Hardware Switch internet connection issues

StrayGuitarist

A genuine feline disaster.
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
629
Trophies
0
Location
Pallyfornia
XP
1,489
Country
United States
My Switch has recently started having this funky issue where it just won't connect to my internet. Didn't have an issue with friend's houses, but at home? Nope.

Specifically, what happens is I select the connection, it connects to the router, then to the internet, says it was successful, then goes back to the Internet settings and... Status shows "Not Connected". Mind you this is a completely stock Switch, I don't have any interest in hacking it. I tried going to Nintendo, their suggestion was "Reset your router!" which did work once, but this issue comes up literally every day. If I go to bed, when I wake up, sure as shit the status will be "Not connected" and it'll go through this rigmarole again. I'd been getting away with clearing network settings and rebooting it, then reconnecting, but that just stopped working today. I'm at my wit's end here.
 

Ttm3

Well-Known Member
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
May 16, 2020
Messages
244
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
563
Country
United States
My Switch has recently started having this funky issue where it just won't connect to my internet. Didn't have an issue with friend's houses, but at home? Nope.

Specifically, what happens is I select the connection, it connects to the router, then to the internet, says it was successful, then goes back to the Internet settings and... Status shows "Not Connected". Mind you this is a completely stock Switch, I don't have any interest in hacking it. I tried going to Nintendo, their suggestion was "Reset your router!" which did work once, but this issue comes up literally every day. If I go to bed, when I wake up, sure as shit the status will be "Not connected" and it'll go through this rigmarole again. I'd been getting away with clearing network settings and rebooting it, then reconnecting, but that just stopped working today. I'm at my wit's end here.
I recently talked with someone at nintendo that suggested i change the DNS settings of my network. That solved my network issues. This was our convo.

Then you will see two options appeared, "Primary DNS and Secondary DNS". Lets select first "Primary DNS" and you are going to delete all of the zeros that you will see and enter 8.8.8.8 and then followed by "OK" please.

After that, select "Secondary DNS" and again, lets delete all of those zeros and enter 8.8.4.4 and select "OK".

Then, make sure that the Proxy settings are off and then just select "Save" please.


Once you select that, you will see the 3 options again, this time, select "Connect to This Network", and tell me what does it say please.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Shawtobebeone

Hayato213

( -_・) ︻デ═一' * (/❛o❛)/
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
10,348
Trophies
1
Location
Vector Industry
XP
5,238
Country
United States
My Switch has recently started having this funky issue where it just won't connect to my internet. Didn't have an issue with friend's houses, but at home? Nope.

Specifically, what happens is I select the connection, it connects to the router, then to the internet, says it was successful, then goes back to the Internet settings and... Status shows "Not Connected". Mind you this is a completely stock Switch, I don't have any interest in hacking it. I tried going to Nintendo, their suggestion was "Reset your router!" which did work once, but this issue comes up literally every day. If I go to bed, when I wake up, sure as shit the status will be "Not connected" and it'll go through this rigmarole again. I'd been getting away with clearing network settings and rebooting it, then reconnecting, but that just stopped working today. I'm at my wit's end here.

Take a look at your network configuration, take a look at the channel it is broadcasting, try changing that if your network is stable, you might have to extend your range if that is your problem, with some sort like mesh network.
 

StrayGuitarist

A genuine feline disaster.
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
629
Trophies
0
Location
Pallyfornia
XP
1,489
Country
United States
I recently talked with someone at nintendo that suggested i change the DNS settings of my network. That solved my network issues.
I've already tried using the Cloudflare DNS to no avail.


Take a look at your network configuration, take a look at the channel it is broadcasting, try changing that if your network is stable, you might have to extend your range if that is your problem, with some sort like mesh network.
Channel, like 2.4 GHz vs 5.0 GHz?

I don't think it's a range issue considering I'm only a few feet from the router, and everything else in the house has no issue connecting.

EDIT: I figured out what you meant by 'Channel'. Changing that on my router settings seems to have fixed my issue for now, but.. There's no telling if it's gonna fuck up again later.
 
Last edited by StrayGuitarist, , Reason: I figured out what something meant.

Hayato213

( -_・) ︻デ═一' * (/❛o❛)/
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
10,348
Trophies
1
Location
Vector Industry
XP
5,238
Country
United States
I've already tried using the Cloudflare DNS to no avail.



Channel, like 2.4 GHz vs 5.0 GHz?

I don't think it's a range issue considering I'm only a few feet from the router, and everything else in the house has no issue connecting.

EDIT: I figured out what you meant by 'Channel'. Changing that on my router settings seems to have fixed my issue for now, but.. There's no telling if it's gonna fuck up again later.

Well if the problem is the range then you going to have to use like a mesh wifi or extend your range with an extender, if other devices can connect fine, and it is only your switch, it might be your switch.
 

StrayGuitarist

A genuine feline disaster.
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
629
Trophies
0
Location
Pallyfornia
XP
1,489
Country
United States
Well if the problem is the range then you going to have to use like a mesh wifi or extend your range with an extender, if other devices can connect fine, and it is only your switch, it might be your switch.

I doubt it would be range because I've connected from the same spot in the same room many times before. Changing the channel on my router seemed to work for now, but I don't know if it's gonna go back to refusing to connect again.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Hayato213

StrayGuitarist

A genuine feline disaster.
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
629
Trophies
0
Location
Pallyfornia
XP
1,489
Country
United States
It doesn't seem like it wants to connect to any internet connection at all, anymore.

