1. the19thbear

    OP the19thbear Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Denmark
    Hi. I have been lurking for a while and wanting to do this.
    Now I think is the time I think:)
    I have a switch that is labeled "can possibly be patched", but have not investigated further.
    I want to mainly be using it running linux with retropie. (have seen others do this).
    So what is the status.
    Do I still need an RCM jig? no matter what?
    My understanding is that I need to use the jig every time I reboot the switch, right? And do I need the USB C payload hardware device as well and use that every time?

    Would love to have a solution where I can enable homebrew mode once I boot up (using jig or whatever) and then be able to access both my "normal" switch with normal games I bought and also access retropie, without rebooting. Is that doable?

    Is there still a physical device that I can solder inside the switch to bypass all this?

    Sorry for all the noobness:)
    Thanks.
     
  2. masagrator

    masagrator The patches guy
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    4,056
    Country:
    Poland
    If it's patched, jig is useless and you won't be able to use linux and android.
     
  3. the19thbear

    OP the19thbear Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Denmark
    Ok thanks. Will check if it is patched then.
     
  4. Tomato123

    Tomato123 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2020
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Only way to check if it's patched when it's in the grey area of serial numbers is to try boot into RCM which you need the jig for (There are more janky methods but just get a jig). And it's possible to enable AutoRCM so the jig isn't required after the first successful RCM boot. I haven't touched my RCM jig since I bought it probably around 2 years ago.
     
  5. the19thbear

    OP the19thbear Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Denmark
    HORAAAYYYY. Its not patched:)
    Just ordered a 128gb card and rcmloader+jig.
    Can't wait to play the good old games on my swittch:)
     
    petspeed likes this.
  6. Basketto

    Basketto GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2019
    Messages:
    487
    Country:
    Australia
    Im guessing you dont update your sysnand much? I love autorcm, but if you update officially, its auto-disabled.
     
    BigOnYa likes this.
  7. Tomato123

    Tomato123 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2020
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I update through daybreak so I do keep AutoRCM. I have no reason to touch stock firmware or the official updater.
     
    BigOnYa likes this.
  8. BigOnYa

    BigOnYa Sofa King Special
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2021
    Messages:
    1,131
    Country:
    United States
    Agreed I haven't had to to use my jig or reboot my switch with a payload for months now (AutoRCM and payload reboot.bin set to Hekate)..on 11.1 CFW Atmos and just put to sleep when done...don't play online at all, and any games that require a higher FW, I just patch them with "renxpack" to work on my FW. Many options are available, so don't settle! Game On!
     
    Last edited by BigOnYa, Apr 20, 2021
    Tomato123 likes this.
  9. the19thbear

    OP the19thbear Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Denmark
    Last edited by the19thbear, Apr 20, 2021
  10. Tomato123

    Tomato123 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2020
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Retroarch is the easiest as it can run inside of the Switch's OS itself or even as a seperate OS through Lakka. The UI isn't really that bad and you can even use this to have games show up as normal games in the Switch OS: https://gbatemp.net/threads/nro2nsp-retroarch-rom-nro-forwarders.519915/
     
    BigOnYa likes this.
  11. the19thbear

    OP the19thbear Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Denmark
    Uh THANKS! Tomato123! Just what I have been looking for!
    :)
     
    Tomato123 likes this.
  12. kidkat210

    kidkat210 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    United States
    Just be careful with nro2nsp. I've been hearing of reports that forwarders dont work on ofw 12 0
     
  13. Basketto

    Basketto GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2019
    Messages:
    487
    Country:
    Australia
    You probably wan’t to do some research before going full speed ahead, because running a bunch of homebrew online on custom firmware without an emunand, you risk a ban. Being banned for emulation is not that common, but its not unheard of either.
    You may want to consider what you want to emulate also, because systems from the playstation 1 upwards will run better on your dual boot systems like Android/ubuntu, with gamecube/wii emulation only available on those & Lakka. The exception is 3ds emulation which does have the best performance of custom firmware.
     
  14. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    14,912
    Country:
    United States
    There are plenty of modchips and trinkets that you can solder into the console to avoid using the jig if you want. Which one to use will depend if your console is patched or not. Unpatched units can be hacked with any available modchip while patched and Mariko consoles can only be hacked with the SX Core/Lite.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - homebrew, Status,