1. Gore

    OP Gore GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,558
    Country:
    United States
    I switched my taskbar to the leftside about a year ago, and it was a really good step forward. No more cluttered taskbar.
    Most people still keep it defaulted at the bottom. How do you keep up with a large number of windows?
    Where is yours?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Dangy

    Dangy GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,409
    Country:
    United States
    The bottom like a normal, civilized human being.
     
  3. mrfatso

    mrfatso That guy!!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    4,932
    Country:
    Senegal
    i don really bothered with that, i tried shifting the taskbar once around and i didnt feel comfortable moving my mouse that much, so i just shift it back to bottom [​IMG]

    As for multi-windows, well alt-tab and cycle through them will do [​IMG] unless there is a better way of managing more than 20 windows at any one time.
     
  4. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    The top. It's great.
     
  5. Bulit

    Bulit GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    I have it at the bottom. And how did you change the start button?
     
  6. Gore

    OP Gore GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,558
    Country:
    United States
  7. Bulit

    Bulit GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    I have the taskbar at the bottom, and thanks for the guide.
     
  8. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    [​IMG]
    direct link http://screensnapr.com/u/41ejb8.png

    Just opened them all up for the hell of it. My width is 1280. Multiple instances are merged if there is not enough room for them. It is not too bad.

    You must be a hardcore multi-tasker [​IMG]
     
  9. kirlac

    kirlac Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    New Zealand
    With Windows 7 you can have like as many icons on the taskbar as your resolution will allow (bigger screen = more icons), and each one groups all windows of the same type. So you can have a lot more than 7 windows.
     
  10. ENDscape

    ENDscape REBORN! I will post with my Dying Will!!!
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,488
    Country:
    I hate how it groups the same type of windows. I dont like to click one window and find the right internet window i need to use or right word document im working on.

    On topic: mine is in the bottom. I tried to switch it around before, but i usually move my mouse to the bottom left corner because im use to it that way. But the window button is an easy way to the start. Anyone uses this? I know gamers hate this button though.
     
  11. Cermage

    Cermage GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,702
    Country:
    having it on the side looks ugly. proportions doesnt work out, expands the thickness. slimmer is better imo and having it on the side doesn't do that. unless you had like... a 3:4 or 9:16 monitor.
     
  12. ProtoKun7

    ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 4
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,527
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Mine's at the bottom; I've got it set to group the same types of window together by default, and it rarely ever gets further than a quarter along my screen, if ever. Come to think of it, I don't think it ever has; my screen's 1600x900.

    1,400th post.
     
  13. zuron7

    zuron7 RBYG
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,369
    Country:
    India
    Well at the bottom one day next the top then back to bottom.
     
  14. BiscuitBee

    BiscuitBee Semi-Resident Cookie-Bug
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    689
    Country:
    Canada
    Top!

    Manage open windows, eh? Almost everything I use either minimizes to system tray or as inner-window tabbing. Trying to get used to Windows 7's default window grouping dealy, though, which is alright.

    Actually, the main problem that I have is when some windows open at the very top be DEFAULT... so the title bar is often hidden under my taskbar. This led me to a habit of ALT+SPACE > M > Down Arrow > Move Mouse back in the old windows era. That's actually a protip if you think your window is completely off-screen and you need to move it on-screen.
     
  15. WildWon

    WildWon EXTERMINATE!
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,824
    Country:
    United States
    Amen to top. I think it'd due to my Mac usage at work... it's natural placement heh.

    That little description is a godsend. I haven't had too many problems with that as of recent, other than mIRC for some reason opening w/ the bar under my task bar... at which point i unlock the taskbar, drag to bottom, move IRC, regrag task bar, relock... but i'll have to try this next time.

    You win. [​IMG]
     
  16. triassic911

    triassic911 Burst Mode
    Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,746
    Country:
    United States
    Set on the bottom. Autohide.
     
  17. Elritha

    Elritha GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    Default at the bottom. Works fine for me. I try not to have too many things open at once. Habit from the past when ram was more limited.
     
  18. Lilith Valentine

    Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Official Cubi: Awkwardly cute
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    23,959
    Country:
    Antarctica
    On my windows computer I keep mine at the bottom and put everything I use in a dock bar on the right side of my screen.
    On my Linux Ubuntu I have 3 bars, on for pages and what not on the bottom, one in the upper right hand corner for time and date as well logging out and turning off my computer and one in the middle for all my applications, both those set on auto hide.
     
  19. Fluganox

    Fluganox GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Country:
    On my personal computer (Windows) its defaulted at the bottom. I bloody hate auto-hide >.< but I have everything tabbed (Firefox, WLM) so it doesn't get full really.

    However at college on the Macs, I like it on the left-hand side, not sure why [​IMG]
     
  20. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    On my PC its there on the bottom, on my old PC it was at the top.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - position, Taskbar,