1. natinusala

    OP natinusala Win32 error 31 is not an error
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,032
    Country:
    France
    As of Atmosphère 0.8.6, the system now uses "override all apps" by default. This means that THIS GUIDE IS DEPRECATED - you only need to press R over any installed title and it will be overridden by hbl. Enjoy your hassle free homebrews and CFW updates!

    I see a lot of people using RetroArch as an installed NSP to access full RAM, or people whining that they can't play 20FPS SM64 because they don't want to install any NSP.

    Well guess what, now with Atmosphère (and soon others CFW I guess) you can have full RAM homebrews without installing any NSP. It will basically "replace" the game with hbmenu when you launch it with R pressed (or not, your choice), granting you full RAM access.

    Note : You need at least one title on the console (whether it's an homebrew NSP or a digitally puchased game or a cartridge game). If you can pick an up to date game that's better as you won't be nagged everytime you launch hbmenu.

    Let's get started !

    1. Download the latest release of Atmosphère here, as well as fusee-primary.bin : https://github.com/Atmosphere-NX/Atmosphere/releases
    2. Extract the ZIP to the root of your SD card
    If you don't care about mods
    This method breaks mods (and sysmodules with an invalid title id)
    1. Open the atmosphere folder of your SD card and edit loader.ini (Notepad++ is your best friend)
    2. Replace the title_id line by "title_id=app"
    3. Replace the override_key line by "override_key=R"
    4. Save the file, put the SD card back in your console
    5. Use the fusee-primary.bin payload to boot Atmosphère (you can chainload it with Hekate to dual boot others CFW / Lakka)
    Now running any game while holding R will open hbmenu instead of the game, how impressive ! If you want to play the game instead, don't hold R while launching it.

    Or, if you care about mods
    This method works with mods and invalid sysmodules
    1. Find the title ID of your target game here : https://switchbrew.org/wiki/Title_list/Games
    2. Open the atmosphere folder of your SD card and edit loader.ini (Notepad++ is your best friend)
    3. The current title ID is the Photo Gallery - replace it with your game (title_id)
    4. Save the file, put the SD card back in your console
    5. Use the fusee-primary.bin payload to boot Atmosphère (you can chainload it with Hekate to dual boot others CFW / Lakka)
    Now, running the game you selected will open hbmenu instead of the game, how impressive ! If you want to play the game instead, just hold R while launching it.

    If you want to, you can edit loader.ini and change the key combination (override_key) :
    • override_key=!R will run the game when R is pressed, hbmenu else
    • override_key=R will run hbmenu when R is pressed, the game else
    If it doesn't work or if it's glitchy, just try another game and hope for the best.
     
    Last edited by natinusala, Apr 3, 2019
  2. The0919

    The0919 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2017
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United States
    What titleIDs are confirmed to work? I tried it with the puyo puyo demo and octopath demo and neither worked
     
  3. Tinnetju

    Tinnetju Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2018
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    Netherlands
    This week just keeps getting better and better!
     
    NoNAND likes this.
  4. TunaKetchup

    TunaKetchup GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    514
    Country:
    Vietnam
    I'll pass
     
  5. jakkal

    jakkal GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    2,281
    Country:
    United States
    no one offered you anything tho
     
    Tinnetju likes this.
  6. natinusala

    OP natinusala Win32 error 31 is not an error
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,032
    Country:
    France
    Thumper works, that's the one I use
     
  7. localmachine

    localmachine Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Tried the lost sphear demo, pinball fx3, and blaster master zero, couldn't get them to work.

    Edit: I didn't follow step 11 correctly, things are working now.
     
    Last edited by localmachine, Oct 21, 2018
    Philliyxx likes this.
  8. Naked_Snake

    Naked_Snake Constant Miscreant
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,750
    Country:
    Australia
    Hulu works it just does not allow screenshots
     
  9. huma_dawii

    huma_dawii GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3,676
    Country:
    United States
    So, kind of LayeredFS for homebrew now?
     
    Silent_Gunner likes this.
  10. natinusala

    OP natinusala Win32 error 31 is not an error
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,032
    Country:
    France
    It's always been layeredfs
     
    Silent_Gunner likes this.
  11. kingraa777

    kingraa777 boom!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,241
    Country:
    Waits for sxos...
     
    Last edited by kingraa777, Oct 23, 2018
    Gold_Experience likes this.
  12. darriousx

    darriousx Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Anyway to get this to run without having to have purchased an actual game from the eShop? Particularly if you're banned lol

    Edit: I'm banned. Any NSP will do. I'm a derp.
     
    Last edited by darriousx, Oct 24, 2018
  13. eAL

    eAL Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Germany
    Hey guys, just installed the new atmosphere using this guide and using atmosphere 0.7.2. replacing the older data on my sd card. Then iIbooted up my switch directly via primary bootloader and also chainbooted primary loader via Hekate. BUT every time I did and tryto start hbl or any generic nsp or installed game I got an error message game data corrupted. Where did I go wrong here? Wasn't I supposed to replace the atmosphere folder and the hbmenu and hbl data!? I guess I have to start over fresh which is a pain in the ass since I didn't back up my save games recently... >_<
    Thanks for help in advance guys
     
  14. Tinnetju

    Tinnetju Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2018
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Overwriting the files should work but it's always best to start with a clean SD (except for the files you know you need like mods and games). Your saves should be saved on the Switch so I don't think you're in that much trouble :P
     
  15. eAL

    eAL Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Germany
    unfortunately it didn't work. I used the sd files from tumGER/tomGER initially and replaced home-brew software with their updates when updated files were available. but for atmosphère it didn't work. I guess I'll go back to the sd files again, thanks though!
     
  16. eAL

    eAL Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Germany
    HEKATE fixed it I repaired the switch folder
    I'll try later setting up atmosphère and hbmenu again
     
  17. Tinnetju

    Tinnetju Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2018
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Alright glad it's fixed. I recommend using https://guide.sdsetup.com/ to set up your SD and easily pick what you want on it
     
  18. Keylogger

    Keylogger GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,279
    Country:
    France
    Well, even with Retroarch NSP I can't play SM64 at 20FPS ...
     
  19. natinusala

    OP natinusala Win32 error 31 is not an error
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,032
    Country:
    France
    It should at least be 120FPS, you're doing something wrong
     
    toha_vk likes this.
  20. richexpert

    richexpert Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Canada
    sm64 not working here either.
     
    Last edited by richexpert, Oct 31, 2018
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Atmosphère, homebrews, WITHOUT