Hacking SX OS 3.0.5 boot hangs?

britain4

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2014
Messages
418
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
Sheffield
XP
1,165
Country
Hey guys, modding this Switch has been a rollercoaster so far to say the least but I've learned a lot doing it and seem to be in a decent place with it now. SX Core installed on a patched V1 and glitching working well (although my boot times seem a little longer than some).

I recently updated my sysNAND from 10.1.0 to 10.2.0 for online play (and emuNAND just because) and SX OS to 3.0.5 for compatibility. When 3.0.5 was on there the Switch has failed to boot roughly 50% of the time, seemed to be mainly an emuNAND issue but also happened once with sysNAND, hanging on a black screen either before the Switch logo or the Nintendo logo and requiring a hard reset.

I downgraded my emuNAND to 10.1.0 today and went back to 3.0.4 and it now seems to be booting perfectly again just like it did before I updated it.

Anyone else having the same issues with 3.0.5 (or SX OS updates in general) and any ideas on how to fix this?
 

britain4

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2014
Messages
418
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
Sheffield
XP
1,165
Country
Happened with me the first glitch took alot, and got a few black screens, was working well before

Glad it's not just me, not sure if I'm imagining it or if the glitch is actually slightly quicker for me but just the issue of the black screens. Is this still ongoing for you or did it sort itself out?
 

Basketto

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2019
Messages
567
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
608
Country
Australia
Is this causing many original fw boot issues? Still undecided on updating.
I use autorcm constantly and am questioning updating stock/sysnand.
 

Reecey

Mario 64 (favorite game of all time)
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2010
Messages
5,866
Trophies
1
Location
At Home :)
XP
3,760
Country
Sounds like bad news to me Nintendo must of tried to patch the reset glitch in the latest firmware v.10.2.0 that sx core/lite exploit rely on or certainly made it difficult somehow, this is probably why your getting inconsistent boots.

Edit: my opinion is don’t update to v.10.2.0 until you have further news.
 
Last edited by Reecey,

britain4

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2014
Messages
418
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
Sheffield
XP
1,165
Country
Sounds like bad news to me Nintendo must of tried to patch the reset glitch in the latest firmware that sx core/lite exploit rely on or certainly made it difficult somehow, this is probably why your getting inconsistent boots.

Edit: my opinion is don’t update to v.10.2.0 until you have further news.

I’m not sure if it is this, the system glitches fine still (Maybe faster) and boots to the TX bootloader every time.

In addition, it still boots fine if I use 3.0.4 (even on 10.2.0 sysnand which I can’t get my head around)
 

britain4

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2014
Messages
418
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
Sheffield
XP
1,165
Country
Been testing this evening and it seems to do one boot on, one boot off. Switch it off, it will fail once, hard reset and it works 2nd time every time (so far)

Likewise if you pick restart instead of a cold boot - it seems to boot fine every time

Not sure if that provides any clues
 

linuxares

I'm not a generous god!
Global Moderator
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
9,450
Trophies
1
XP
11,177
Country
Sweden
Been testing this evening and it seems to do one boot on, one boot off. Switch it off, it will fail once, hard reset and it works 2nd time every time (so far)

Likewise if you pick restart instead of a cold boot - it seems to boot fine every time

Not sure if that provides any clues
What Firmware does your chip run?
1.3 seem to be the latest one.

Maybe people that have issues got a lower version?
 
  • Like
Reactions: britain4

sashka69

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 24, 2013
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
999
Country
Gambia, The
It's not your modchip. It seems to be a problem in boot.dat in general.

I have an unpatched erista (v1) switch running a sx pro dongle and since I updated from 9.2 to 10.2 I have the same problem as you, folks.

On 9.2 i never had any problems booting into my emunand. Now on 10.2 and latest sx OS beta 3.05 I have the black screen very often and have to hard reset. the previous versions of sx os were okay when I was on 9.2.

Just my 2 cents.
 

britain4

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2014
Messages
418
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
Sheffield
XP
1,165
Country
What Firmware does your chip run?
1.3 seem to be the latest one.

Maybe people that have issues got a lower version?

