Super Smash bros on the DS

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by RemixDeluxe, Feb 17, 2011.

Feb 17, 2011
  1. RemixDeluxe
    OP

    Member RemixDeluxe GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3,290
    Country:
    United States
    I have heard of super smash bros games made by homebrew developers that you can play on your flashcart. I have an AceKard 2i so what game could I play on there and how would I get myself a copy?
     


  2. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    super smash bros clash
    super smash bros crash
    super smash bros rumble

    that's all i can remember.
     
  3. RemixDeluxe
    OP

    Member RemixDeluxe GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3,290
    Country:
    United States
    Which one do you most recommend and how do I get myself a copy? Actually would it be possible to get a source for all 3 I would like to try them out to see whats best in my opinion.
     
  4. link491

    Member link491 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    just search up super smash bros on filetrip.net
     
  5. RemixDeluxe
    OP

    Member RemixDeluxe GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3,290
    Country:
    United States
    How do I know which ones are the latest versions for each smash bros game? Is there a main site where the developers themselves post their games?
     
  6. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    Well the latest and most updated/polished/fun SSB Homebrew is Super Smash Bros. Crash 8 (or 8.5, I don't remember).
    Rumble last got updated in July.
    Clash just had a Christmas release.
     
  7. Odnetnin46

    Member Odnetnin46 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    Some basement
    Country:
    United States
    Actually,Rumble is still in development,it's just slow.
     
  8. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, sorry. It's been a while since I've checked Rumble out.
     
  9. Langin

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    We have

    Super Smash Bros Dual Smash

    and some more.
     
  10. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
  11. RemixDeluxe
    OP

    Member RemixDeluxe GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3,290
    Country:
    United States
    I tried out clash. It works flawlessly.

    I tried crash but when I got to the "press start" screen I pressed start then my screen black out, do I have to add the files specificly in my directories somehow?

    and rumble just doesnt work. When I downloaded the file it was only 500 kb which is too small for any DS game to play.
     
  12. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    Sad thing is, the only way I could get version 8 to work was by making it a plugin on my DSTWO. It' still doesn't work on my Acekard2i.
     
  13. Crimson Phantom

    Member Crimson Phantom GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Rumble is the best but the development is too slow :|
     
  14. RemixDeluxe
    OP

    Member RemixDeluxe GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3,290
    Country:
    United States
    Does rumble or Crash work with the acekard 2i? I really wanna try these games.
     
  15. Ron

    Member Ron somehow a weeb now.

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,837
    Location:
    here
    Country:
    Canada
    I had Rumble working on my Acekard with the latest AKAIO, just put it at root.
     
  16. Swifty1992

    Newcomer Swifty1992 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    Australia
    For SSB Clash, I post updates regularly on my blog:
    swiftystudios.blogspot.com

    And in the interests of fairness, you can find Rumble at:
    ssb-rumble.info

    And Crash at:
    ssbcrashds.blogspot.es/ (But it's in Spanish).
     
  17. Pahicken

    Newcomer Pahicken Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    U.S.A
    Country:
    United States
    i've tried all of them but none seem to work for me.
     
  18. Dann Woolf

    Member Dann Woolf Deadpan Snarker

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Location:
    Deventer
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Quick question about Clash: we don't have to start a new save file every time a new version's released, do we?

    EDIT: man, when the game says preparing for first time use may take a while, it's not fucking kidding.

    EDIT 2: ...is Clash even compatible with the R4?
     
  19. Swifty1992

    Newcomer Swifty1992 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    Australia
    The next public release will include exportable save files so that you can carry your stuff over. The files will only work with the release subsequently following it though, so if you want to keep carrying it through, you'll have to move the saveFile through each version that we release.

    The game actually takes longer to start up depending on the size of your MicroSD card. For example, mine is an 8GB, so it takes a while to start up. It takes quite substantially less time to start up each subsequent time.

    I have a tester who uses the R4, and he seems to be able to get it to run fine. For clarification purposes, are you using SSB Clash Rebirth? Also if your MicroSD is rather large, turn it on, leave it to start up and walk away for a bit.

    Also, Pahicken what card are you using, what capacity does your MicroSD have and what model DS are you running it with? (DS, Lite, DSi)
     
  20. TheAmericanNomad

    Newcomer TheAmericanNomad Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    Dang! When I first got my cart SSB homebrew was at a pathetic state. It had only one character and everyone and their uncle was calling it vaporware, so I stopped paying attention. Now, I come back, and sh*t is going on!


    Glad I was wrong, keep up the good work!
     

Share This Page