Stuck p

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Riiiicolaaaa, Jan 14, 2011.

Jan 14, 2011

Stuck p by Riiiicolaaaa at 3:12 AM (824 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. Riiiicolaaaa
    OP

    Newcomer Riiiicolaaaa Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for checking this out:

    I'm currently attempting to hack a new Wii (firmware v.4.3U) using http://www.brainofshawn.com/2010/02/16/hac...wii-be-like-me/ as my guide. I'm at the section entitled: "OK, My Wii is Hacked. Am I Cool Now?". There's a link in that section which brings you to http://gwht.wikidot.com/ios249/. That is the tutorial I am having trouble with.

    The first part of http://gwht.wikidot.com/ios249 has a link in the "What You Should Install First" section that brings you to http://gwht.wikidot.com/ios236. This link, as you can see, contains a link to the IOS236 Installer v5 which I have used, and it appeared to work. Now that IOS236 Installer v5 has run to completion, I should be ready to complete the http://gwht.wikidot.com/ios249 guide using the cIOSX_rev20b app. However, step 5 requires the user to, "Choose IOS236 for the IOS to use for the installation," yet IOS236 is not available for me to use. I can choose IOS249 or IOS223 and others, but not IOS236. This is needed for me to play games via USB. Can anyone help me solve this issue?
     
  2. Riiiicolaaaa
    OP

    Newcomer Riiiicolaaaa Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I screwed up the topic, can someone edit it for me or just delete this post so I can fix it? Thanks. Sorry.
     
  3. person66

    Member person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,110
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    first, you might want to use cIOSx rev 21 as it is newer...

    Anyways, you could try re-installing 236, using the v3 MOD and see if it still doesn't show up. You could also try choosing any of the IOSs above 200 if you like, though they are probably all currently stubs.
     
  4. Riiiicolaaaa
    OP

    Newcomer Riiiicolaaaa Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the fast reply [​IMG]

    I tried cIOSx rev 21 before rev 20b and my results didn't change.

    I tried reinstalling with 236 and I get a message saying "Exception (DSI) occured!" with a string of what appears to be memory addresses, a Stack Dump, and a Code Dump. Any ideas what I should do with that?
     
  5. ddetkowski

    Member ddetkowski GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    just re-hack from scratch using ModMii, in my sig
     
  6. Riiiicolaaaa
    OP

    Newcomer Riiiicolaaaa Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I'm going to hold off since I really only have this one step to fix and I should be all set at that time.
     
  7. person66

    Member person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,110
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    dont think this would help, but you could try installing ios36 with fakesign using DOP-MII (I think MMM can do it to) and then choosing ios 36 in the cIOS installer
     
  8. Riiiicolaaaa
    OP

    Newcomer Riiiicolaaaa Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    That fixed it! I don't know how you did that but I'm booting games off my USB drive like a champ now. Thanks!
     
  9. troy512

    Newcomer troy512 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    the original tutorial you followed has fail written all over it.

    besides an absolute lie like this

    anyway, you should follow a real guide written by a real person, not someone blowing smoke out their ass. ModMii.

    you may be able to load games off your drive for now, but you will encounter other errors and questions. modmii is updated and has all the needed apps built-in.
     
  10. F. Lobot

    Member F. Lobot GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    United States
    When I tried Modmii it always gave me errors like "Download failed multiple times, proceeding to next in quewe" for almost everything.
     
  11. person66

    Member person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,110
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Could be a firewall or security program blocking it. I also found that I had to delete the "temp" directory in the modmii folder before running modmii to get some stuff to download properly (SNEEK). It might have also just been a temporary problem...
     
  12. ddetkowski

    Member ddetkowski GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    This happens because of a server overload.
    Keep trying til it gets em all.....
     
  13. Riiiicolaaaa
    OP

    Newcomer Riiiicolaaaa Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Just reporting in to say that the hacked wii is working great, and I'm playing 20+ games off my external hard drive with no problems. The tutorial seems to work!
     

Share This Page