WIP Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Mod's

Discussion in 'Switch - ROM Hacking, Saves, Translations & Tools' started by bodyXY, Dec 15, 2018.

  1. weegygreen2

    weegygreen2 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Dec 26, 2018
    United States
    I got the sd card set up and it works fine loading with the data.arc, until I try after injecting any of the 5 nutexb files that I’m using. They all lock the game at the loading screen after choosing fighters.
     
    Last edited by weegygreen2, Dec 26, 2018
  2. Grmmish

    Grmmish GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    3
    Sep 6, 2018
    United States

    I was trying to get this exact thing to work for hours now. :( The guy posted the ".prc" files for this mod but the thing is... Does this tutorial work with Prc file as well?
    And if it does..
    I got the Data.arc file and put it in the correct location and did all of the good steps then I got infinite loading on boot. Which is expected when something goes wrong. I redid the data.arc file and put a blank one on my MicroSD and now it is "sxos/titles/XXXXXX/romfs/dta.arc" And all of that is correct. Tried it again without any mods, just regular vanilla Arc file and bam. did it again.
    Something isn't right...
    Do I need EVERY SINGLE FILE from Romfs AND Exefs? in Breath of the Wild you only needed the modded file, not every single extracted file.
    Anyways, I even tried with all of the files and it did the same thing... Yes I am on 1.0.0 but what about 6.2? I am on that firmware. I doubt that is the problem but it is indeed reading the files just... Breaking it on boot. What exactly is the problem?
    So I got the mod location correct, that can't be the problem.
     
  3. hamdan91

    hamdan91 Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Jul 11, 2018
    Australia
    check out this tutorial
    https://gamebanana.com/tuts/12816

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    you need to inject it with this script
    https://raw.githubusercontent.com/jam1garner/ultimate-research/master/modinstall.py

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    In case you haven't did it yet. Have you done the compression before injecting your nutexb files?
    And also... What version are you on? If you on v.1.0 then you're safe but if you updated the game then your mods won't work
     
    Last edited by hamdan91, Dec 27, 2018
  4. weegygreen2

    weegygreen2 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Dec 26, 2018
    United States
    I don't think I've compressed the nutexbs unless Switch toolbox automatically does it for me when importing the replacements. Is there a separate script or program that I need for that?
    The game and data.arc are both v1.0
     
  5. Grmmish

    Grmmish GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    3
    Sep 6, 2018
    United States

    I knew someone would say that... LOL
    Again, I tried a VANILLA Data.Arc file without mods and it still crashed so the problem must not be mods...
    And to top it off, I know I must use that.
    Thank you for your help even if it was not the answer, though.
     
  6. hamdan91

    hamdan91 Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Jul 11, 2018
    Australia
    what program are you using to extract your nutexb?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    you probably updated your game, maybe thats the cause
     
  7. weegygreen2

    weegygreen2 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Dec 26, 2018
    United States
    ArcCross
     
  8. hamdan91

    hamdan91 Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Jul 11, 2018
    Australia
    then it should should display the CompSize (compression size)

    you must match the compressed size before you inject your nutexb files.
    I used zstd to compress my files.
    It has to match 100%. 1 byte bigger or smaller than the target size will still trap you at the loading screen

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    If you need help i'll gladly make a video tutorial
     
    Last edited by hamdan91, Dec 27, 2018
  9. weegygreen2

    weegygreen2 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Dec 26, 2018
    United States
    That would help a lot
     
  10. hamdan91

    hamdan91 Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Jul 11, 2018
    Australia
    no worries, just give me a bit of time and hopefully i'll make the tutorial as soon as i can

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    if you want... can you send me your nutexb files? Sorry i don't have time to make a tutorial but i can do the compression for you if you like?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    and also it will help if you can give me the details on which character you're modding
     
  11. weegygreen2

    weegygreen2 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Dec 26, 2018
    United States
    The files are the same size i think? Untitled.

    edit: It's for shizue/Isabelle
     
  12. hamdan91

    hamdan91 Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Jul 11, 2018
    Australia
    thats the decompression size. It must match the Compression size

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    if you're injecting the data.arc without compressing it then it won't work

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    just send me the files then i'll compressed them for you
     
  13. weegygreen2

    weegygreen2 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Dec 26, 2018
    United States
    alright I see now

    edit: they're not done yet, I just wanted to test how they looked in game so far
     
    Last edited by weegygreen2, Dec 27, 2018
  14. hamdan91

    hamdan91 Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Jul 11, 2018
    Australia
    also i recommend you to restore your unmodded data.arc file just in case installing your uncompressed file would've messed up a few things

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    well yeah, even if it's for testing you still have to match the compressed size friend

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    otherwise it won't work

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I know it's an annoying method but it's the only way for now to get your modded textures in the game
     
  15. weegygreen2

    weegygreen2 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Dec 26, 2018
    United States
    Switch Toolbox has built in compression things, those might work?
     
  16. hamdan91

    hamdan91 Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Jul 11, 2018
    Australia
    no
     
  17. Grmmish

    Grmmish GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    3
    Sep 6, 2018
    United States
    LOL again, I'm still on 1.0 of the game. XD
     
  18. hamdan91

    hamdan91 Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Jul 11, 2018
    Australia
    Sorry friend i have no idea what the cause is but i really hope you get it working soon

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    i've grabbed the file you've shown me and i compressed it. This is the the size you need to get it working


    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    look at the images i posted and you will see how they perfectly match. This mod will 100% guaranteed work
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by hamdan91, Dec 27, 2018
  19. bodyXY
    OP

    bodyXY GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    5
    May 15, 2018
    Germany
  20. Grmmish

    Grmmish GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    3
    Sep 6, 2018
    United States
    Last edited by Grmmish, Jan 11, 2019
Loading...