Swapping Micro SD card for R4

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by dawgbowl, Jun 27, 2012.

Jun 27, 2012
  1. dawgbowl
    OP

    Newcomer dawgbowl Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Maryland
    Country:
    United States
    My friend purchased me a used R4 card with a 2GB Micro SD Sandisk card.

    I was able to plug it in to my DSlite and play the existing games as well as add my own. (I had a DSextreme previously)

    I went out today to best buy and purchased a 16 GB PNY micro SD card for more space. When I copied over the data of the 2GB card to the 16GB, my DS would lock up at the 'loading...' screen while using the 16GB card. The 2GB still works properly.

    The 2GB Micro SD card is using Moonshell 2. I have tried formatting the 16GB card (just windows formatting to fat32) several times and also searched for various versions of moonshell 2, 2.10 being the latest one I tried. All versions yielded the same results.


    I am aware from this site that there are plenty of 'fake' cards out there. Unfortunately, being a gift, I really have no way of knowing what my R4 truly is without the original box. The cartridge reads...

    R4
    Revolution for DS
    (NDSL/NDS)


    I picked this forum because it may be Micro SD related. ADMIN please move this post if it should be in a different location.
     
  2. erekohn

    Newcomer erekohn Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Most likely you don't have the SDHC version. The regular R4 only supports up to 2GB.
     
  3. dawgbowl
    OP

    Newcomer dawgbowl Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Maryland
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for the prompt response, this sounds like a likely scenario. Appreciate it.
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah you've got the original R4 model, which has no SDHC support.

    I'd advice against going out and getting a cart with "SDHC" in the title, though. SDHC support has been a part of all major carts for years, and the ones with "SDHC" in the title aren't recommended.

    http://gbatemp.net/t290097-which-flash-cart-should-i-get
     

Share This Page