8F.jpg
      High (default): 2019101314082900-1BB2CE368C4381D1A5EF7A2C59901B8F.jpg
      Uber: 2019101314081900-1BB2CE368C4381D1A5EF7A2C59901B8F.jpg
    • Off: 2019101314371900-1BB2CE368C4381D1A5EF7A2C59901B8F.jpg
      On (Default): 2019101314370400-1BB2CE368C4381D1A5EF7A2C59901B8F.jpg


    Code:
    - Right Stick Sensitivity values from 0.5-1.5 to 0.01-1.5

    Code:
    - Resolution [there are two settings: framebuffer resolution and rendering resolution. Changing rendering resolution makes glitched output, changing framebuffer resolution displaces camera and makes postprocess layers aligned incorrectly. Changing them both to the same resolution moves camera to wrong position)
    - LOD - changing it makes no visible difference, but going too high will crash game
    

    Code:
    - VSync
    - Shadows Presets
    - Left Stick Sensitivity
    - Adding more values to Autosave Interval
    - ShowGPUCounters
    - MSAA
    - MotionBlurRotationTreshold
    - MaxTextureAnizotropy
    - SSAO options
    - Chromatic Abberation
    - Vignette
    - Soft Light options
    - Billboards (some category of shaders)
    - Rain options
    - Fog and Mist options
    - Sharpening in Toussaint

    Changing some settings is not working because they are dynamically adjusted by exefs and config values are ignored.

    And we have many more settings from rendering, HUD, etc. Sadly I can't add my own strings, so settings that are not mentioned in localization files are showed as ## + category + my string

    INSTRUCTIONS

    It should work with all game updates. You need only to change folder name "010039400E8D6000" (which is titleid of Polish release) to titleid of your version (game has 9 different region releases!).

    List of all region releases:
    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1WnFOSgF170mJKTOBVPYggKhrp0ljev5UDy4OWvWMTII/edit?usp=sharing

    You need to paste that folder to:

    atmosphere/titles (Atmosphere 0.9.4 and older)
    or
    atmosphere/contents (Atmosphere 0.10.1+)
    or
    reinx/titles
    or
    sxos/titles

    And Restart Switch.

    Also you can check topic The Witcher 3 60 FPS and Dynamic Resolution Tweaks
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/the-witcher-3-60-fps-and-dynamic-resolution-tweaks.550211/
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 19, 2020
  2. Solo322dollars

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Algeria
    Any way to increase foliage distance or it will drop fps too much?
     
  3. Huy98vn

    Huy98vn GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2017
    Messages:
    202
    Country:
    Vietnam
    Geat! handheld mode would look much better with sharpening!
     
  4. Huy98vn

    Huy98vn GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2017
    Messages:
    202
    Country:
    Vietnam
    I've tested and seem Sharpening only working on High, the image is the same with Sharpening Low for me no matter how many time I compare (you can see it clearly on handheld resolutions)
     
  5. masagrator

    OP masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,136
    Country:
    Poland
    Low is very subtle and for me it's more visible when docked clocks are applied. I will add medium value between high and low if it will be possible next time... Or maybe slider.

    Edit: Ok, i checked and it doesn't accept floats. Only integers. Low is 1, High is 2, so I can't add something between.

    There are settings for that, but I don't know if changing them will work because they are dynamically changed with resolution. And it looks like everything dynamically changing can't be changed in configs.
    Add more power to GPU, you will get better foliage distance.
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2019
  6. Hairy-Breeks

    Hairy-Breeks Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2019
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Australia
    Can confirm that the surest way for foliage distance is a high overclock. Testing with and without is noticeable.
     
  7. lh411

    lh411 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2019
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    China
    thanks for your works it's admirable。can't increase game resolution or turn off dynamic resolution ?but you say it's broken.
     
  8. Hairy-Breeks

    Hairy-Breeks Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2019
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Australia
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2019
  9. lh411

    lh411 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2019
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    China
    the graphics options can work on switch?
    thank you.how can use this mod on switch?
     
  10. Hairy-Breeks

    Hairy-Breeks Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2019
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Australia
    Similar to how you install the mod listed here in this post. drag and drop underneath the title folder.
     
  11. Huy98vn

    Huy98vn GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2017
    Messages:
    202
    Country:
    Vietnam
    Just notice sometime the blur effects/TAA are disabled (maybe because of intense area/combat?) and it make sharpening effect look terrible
     
  12. masagrator

    OP masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,136
    Country:
    Poland
    Yeah, but many PC settings can broke game. After changing in game texture quality for example.

    Some settings even after enabling are not working, because value for this setting is "0" (MSAA).

    And settings from Rendering group are not showing in Switch version.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2019
    Hairy-Breeks and Smack99 like this.
  13. lh411

    lh411 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2019
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    China
    I think
    I think haven't Related resources files about Textures and materials on switch versions.What do you think?
     
  14. Smack99

    Smack99 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2019
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    Antarctica

    Yes tried the Nexus Mod but Game Crashes if I pick High Graphics setting.

    I think Ill stick to sysclick and NXReverse working fine. I wish we could get the game to run in overclock while not charging! I dont mind charging my console in handheld to enable the overclocking to work but would prefer no charging but I guess battery will be drained in 5 mins :)
     
  15. masagrator

    OP masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,136
    Country:
    Poland
    I only mentioned them as an example. Changing textures is something that probably is not worth it, because game is trying to maximize RAM usage, so increasing texture quality is not a good idea. That's why game is crashing.
     
  16. lh411

    lh411 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2019
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    China
    yes!th
    yes. whatever thanks for your reserch.Looking forward to your good news。I hope the graphics quality of the game will become clearer. anyway handled or dock.
     
  17. Hairy-Breeks

    Hairy-Breeks Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2019
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Australia
    Only recommended to lower settings to increase performance. Anything else is up to the user to play with, some settings may be able to be upped, but I definitely wouldn't recommend it.
    All just fun while we work out how this beast works on Switch.
     
    yamato123 likes this.
  18. yamato123

    yamato123 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    work perfectly fine, thanks sir. btw is it possible for you the same for DQ 11S /improvise its graphic without using ReverseNX just like what you did to XC2?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  19. lh411

    lh411 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2019
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    China
    yes. we all hoped get a clerer game graphics on switch Maintain a stable number of frames at the same time。but if can increase graphics quality I would rather sacrifice fps.
     
    cucholix likes this.
  20. Huy98vn

    Huy98vn GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2017
    Messages:
    202
    Country:
    Vietnam
    You're right, I can see very slight sharpening effects in Kaer Morhen
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Settings, Enhanced, Witcher