If anyone can figure out what's going on.. Even Nintendo support was of no help.
 

StrayGuitarist

A genuine feline disaster.
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
629
Trophies
0
Location
Pallyfornia
XP
1,489
Country
United States
... Still, uh.. Still helpless on this. Nintendo support STILL doesn't do anything but tell me "Reset your internet" or "Change your router settings". It just doesn't connect to anything, not even my phone's hotspot. It's infuriating that my $20 thrift store Wii has less hardware issues than this $300 piece of garbage.
 

FamicomHeero

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2020
Messages
100
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
121
Country
United States
Compared to my other wireless devices I believe my switch has the worst connection.

Do you know someone who has another router you can borrow to test or can you test using your phone with hotspot turned on?
 

StrayGuitarist

A genuine feline disaster.
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
629
Trophies
0
Location
Pallyfornia
XP
1,489
Country
United States
Compared to my other wireless devices I believe my switch has the worst connection.

Do you know someone who has another router you can borrow to test or can you test using your phone with hotspot turned on?

Yeah, I tried it at my stepdad’s, and at a friend’s with no difference in results. I tried my hotspot too. They all do the same thing.
 

FamicomHeero

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2020
Messages
100
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
121
Country
United States
That was one of the first things I’ve tried. I also tried clearing my cache.

Are you getting any errors or indications that you're not connected or is it like in the video above where it shows successful but you still can't access the internet?

Just to verify, now you're not able to connect to any wifi or hotspot, correct?

What message do you get when you try to access the eShop?
 
Last edited by FamicomHeero,

StrayGuitarist

A genuine feline disaster.
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
629
Trophies
0
Location
Pallyfornia
XP
1,489
Country
United States
Are you getting any errors or indications that you're not connected or is it like in the video above where it shows successful but you still can't access the internet?

Just to verify, now you're not able to connect to any wifi or hotspot, correct?

What message do you get when you try to access the eShop?

Nope, it's like that video I uploaded- it always shows successful but still can't access anything.

And correct. Not a thing. Before this, it was kinda spotty and would connect every once and a while, then it got to where it'd only connect to some routers, now it's nothing at all.

and when I try to access the eShop, I get error code 2019-1308, and a simple "An error has occurred. Please try again later, If the problem persists, please refer to the Nintendo Support website." Then when I press 'Close', I get another, 2155-8007, with the vague description of "An error has occurred. Please try again later. If the problem persists, please try performing a system update from system settings." Closing that one then kicks me back to the HOME menu.
 

FamicomHeero

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2020
Messages
100
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
121
Country
United States
Nope, it's like that video I uploaded- it always shows successful but still can't access anything.

And correct. Not a thing. Before this, it was kinda spotty and would connect every once and a while, then it got to where it'd only connect to some routers, now it's nothing at all.

and when I try to access the eShop, I get error code 2019-1308, and a simple "An error has occurred. Please try again later, If the problem persists, please refer to the Nintendo Support website." Then when I press 'Close', I get another, 2155-8007, with the vague description of "An error has occurred. Please try again later. If the problem persists, please try performing a system update from system settings." Closing that one then kicks me back to the HOME menu.

I'm still looking into this but could you try something?

1. Let the battery drain completely out of it. When you push the power button the screen and any LEDs shouldn't turn on.

2. After the above step, hold the power button down for 30 seconds just to be sure we've drained it.

3. Completely charge the battery and turn it on. Check if that fixed it.
 

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    if only you could encode the backup in your DNA and carry it with you
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    In 20 years we'll probably have micro sd cards implants in our heads
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    microsd?
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I'd be okay with getting my brain taken out and replaced with one as long as its not intel or apple
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    shiet get on with the time grampa, we're using picoSD now
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Only the most important humans will have nvme installed in their head
  • _Shimon @ _Shimon:
    oh shit this exists
  • Arras @ Arras:
    wait this is where the shoutbox went?
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    What are everyone's
    thoughts on gpu prices atm?
  • Arras @ Arras:
    high
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    lol yes they are high, mate of mine just got a 1080 for $700 AUD
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    second hand which is nuts as when the 3070 came out here that's how much it was new at the time
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I
    f you have tech that can decently run games don't buy anything yet wait a year or two
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    I just got a core build upgrade, minus gpu due to price, will be running my GTX780 until I can afford an upgrade
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Prices are up because of bots and
    shortages it'll die down with a year or two
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    Yeah I imagine there will be a short period where prices are low then the next series will come out and low and behold have high prices again
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Today's games look just fine at 1080 with decent 60fos unless you have disposable income it's not really worth it
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Probably won't be that long until theirs 4k capable apus around $400
  • PeeJay Bonobo @ PeeJay Bonobo:
    And I'm here stuck with my 3800X (though I need to plan if I want to upgrade to a 5900X) and an RX 5700 (XT BIOS).
  • p1ngpong @ p1ngpong:
    DEAD
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    ALIVE
  • Slluxx @ Slluxx:
    oh wow, chat available from any where, nice
  • AkiraKurusu @ AkiraKurusu:
    Are scalpers still scalping PS5s? If no, might plan on getting one soonish.
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Glad I got my 3080 at retail price
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Weird got a reCaptcha check by
    refreshing the page
    kenenthk @ kenenthk: Weird got a reCaptcha check by refreshing the page