1. felixsrg

    felixsrg Temp's Ghost
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    263
    Country:
    Colombia
    I also got this, on 6.0.1, latest update installed, get update nag but after ignoring it, can play the game normally.
     
  2. arianadark

    arianadark GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Messages:
    712
    Country:
    United States
    who ever dumped it, dumped it with their account still attached to it
     
  3. wizball1973

    OP wizball1973 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    Senegal
    Same for me. But, those games I listed, upon booting, MUST validate themselves on line. They do not ask to be updated. The message is something like "checking if this content can be played".

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Hmmm. Thanks to everyone who tested and posted. Must be something to do with me purchasing these originally.
     
  4. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    14,595
    Country:
    United States
    I just realized something. Nintendo changed the way accounts work around the time firmware 6.0 came out. Consoles are either registered as a Primary or Secondary under a single Nintendo Account. The key difference is that Primary consoles can launch games owned by the account offline while Secondary consoles need to be online to verify before launching the game. Maybe your console is listed as a Secondary account holder.
     
  5. illumunatic1981

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Germany
    i have both games,and both are working fine
     
    BL4Z3D247 likes this.
  6. wizball1973

    OP wizball1973 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    Senegal
    So I have confirmed that EVERY Nintendo game that I purchased legitimately now does this. If I initialize my console will the games I have installed across 3 SD cards still work, or will they need to be reinstalled?
     
  7. Zumoly

    Zumoly GBATemp Analyst
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    1,758
    Country:
    Mali
    If you do this, your account will be unlinked and you will have to link it again. Also all your games will be deleted (so you'll have to download them as well assuming you are not banned and have no trace of CFW to trigger a ban) so be careful.
     
  8. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,652
    Country:
    Norway
    That could actually be it. Certainly sounds like it from what @wizball1973 said.
    When you update to 6.0.1 and go online, I think it sets the console to primary automatically. But if you never go online, it's not able to do that I guess. Should be fixable via homebrew though obviously going online with a console marked as primary when the servers don't recognize it as such would be a bad idea, so if ever in the future it becomes safe to go online it's important to remember to change that back first.
     
  9. wizball1973

    OP wizball1973 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    Senegal
    I'm already banned. I just just install NSP files of the games I purchased.

    Will the many NSP files I installed to my 400Gb SD card still work though?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I checked and my Switch is set as the Primary.
     
  10. Zumoly

    Zumoly GBATemp Analyst
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    1,758
    Country:
    Mali
    Try redownloading one NSP game you purchased and check if it works.
    My guess is since you're banned you have been locked out from your purchased content (might be a 6.0.1 thing)
     
  11. wizball1973

    OP wizball1973 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    Senegal
    Can't redownload as I am banned.

    Anyone know if I initialise the console will the games I installed on SD cards still work or do they all need to be reinstalled?
     
  12. arianadark

    arianadark GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Messages:
    712
    Country:
    United States
    will have to be reinstalled
     
    Albytrozz likes this.
  13. Albytrozz

    Albytrozz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Messages:
    265
    Country:
    United States
    There is a much easier way of resetting the Update crap without a factory reset... you just need to boot into 'Maintenance Mode' and then exit and reboot... literally that simple. It fixed my 6.0 update problems, I believe it wipes all Update Prompt info from cache or something. Either way they stopped after I did only this, and you'll find many other posts suggesting the same.
     
    Last edited by Albytrozz, Oct 30, 2018
  14. pcam90

    pcam90 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Korea, South
    how to boot in maintenance mode exactly? im using rajnx on 6.0.1
     
  15. ikithme

    ikithme GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    Messages:
    164
    Country:
    United States
    Factory Reset will not be possible the normal way if you have an account linked as it tries to connect to Nintendo's servers. You'll need to factory reset via Recovery (If offered there) or Choi (How I did it, by using the update files and checking factory reset when you install the firmware). Everything will be wiped out and I don't think your saves will work (I could be wrong).
     
  16. mike087

    mike087 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Messages:
    204
    Country:
    Ecuador
    Sorry but your switch is screwed
     
  17. Undi

    Undi TRASH 悲しい天使
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    326
    Country:
    Belgium
    Stop telling bullshit. If the update is really a problem, we can downgrade to 5.x easily.
     
  18. wizball1973

    OP wizball1973 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    Senegal
    This also happened on 5.0 so its not a firmware issue.
     
  19. wiewiec

    wiewiec GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    Messages:
    769
    Country:
    Poland
    I also have question, bought SX Pro - is it possible to download rest of games like Doom without ban?
     
  20. arianadark

    arianadark GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Messages:
    712
    Country:
    United States
    if your already using sx pro and you go online you will get a ban in time
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Checking, Updates, License