1. tosti

    tosti GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2020
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    Netherlands
    In advance I apologise if I should have posted this in the Vite Noob thread instead. I was wondering if an SD2Vita card can be used in different machines and if so, under what conditions?

    Let's say I use an SD2Vita card in my Phat Vita with CFW that is linked with PSN ID tosti[at]tosti.com. If I were to buy a Slim Vita or Vita TV that I would install CFW on, could I take the SD2Vita card out of the Phat Vita, insert it into the Slim or Vita TV, and keep on playing? Would I then need to link tosti[at]tosti.com to the new machine with CFW as well?

    EDIT: Maybe I should clarify a bit. I am trying to avoid a scenario where I buy two SD2Vita cards and install both with exactly the same games.

    EDIT 2: While I had no luck finding any threads on my problem via the forum's search function, an internet search engine provided me with a useful thread right here on GBA Temp: can you share SD2Vita with PS TV and Vita?

    Reading it with the limited knowledge I have, on first glance it sounds like it can be done. Would someone be willing to tell me how to set this up (what to configure, how to configure it properly, etc)?

    Also, the PS TV and Vita 2000 this user owns both have available internal memory. What if I want to switch between a Vita 1000 without internal memory and a PS TV? Would I configure the SD2Vita differently in that case?
     
    Last edited by tosti, Mar 30, 2020
  2. tosti

    tosti GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2020
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I still have my original question from the post above: can I use an SD2Vita card can be used in different machines and if so, under what conditions? The thread I found (can you share SD2Vita with PS TV and Vita?) has some information but no definitive answer that I can acertain with my limited knowledge.


    Additionally, I am wondering if I can just take out my Sony memory card when I am done installing Enso (using Vita Hack Guide). For example, are .vpks installed on the built-in memory or the Sony memory card I can eject? Are the emulators themselves still present and fully functioning on my Live Screen if I take out my Sony memory card?

    If not, how would I need to transfer data to take out the Sony memory card? This is in anticipation of my SD2Vita arriving later this week (or month, or year, depending on the delay by COVID-19 precautions).
     
  3. Tom Bombadildo

    Tom Bombadildo Dick, With Balls
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    13,745
    Country:
    United States
    You can use the SD2Vita on multiple Vita's so long as the same PSN account is linked to both.


    All content that you install, be it legit games or emulators or pirated games, are installed on the Vita memory only, not internal storage. If you remove it and don't have any other storage device in place, you'll have no bubbles for anything on your Vita. You can transfer some things to internal storage, but the vast majority won't work at all. You're better off just leaving it until you get your SD2Vita.


    To transfer things to the SD2Vita, you simply have both plugged into your Vita (with the memory card mounted as ux0 and SD2Vita as uma0) and use VitaShell to copy the entire contents of ux0 to uma0. Alternatively, you could use FTP/USB to move everything from ux0 to your PC in advanced, setup your SD2Vita, then transfer everything to the SD card afterwards.
     
    tosti likes this.
  4. tosti

    tosti GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2020
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Awesome news! I want to use the same account on different machines, so watching machine is just a matter of switching the SD2Vita card into a different machine. That was exactly what I hoped to hear.

    In summary, there does not seem to be any need for me to dig around in the internal memory. Not even when I added lines to the config.txt file in the ur0:tai/ folder? I did so when installing the Adrenaline emulator, for example.

    You know, I had never thought of using the uma0 mounting location for this purpose. In fact, that clarifies one of the earliest questions I had on these Vita boards (which you also helped me with, by the way).
     
  5. Tom Bombadildo

    Tom Bombadildo Dick, With Balls
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    13,745
    Country:
    United States
    Yep, just make sure both Vita's are on the same firmware and it'll be as easy as that. If they aren't, then it's just a matter of setting a particular file to readonly so it doesn't get overwritten when put into the higher firmware Vita. But this doesn't matter much anymore, since we can basically choose the firmware we want.

    The only time you should be using internal memory is for adding plugins and editing the config.txt, other than that you shouldn't bother touching anything.
     
    tosti likes this.
  6. senas8

    senas8 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    Does anyone know if we can use a vita game cartridge as storage? I thought there was a home brew released a while ago, to do this. Any help would be appreciated. I want to make a custom homebrew game on a game cartridge.. with new art etc. thanks in advance.
     
  7. Tom Bombadildo

    Tom Bombadildo Dick, With Balls
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    13,745
    Country:
    United States
    Like, an actual, legit game cart or just an SD2Vita?

    Legit game cart, this will vary depending on the game, only a few titles actually have writeable storage, but the vast majority don't at all so you can't just pickup some random shovelware and write to it all willy nilly. I think the biggest space I'm aware of is Touch My Katamari with 400mb or so of grw0 (which is writeable space on a gamecard), but that's about as good as you'll ever get. You can't just re-write over an entire ROM, otherwise it wouldn't be read only ;).

