TeamCyclops Forums?

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by Defiance, Jan 7, 2008.

Jan 7, 2008

TeamCyclops Forums? by Defiance at 12:42 PM (1,909 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. Defiance
    OP

    Member Defiance oh my god.. it's full of trading cards...

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,504
    Location:
    Terminus
    Country:
    United States
    Whenever I go there today, it links me to a different page saying:

    This Account Is On HOld Please check back shortly.

    Does this mean I'm banned or something? Or are they in some sort of trouble?
     
  2. Akoi Meexx

    Newcomer Akoi Meexx Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    No Nin, you're not banned. I'm not sure what's going on myself, but I don't like it. The whole of TC's websites are placed on hold, not just the forums. We are not amused.
     
  3. MaHe

    Member MaHe one lazy schmo

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Maribor
    Country:
    Slovenia
    If they 'bail' on us, I'll be very, very angry. And sad. And angry. [​IMG]
     
  4. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    I've always suspected that Team Cyclops would just 'bail' at some point, but this doesn't really look like that. They probably just didn't pay the extra $49.95 a month for the extra bandwidth they needed.

    If they were gong to 'bail', they would almost certainly keep their website and forum running, so that the uninformed would keep buying their products (Like the DS-X team did).
     
  5. IBNobody

    Member IBNobody I try to keep myself amused.

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    Texas, Hang 'Em High
    Country:
    United States
    It might have something to do with the new HK modchip ban. The servers were located in HK, apparently.
     
  6. azotyp

    Member azotyp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,175
    Location:
    Poland
    Country:
    Poland
    maybe nintendo got them [​IMG]
     
  7. maxpowersin

    Member maxpowersin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    India
    Country:
    India

    Why exactly?

    If your suspicion becomes reality than we are all screwed
     
  8. OzModChips

    Member OzModChips GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    570
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Don't be retarded.
    Bail? for what? So that sales will dwindle to nothing?
    They have a winning product. My guess is the big N sent a letter to their ISP
     
  9. jesterscourt

    Member jesterscourt Not Brad.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,153
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone notice that it says "This account is on HOld" with the O capitalized as well? Pretty unprofessional on the part of the ISP. I hope their bandwidth gets reset in the next few days, this has happened to a number of forums I'm a member of one time or another.
     
  10. morinzo1978

    Newcomer morinzo1978 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    my bet is the isp company that host the server that team cyclops is on got a letter from a nintendo lawyer, and it scared them, so they shut down the site, i bet they will be back after they find a new home. we've seen it before..
     
  11. MadBob

    Member MadBob Nostalgia ain't what it used to be!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,529
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I personally think that the BGA chip came loose and the whole thing died [​IMG] they will be able to fix the forum by pressing hard on the chip using a paper shim [​IMG]
     
  12. ackers

    Member ackers GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why would they bail?

    That's just stupid. People stop getting so paranoid!
     
  13. SilentJi

    Newcomer SilentJi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    東京
    Country:
    Japan
    Wow. This is quite annoying and especially more so, when I need that 'update.evo' file. X_X
     
  14. FayriOS

    Newcomer FayriOS Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Canada
    forum is back up
     
  15. Banger

    Member Banger Me > | | < You ..Wanna Line dance?

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,783
    Country:
    United States
    From the sounds of it the server provider probably canned the server. That or that it was not paid for. Wonder if Nintendo is behind this. Anyone know where the server is hosted? I wouldnt know for sure i've never been to the site/forum.
     
  16. Whizz

    Member Whizz When things don't go right, go left.

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    Turn around...
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The site is hosted in Hong Kong, and because of the new modchip law the hoster took it down. Nintendo or some anti piracy organization might have had something to do with it, but for now it just looks like the site is down. Team Cyclops didn't bail.
     
  17. Hiro_x2

    Newcomer Hiro_x2 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    STL
    Country:
    seems as though the site is (has been )back up since the last post.
     

Share This Page