Mines on 1.3, came with the 3.0.4 boot.dat which was the first one I ever used with it. Apart from the cold boot issue it works absolutely great and the glitching seems to have got quicker as well, it’s quicker than my 360.

It's not your modchip. It seems to be a problem in boot.dat in general.

I have an unpatched erista (v1) switch running a sx pro dongle and since I updated from 9.2 to 10.2 I have the same problem as you, folks.

On 9.2 i never had any problems booting into my emunand. Now on 10.2 and latest sx OS beta 3.05 I have the black screen very often and have to hard reset. the previous versions of sx os were okay when I was on 9.2.

Just my 2 cents.

This does sound like a similar issue - does yours follow any kind of pattern like mine seems to be doing? Restart instead of cold boot working ok for you?
 

sashka69

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 24, 2013
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
999
Country
Gambia, The
I tried to find a pattern but it's absolute random.

Sometimes it happens after cold boot, sometimes after jumping from sxos boot menu to hekate and vice versa, sometimes after reboot from horizon via power button.
I also saw a weird pixelated hekate screen once after I have chosen hekate 5.33 via sxos payload menu and then the switch froze.

Then it booted all these scenarios perfectly fine as I wanted to confirm the issues.

Absolute random!

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Maybe it's tx's key obfuscation which is kinda broken in this version?!
 
  • Like
Reactions: popy

3DSDSXL

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
186
Trophies
0
Location
UK
XP
599
Country
United Kingdom
Hi so is it safe to update the stock os to 10.2.0 if I have sx os 3.05 I want to sign out and delete my accou t on stock but its asking me to update to latest os on stock so my question is if I do that will it break anything ?
Also to the above problem I am on v1.0.10 stock os with sx os 3.05 boots fine no issues switch lite so it its probably stock os 1.0.20 that is the issue? So this means I can't delete my accou t because I don't want to update lol nintendo got us by the b.....
 
Last edited by 3DSDSXL,

Deleted member 534671

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 30, 2020
Messages
64
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
253
Country
United Kingdom
Hi so is it safe to update the stock os to 10.2.0 if I have sx os 3.05 I want to sign out and delete my accou t on stock but its asking me to update to latest os on stock so my question is if I do that will it break anything ?
Also to the above problem I am on v1.0.10 stock os with sx os 3.05 boots fine no issues switch lite so it its probably stock os 1.0.20 that is the issue? So this means I can't delete my accou t because I don't want to update lol nintendo got us by the b.....
I hope we get an answer soon.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 3DSDSXL

Deleted member 534671

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 30, 2020
Messages
64
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
253
Country
United Kingdom
Here
 

Attachments

  • AEE8319E-5405-4B64-A316-6A5D7CF023FF.jpeg
    AEE8319E-5405-4B64-A316-6A5D7CF023FF.jpeg
    302.6 KB · Views: 446

popy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2018
Messages
255
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
1,128
Country
Austria
I tried to find a pattern but it's absolute random.

Sometimes it happens after cold boot, sometimes after jumping from sxos boot menu to hekate and vice versa, sometimes after reboot from horizon via power button.
I also saw a weird pixelated hekate screen once after I have chosen hekate 5.33 via sxos payload menu and then the switch froze.

Then it booted all these scenarios perfectly fine as I wanted to confirm the issues.

Absolute random!

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Maybe it's tx's key obfuscation which is kinda broken in this version?!

Can you please post your issue with pixalated hekate here: https://github.com/CTCaer/hekate/issues/485
Have the same issue and now also Nyx is not found, maybe we have the same issue!?
PS.: also using SX OS but very first switch model which is RCM exploitable. Seems SX OS 3.0.5 is f...... something up... just my two cents
 
Last edited by popy,

britain4

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2014
Messages
418
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
Sheffield
XP
1,165
Country
Hi so is it safe to update the stock os to 10.2.0 if I have sx os 3.05 I want to sign out and delete my accou t on stock but its asking me to update to latest os on stock so my question is if I do that will it break anything ?
Also to the above problem I am on v1.0.10 stock os with sx os 3.05 boots fine no issues switch lite so it its probably stock os 1.0.20 that is the issue? So this means I can't delete my accou t because I don't want to update lol nintendo got us by the b.....