    The SD2Vita is an adapter that sits in the gamecard slot, which is generally mounted as ux0 as a memory card replacement (mounted as ux0) or mounted as extra storage as ur0 (which is like an extra mount point that's not used for much). You could design your homebrew to work when mounted as ur0, so someone could install the vpk to the SD2Vita and then have a custom bubble so you can plug and play?

    But that seems like too much work to have some novelty effect of using a real game card.
     
    senas8 likes this.
  8. SekiTimewalker

    SekiTimewalker GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, so if I read this correctly, if I want my PS1, PSP, and PSV games to all go to the SD2Vita, I would put GCD and MCD as uma0 and UMA as ux0?
     
    Last edited by SekiTimewalker, Apr 26, 2020
  9. Tom Bombadildo

    Tom Bombadildo Dick, With Balls
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    13,745
    Country:
    United States
    GCD should = ux0, and MCD should = uma0 and that's it. Everything else can be left blank since they don't need to be remounted.
     
  10. SekiTimewalker

    SekiTimewalker GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    Changing it to that and rebooting makes it so nothing but system Vita items show up on my Vita. I can't see anything homebrew or any games if the SD2Vita is in the system.

    I have it as MCD = uma0, INT = imc0, GCD = ux0, UMA = grw0.

    Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited by SekiTimewalker, Apr 26, 2020
  11. Tom Bombadildo

    Tom Bombadildo Dick, With Balls
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    13,745
    Country:
    United States
    You copied everything from your original memory card to the SD card being used for the SD2Vita as noted in the OP, correct? Including all hidden files, and unchecking the "Hide protected System Files" option in Windows? (Assuming that's what you're using)
     
  12. SekiTimewalker

    SekiTimewalker GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    Yep. I did that.

    Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
     
  13. Tom Bombadildo

    Tom Bombadildo Dick, With Balls
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    13,745
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm, that's odd.

    Can you take a screenshot of the contents of your SD card and post it here? Assuming everything transferred over just fine, your bubbles should show right up without issue.
     
  14. SekiTimewalker

    SekiTimewalker GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    Here it is. Not included in the picture is a "PSP2UPDAT.PUP" I have from downgrading.

    Here is the main part:
    [​IMG]

    And in the ux0 folder:
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by SekiTimewalker, Apr 26, 2020
  15. Tom Bombadildo

    Tom Bombadildo Dick, With Balls
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    13,745
    Country:
    United States
    There's your problem, you don't create a ux0 folder on the SD2Vita, you simply move the contents of your memory card to the root of the SD card.

    Move everything you put into ux0 and plop it in the root, everything should work fine then.
     
  16. SekiTimewalker

    SekiTimewalker GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    OK, I'll do that when I get home. Thank you. Now, is there a way I can use both the memory card and the SD2Vita? Like, maybe homebrew that lets me choose which something gets installed to? I have a 64gb microsd, and a 32gb Vita card. It'd be nice to be able to use both together.

    Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
     
  17. Tom Bombadildo

    Tom Bombadildo Dick, With Balls
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    13,745
    Country:
    United States
    Not easily. Vita games will only work properly when installed to ux0 (which is the memory card mount point), the vast majority will not function properly if they're installed on any other mount point and will have various problems (from having issues saving to simply not launching at all). If you wanted to play Vita games on both, then the only way to use both would be to constantly swap the mount points of the SD2Vita and Vita Memory card (which will require reboots in between) to access the different games.

    You can, however, use a different mount point for some homebrew. Adrenaline (the PSP eCFW) can be installed directly to uma0 (which is like an extra mount point, kind of like a D: drive on a PC), so you could setup Adrenaline on the Vita Memory Card mount as uma0, and use it specifically for PSP content. Emulators like Retroarch can also use uma0 for ROMs, so you could install Retroarch to the SD2Vita mounted as ux0, and then put all the ROMs for whatever you want to emulate on uma0 and that would also work just fine. That would probably be the best use of both cards, using the large (in your case, the SD2Vita) for Vita storage and the smaller for Adrenaline and ROMs.
     
  18. SekiTimewalker

    SekiTimewalker GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    I'll look into that. Thank you for all your help.

    Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
     
  19. SekiTimewalker

    SekiTimewalker GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, so it does work now. So, since everything is now on the SD2Vita (uma0), I can delete everything from ux0 and free up that space now? Since it was duplicated to uma0? Sorry for the stupid questions, still new to the Vita scene.
     
  20. ZeroSene

    ZeroSene GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2019
    Messages:
    173
    Country:
    Vietnam
    Since you wont care if something get destroy, here's what you should not delete:
    from this site
    https://vita.hacks.guide/storagemgr.html
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - SD2Vita, having, issues