Swap?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by playallday, Nov 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Nov 3, 2008

Swap? by playallday at 4:44 PM (4,776 Views / 0 Likes) 33 replies

  1. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    I was looking at photos of the DSi and DS Lite and it LOOKS like you can swap the firmware.

    See this part?
    [​IMG]
    And see this part?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    It looks like you can swap them! I don't have a DSi to try with so someone else will have to try! [​IMG]

    If anyone can tell me anything about this that'd be great!
     


  2. CorruptedAngel

    Member CorruptedAngel GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    but woulnt swaping the firmware defy the whole point of having an dsi over a ds lite? you loose all the fansy new stuff, you loose the camera (gimiky but still..), you loose the sd slot, and you just end up with a bigger version of the ds lite, dont you?
     
  3. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Well if it was a hardware (and not software) block that made the DSi not work with carts then you could put the BIOS in a DS Lite and dump the firmware (of the DSi) and get looply to make a .NDS file [​IMG] .
     
  4. ZenZero

    Member ZenZero GBATEMP's regular arse.

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,270
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    that is actually very clever! - i presume that it would work the other way round - letting lite users use dsware?
     
  5. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes, I see it pointless to run the DS Lite firmware on a DSi but I want to run the DSi firmware on the DS Lite!
     
  6. ZenZero

    Member ZenZero GBATEMP's regular arse.

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,270
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    exactly what i am thinking - why couldn't they scrap the camera and have a ds firmware upgrade on the nintendo channel! it would make my life much easier...
     
  7. CorruptedAngel

    Member CorruptedAngel GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hmmm yes, i see what you mean now.... BUT (always the cynical git, me) wouldent the dsi firmware crash when it finds half the stuff it expects to find is missing? (camera, internal hardware changes, sd card slot)
     
  8. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Most likely but we can do the swap (use the DS Lite firmware to turn on then swap it) thing and dump the firmware so we can play with it!
     
  9. ZenZero

    Member ZenZero GBATEMP's regular arse.

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,270
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if anyone has a dsi yet... please help us!

    we could probably exploit the firmware to use a micro sd for the sd (micro sd inn your flashcard)

    but what about the web browser... this wouldn't work without the added ram?
     
  10. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Feel free to give me money [​IMG] .

    But does anyone here have a DSi?
     
  11. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    From the pictures...

    It looks like the DSi's BIOS is larger than the DS Lites..

    I doubt it would fit in the DSLites BIOS port...

    Unless you know how to extreme hack it.

    But who am I to judge sizes. I don't even own a DSi.

    Will soon though.
     
  12. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    I know it wouldn't fit in the DS Lite with the case on, but when the case is off I think it'd work.

    But I don't have a DSi as well. I'd only get one if someone else got me one [​IMG] .
     
  13. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm guessing that if you tried to boot it up in a DSL it would do a check for the internal flash ram (where the browser is stored) and just hang when it couldn't find it. Just a guess though.

    edit : Also another thought. The code for blocking the flashcarts will be in the BIOS itself, so sticking the DSI firmware/BIOS into a DSL won't halp as you still wouldn't be able to boot up a flashcart.
     
  14. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    You swap the BIOS after you turn on the DS Lite, then dump it. It's the same way you unbrick DS Lite's.
     
  15. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't see how that's possible. Wouldn't disconnecting the BIOS while it's running simply clag the DS?
     
  16. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Nope. I've done it before. You can play some games without the BIOS [​IMG] .
     
  17. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Got any links or info about how it works?
     
  18. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Sure, its here.
     
  19. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nice one, cheers mate. I don't see how it could work but I'm not that technically minded. Gonna go do some more research!
     
  20. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    You just put the DSi firmware instead of the DS Lite bricked firmware and you run a firmware dumper instead of FlashMe.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page