switching between firmwares?

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by nico445, Dec 27, 2009.

Dec 27, 2009

switching between firmwares? by nico445 at 3:17 PM (1,054 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. nico445
    OP

    Member nico445 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    my house.
    Country:
    Netherlands
    so i,ve got 2 nand backups one with 3.71 m33 (for gta cheat device) and one with 5.50 Gen D3. is there a way to constantly switch between those 2 without the need of a pandora? thanks [​IMG]
     
  2. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I wouldn't do nand backups, if handled wrong they can fully brick your PSP.
    Why don't you use hellcats? (If it can switch between firmware)
     
  3. nico445
    OP

    Member nico445 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    my house.
    Country:
    Netherlands
    because then i would have to reconfigure my wifi settings and other settings every time. and if i brick my psp with a nand backup even a pandora can't save me?
     
  4. hundshamer

    Member hundshamer GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,810
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    A Pandaora will always work as long as you have a motherboard that can use it (I.E. PSP-1000 or PSP-2000 without the TA-88 v3 motherboard). I would use Time Machine. You can set up multiple firmwares that you can select from boot. You can set each firmware to launch with button combos like X+R will launch 5.00 M33-6 or X+L for 5.50 Gen-D. The only problem is you need a Pandora's battery to work properly.
     
  5. nico445
    OP

    Member nico445 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    my house.
    Country:
    Netherlands
    anywhere a good tut online how to configure it? [​IMG] i got a pandora but if i can use that that would be way nicer then flashing every time
     
  6. CrashmanX

    Member CrashmanX Current project: SD Gundam G Generation Overworld

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,202
    Location:
    @CrashmanX
    Country:
    United States
    Next question, why not just use one CFW?
     
  7. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    He clearly stated it in the OP


    Edit: I'm not sure, but doesnt hellcats do a nand restore?
    Worth checking out the options on it.
     
  8. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,706
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Edit: It seems I am talking nonsense.

    As much as I hate suggesting it this is an odd situation and assuming you are not going to budge there then there is a mod chip for some PSP versions. Pandora/Despertar del Cementerio pretty much killed any chance modchips had though so it might be hard to find and if memory serves it will be hard to attach.
     
  9. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,657
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Actually there was only one, Undiluted Platinum, and it doesn't work with 3.xx+ Kernels, requiring hybrid firmwares.
    Neither they house a secondary NAND chip, they just read it from the PSP NAND, so no dual firmware.

    Just stay away from those [​IMG]

    And IIRC, Time Machine only works with few firmwares.
     
  10. nico445
    OP

    Member nico445 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    my house.
    Country:
    Netherlands
    well tried hellcat's recovery flasher. both firmwares wont be just restored because they give critical errors. and it sees 5.50 gen d-3 as 9.90 or something like that lol [​IMG]
     

Share This Page