Homebrew Discussion Switch online hacked already.

Saintseiya911

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 4, 2017
Messages
52
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
584
Country
United States
I read a article that the NES emulator for switch online was hacked already as it uses the same assists from the NES classic and can be hacked via hakchi. What are your thoughts?
 

AnalogMan

ultraSuMoFramework Dev
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
3,001
Trophies
1
Age
34
XP
4,283
Country
United States
They left out Castlevania so I went ahead and added it in, shame on Nintendo

2018091911144200-8F655652CF5441D7471D936F3F07324D.jpg
 

Pleng

Custom Title
Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2011
Messages
2,396
Trophies
1
XP
2,501
Country
Thailand
Thanks. That's better. :)


Now my thoughts are that if you're going to bother hacking this and risking a ban, you may as well just fully hack the unit, anyway.
 
  • Like
Reactions: CallmeBerto

Saintseiya911

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 4, 2017
Messages
52
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
584
Country
United States
Thanks. That's better. :)


Now my thoughts are that if you're going to bother hacking this and risking a ban, you may as well just fully hack the unit, anyway.

I'm already running cfw so that doesn't bother me just figured to bring this to people's attention as I haven't read no posts here for it and I agree.
 

Conex

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 21, 2018
Messages
58
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
229
Country
Australia
Wish it worked on non-linked consoles (cdn banned and had to factory format haha) but it asks to login, if there's a way to launch it unlinked maybe @AnalogMan knows?
 

Conex

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 21, 2018
Messages
58
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
229
Country
Australia
How do I do it? I've seen the Polygon article and a Reddit post but still don't know the steps
Literally replace the .nes in the /titles folder of the unpacked nsp.
You can use layeredFS to launch it over the installed vanilla nes nsp, add roms or replace roms, if you add them edit the json file in /titles and convert boxart to the .z format (not sure how myself but you have to)
Literally nintendo used .nes roms, just replace them with whatever and or add new ones
 

Nerdtendo

Your friendly neighborhood idiot
Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2016
Messages
1,657
Trophies
1
XP
3,519
Country
United States
Literally replace the .nes in the /titles folder of the unpacked nsp.
You can use layeredFS to launch it over the installed vanilla nes nsp, add roms or replace roms, if you add them edit the json file in /titles and convert boxart to the .z format (not sure how myself but you have to)
Thanks. I'll look into it tomorrow.

Guess I'll need and nsp unpacker :ph34r:
 

Jayro

MediCat USB Dev
Developer
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
10,084
Trophies
3
Location
WA State
Website
ko-fi.com
XP
10,846
Country
United States
Does anyone have a tutorial yet, or is this just a dick-wagging thread? Because they say the ROMs are in plainy .nes format, but they're not anywhere on my SD card, and my SD Card is where everything downloads and installs to.
 

JellyPerson

https://discord.gg/BMVma8j
Banned
Joined
Jul 26, 2017
Messages
1,164
Trophies
0
Age
17
Location
Pyongyang
Website
https.htp
XP
1,581
Country
Korea, North
Does anyone have a tutorial yet, or is this just a dick-wagging thread? Because they say the ROMs are in plainy .nes format, but they're not anywhere on my SD card, and my SD Card is where everything downloads and installs to.
You gotta extract it using hactool, then you gotta plop the roms right in
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: LA that explains alot