System link?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by MelissaUS, Aug 10, 2011.

Aug 10, 2011

System link? by MelissaUS at 3:45 PM (598 Views / 0 Likes) 3 replies

  1. MelissaUS
    OP

    Newcomer MelissaUS Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Germany
    Quick question everyone -- how reliable is a direct ethernet connection for two 360's to play, say, Halo: Reach? Is it possible or do I need a routing switch between the two? Thanks for any help you can pass along!
     
  2. overlord00

    Member overlord00 A motherfucking birdplane

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Country:
    Australia
    um, if its two 360s in the same establishment, an ethernet cable, if separate establishments, x-link kai.
    others will provide further details in need be
     
  3. Devin

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    They both need to be on the same internet connection, or be on different internet connections but very close to one another using XLinkKai. Microsoft initialized a 30 Ping patch, so that people could not use XLinkKai as a artificial Xbox Live if they got banned. So the Ping between the two Xbox 360s would have to be below 30, or they will not connect to one another. Now if one of them is a JTAG'd Xbox 360 with the Ping test patched you could easily use XLinkKai in order to connect to one another, but the JTAG could only join, not host. While this goes for all Xbox 360 games, original Xbox games are unaffected by this.
     
  4. DarkWay

    Member DarkWay tsubasa hiroge

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,552
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it's just two 360s in the same house then yes, you can just plug an ethernet cable directly into each of the 360s to use system link.
     

Share This Page