Homebrew Sublime Text 3 for Homebrew?

how could I setup Sublime text 3 to compile .3dsx files.

  • How to set up sublime text

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • how to use a compiler to make .3dsx files

    Votes: 2 100.0%

  • Total voters
    2

mid-kid

GBAtemp spamBOT
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
879
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
1,152
Country
Hey all! I was wondering how or if I could setup Sublime text 3 to compile .3dsx files.

Since when has the choice of a text editor mattered in development of any kind? (Except where a specialized IDE is used: see Unity3d)
Just open a terminal and run "make" there, or create a shortcut for that command with your editor.
 

BurningDesire

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
5,000
Trophies
1
Location
Behind a screen reading news
XP
4,793
Country
United States
Since when has the choice of a text editor mattered in development of any kind? (Except where a specialized IDE is used: see Unity3d)
Just open a terminal and run "make" there, or create a shortcut for that command with your editor.

I want to build from sublime text directly to the Citra emulator for testing. Which you can't do in any specific compiler (Netbeans) for example. Or can you?
 

Lenan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2015
Messages
172
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
132
Country
Swaziland
You can, add this to your makefile after all:/clean: section

Code:
run:
    @ echo run ...
    PathToCitra\citra.exe $(TARGET).smdh

remove the space between @ and echo (I'm too dumb to figure out how to escape in this forum lol)
 
  • Like
Reactions: JustPingo

Lenan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2015
Messages
172
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
132
Country
Swaziland
Ok just retested it on windows, there are some errors and missing stuff in my previous post.
Here is an update instruction:

1. in your makefile add.
Code:
run:
    PathToCitra\citra.exe $(TARGET).elf //If you're using Windows
    open -a Citra $(TARGET).elf //If you're using Linux/Mac.

NetBeans only:
2. Right click your project -> properties -> run -> and in the run command field write : make run

Sublime Text 3:
1. Tools -> Build System -> New Build System
2. Replace existing code with:
Code:
//Assuming you work from a source folder within your project. Else, you have to tweak "-C .."
{
    "cmd": "make -C ..",
 
    "variants":
    [
        {
        "name": "Run",
        "cmd": "make run -C .."
        },
       
        {
        "name": "Clean",
        "cmd": "make clean -C .."
        },
 
    ]
}
3. Save it as 3DS (or whatever)
4. Open your source file
5. Tools -> Build System -> 3DS (or whatever)

You can now build/run from the tools tab and you will find all options in the command palette (CTRL+Shift+P)

Hope that helps :)
 

mid-kid

GBAtemp spamBOT
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
879
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
1,152
Country

I'm not really for adding a run target in the makefile, because it's too platform- and installation-dependent. Just do something like "make && path/to/citra thing" on the cmd line (again, this differs per platform and text editor).
 

Lenan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2015
Messages
172
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
132
Country
Swaziland
I'm not really for adding a run target in the makefile, because it's too platform- and installation-dependent. Just do something like "make && path/to/citra thing" on the cmd line (again, this differs per platform and text editor).

Yeah, but he asked how to do it directly with sublime and/or netbeans.
 

BurningDesire

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
5,000
Trophies
1
Location
Behind a screen reading news
XP
4,793
Country
United States
Ok just retested it on windows, there are some errors and missing stuff in my previous post.
Here is an update instruction:

1. in your makefile add.
Code:
run:
    PathToCitra\citra.exe $(TARGET).elf //If you're using Windows
    open -a Citra $(TARGET).elf //If you're using Linux/Mac.

NetBeans only:
2. Right click your project -> properties -> run -> and in the run command field write : make run

Sublime Text 3:
1. Tools -> Build System -> New Build System
2. Replace existing code with:
Code:
//Assuming you work from a source folder within your project. Else, you have to tweak "-C .."
{
    "cmd": "make -C ..",
 
    "variants":
    [
        {
        "name": "Run",
        "cmd": "make run -C .."
        },
     
        {
        "name": "Clean",
        "cmd": "make clean -C .."
        },
 
    ]
}
3. Save it as 3DS (or whatever)
4. Open your source file
5. Tools -> Build System -> 3DS (or whatever)

You can now build/run from the tools tab and you will find all options in the command palette (CTRL+Shift+P)

Hope that helps :)
Thank you. I will try this as soon as I can.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    K3N1 @ K3N1: Maybe one day I can be Bruce almighty