I get the boot problem with mine whether I'm using 10.1.0 or 10.2.0 on both sys and emunand so I really think it's more related to SX OS 3.0.5 than the system firmware but I cannot confirm that, that's just my own anecdotal experience and it may behave differently for you.

The update procedure from the TX forums above worked fine for me but again if you update you are stuck using 3.0.5.

I've installed Hekate on mine recently just to try it out - it has the same black screen every other boot issue as the Switch firmware! No idea if any of this is linked.
 

popy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2018
Messages
255
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
1,128
Country
Austria
When i'll read througth the sx community forums, i think this black screen issue is an issue of sx os 3.0.5.
 

pausuri

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2018
Messages
105
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
600
Country
United Kingdom
When i'll read througth the sx community forums, i think this black screen issue is an issue of sx os 3.0.5.

It's looks like is not an consistent issue across most of the SXOS users and it's just affecting a small percentage??
 

popy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2018
Messages
255
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
1,128
Country
Austria
Downgraded my emunand (which was on 10.2.0 back to 10.1.0) and downgraded SX OS to 3.0.4 beta.
Now the black screen issue is much much less often and also the "pixelated" hekate (after using SX OS) is solved.

So there there is devintily an issue with SX OS 3.0.5 (maybe in regression with hekate).

Hope xecutor is aware of this and will bring a fix soon.
 

pausuri

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2018
Messages
105
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
600
Country
United Kingdom
Downgraded my emunand (which was on 10.2.0 back to 10.1.0) and downgraded SX OS to 3.0.4 beta.
Now the black screen issue is much much less often and also the "pixelated" hekate (after using SX OS) is solved.

So there there is devintily an issue with SX OS 3.0.5 (maybe in regression with hekate).

Hope xecutor is aware of this and will bring a fix soon.

Yeah, sure thing I'm pretty sure that they are aware and (eventually) in a short time future they will release another version that fix these current issues, after all, those SXOS versions are still in BETA
 
  • Like
Reactions: popy
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    could you imagine using a usb had drive on a 3ds
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    And a special receptor to play xCloud games
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    And an ice maker for your drinks
    +1
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    and a mouth cup for sedating you before surgery
    Gift
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    Ice maker, make me a Root Beer float! lol
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    Starts mario kart 7
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    if i ever get another Old3DS it's gonna be a different color than goddamn blue
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    3DS had a Super Mario Maker, why not an ice maker?
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    i have owned 4 blue old3dses and one black new3ds
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    I got a spam call and the guy hanged up on me when he said he was in DC and I asked how the weather was :sad:
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    also, i miss gridlauncher :sad:
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    the regular 3ds homebrew menu sucks :angry:
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    gridlauncher was much funner
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    I was just being his friend he said I could get 9,000 and I demanded 9 million :sad:
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    i liked the themey system, and i like how it had OPTIONS instead of a stupid wrench button that does absolutely nothing
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    The best salesman in the world is able to sell his product to the CEO of the company that spam
    calls him to sell their own product
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    i may not be a good homebrew dev yet but i personally think gridlauncher was much much better than the shit, bog standard homebrew menu
    Gift
  • Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    it had way more personality, the standard homebrew menu feels like an 3ds applet, developed quickly and without any quirks
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    too bad luma just so happens to completely break gridlauncher , and the fact that it's not maintained anmore
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    hell, even the wii homebrew menu gives me heavy nostalgia, even if it's barely, if at all customiable, but the 3ds
    homebrew launcher is ass
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    rant over
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    thank god i backed up my nand after fixing my 3ds
    , it'd be a fucking chore to do ctrtransfer again
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    either way i should really clear out my microsd, i'm pretty sure the sheer amount of shit i have on it might be fuckin' with my 3ds
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    also i got a SATA Data cable from the tech dudes in the high school, so now i can gain 500 giggitys of extra storage space on my pc
    Gift
    AliceCE @ AliceCE: also i got a SATA Data cable from the tech dudes in the high school, so now i can gain 500...