Hacking Start and Select buttons not working after installing arm9loaderhax

ndrnight

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 25, 2017
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
184
Country
Russia
Hello. I have a big problem after installing arm9loaderhax using https://3ds.guide/
I have New 3DS XL, with backed up 11.0.0 33E Firmware.

On one of the final steps of the guide I successfully restored my NANDmin.bin via Hourglass9 and updated firmware after that. Now my 3ds successfuly boots to home menu, looks like everything works, system version in Settings is "Sys 11.2.0-35E".

But Start and Select buttons does not work at all now. I can not use them in games, and I can not boot to Luma3DS or Hourglass9 now, because they require those buttons to be pressed...
I googled this problem, but couldn't find solution( Can someone help me please?
 
Last edited by ndrnight,

Tri-Z

Tri z
Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2005
Messages
630
Trophies
0
Location
USA
XP
1,157
Country
United States
Hello. I have a big problem after installing arm9loaderhax using https://3ds.guide/
I have New 3DS XL, with backed up 11.0.0 33E Firmware.

On one of the final steps of the guide I successfully restored my NANDmin.bin via Hourglass9 and updated firmware after that. Now my 3ds successfuly boots to home menu, looks like everything works, system version in Settings is "Sys 11.2.0-35E".

But Start and Select buttons does not work at all now. I can not use them in games, and I can not boot to Luma3DS or Hourglass9 now, because they require those buttons to be pressed...
I googled this problem, but couldn't find solution( Can someone help me please?


Go on ur sd card and change start_hourglass9.bin to y_hourglass9.bin
Or x_hourglass9.bin. What ever button u want. It won't fix buttons not working but u can atleast access the app

Luma menu is accessed with select on boot. I'm sure it can be changed but I haven't ever done it so is cant tell u off hand how to
 
Last edited by Tri-Z,

ndrnight

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 25, 2017
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
184
Country
Russia
Go on ur sd card and change start_hourglass9.bin to y_hourglass9.bin
Or x_hourglass9.bin. What ever button u want. It won't fix buttons not working but u can atleast access the app

Luma menu is accessed with select on boot. I'm sure it can be changed but I haven't ever done it so is cant tell u off hand how to

Thank you very much, I renamed start_hourglass9.bin to x_hourglass9.bin and it booted to Hourglass.

But what should I do now? Is this a software problem or this is a coincidence and my buttons hardware broke right after cfw installation?
 
Last edited by ndrnight,

wormdood

pirate booty inspector
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2014
Messages
5,170
Trophies
0
Age
35
Location
behind a parental advisory sticker
XP
3,551
Country
United States
But what now? Is this a software problem or this is a coincidence and my buttons hardware broke right after cfw installation?
it must be coincidence or else your google search would have been helpful . . . if you believe it to be software related you can always restore your nand backup
 

mohdsaher

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
139
Trophies
0
XP
104
Country
United States
try restoring to your nand backup again it could be possible that something screwed up while you were restoring
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,102
Trophies
0
Location
Alola
XP
11,915
Country
Norway
Thank you very much, I renamed start_hourglass9.bin to x_hourglass9.bin and it booted to Hourglass.

But what should I do now? Is this a software problem or this is a coincidence and my buttons hardware broke right after cfw installation?
I really doubt that your problem was caused by A9LH, it's probably a coincidence. I don't think there's any code in A9LH or Luma3DS that could cause that issue.
 

mohdsaher

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
139
Trophies
0
XP
104
Country
United States
it could have been a faulty nand restore maybe something happened to the ds ex dropped hit or the the buttons them selves got fried or disconnected from the motherboard
 

ndrnight

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 25, 2017
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
184
Country
Russia
Nand restore didn't help. Start and select button still do not response.
But the console is brand new, bought it few days ago...I was very gentle with console, never dropped it or anyhting like that.
Maybe there is still anything I can do now?
 
Last edited by ndrnight,

Tri-Z

Tri z
Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2005
Messages
630
Trophies
0
Location
USA
XP
1,157
Country
United States
Out of curiosity to you have a reg nds gamecart. Put that in and see if start will work while playing old Nintendo ds game
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,102
Trophies
0
Location
Alola
XP
11,915
Country
Norway
Nand restore didn't help. Start and select button still do not response.
But the console is brand new, bought it few days ago...
Maybe there is still anything I can do now?
Since the console is still new, I would suggest restoring your original NAND backup using Decrypt9 (without keep A9LH), formatting the SD card and the console and returning the console for a replacement.
 
  • Like
Reactions: wormdood

ndrnight

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 25, 2017
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
184
Country
Russia
Out of curiosity to you have a reg nds gamecart. Put that in and see if start will work while playing old Nintendo ds game

Yes, I have. Start and Select buttons not working in them too. All other buttons work fine.

Since the console is still new, I would suggest restoring your original NAND backup using Decrypt9 (without keep A9LH), formatting the SD card and the console and returning the console for a replacement.

Yes, looks like it is a factory defect, and returning console is the only way((
But right now how can I lauch Decrypt9 and restore nand? By using Soundhax like in the guide?
 

Tri-Z

Tri z
Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2005
Messages
630
Trophies
0
Location
USA
XP
1,157
Country
United States
Yes, I have. Start and Select buttons not working in them too. All other buttons work fine.



Yes, looks like it is a factory defect, and returning console is the only way((
But right now how can I lauch Decrypt9 and restore nand? By using Soundhax like in the guide?

U prob have it on ur card already. Rename the bin like u did for hourglass9 just use a dif button

When bring back to store, say buttons didn't work from the start, so hopefully u can just get an on the spot exchange
 
Last edited by Tri-Z,
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,102
Trophies
0
Location
Alola
XP
11,915
Country
Norway
Yes, I have. Start and Select buttons not working in them too. All other buttons work fine.



Yes, looks like it is a factory defect, and returning console is the only way((
But right now how can I lauch Decrypt9 and restore nand? By using Soundhax like in the guide?
Name the Decrypt9 payload something like y_Decrypt9.bin and place it in SD:\luma\payloads, and hold Y on boot to launch it.
 

ndrnight

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 25, 2017
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
184
Country
Russia
Ok, I restored my stock firmware and removed arm9loaderhax via Decrypt9. Then formatted 3ds system and removed all files and folders from micro sd, except "DCIM" and "Nintendo 3DS".
Is there a way now for someone to find out that I had arm9loaderhax on this system?
 

Tri-Z

Tri z
Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2005
Messages
630
Trophies
0
Location
USA
XP
1,157
Country
United States
Ok, I restored my stock firmware and removed arm9loaderhax via Decrypt9. Then formatted 3ds system and removed all files and folders from micro sd, except "DCIM" and "Nintendo 3DS".
Is there a way now for someone to find out that I had arm9loaderhax on this system?
No I don't think they will take the time to investigate it. Especially how it's a hardware buttons not working issue. Even if you had the files on it I doubt in store people would know better
Where'd u get it from? Your goal should just be a store exchange. No we will send it back to Nintendo for you, absolutely not , I've have it for a few days, opened it and couldn't set it up because buttons no work, I'd like to replace it for a new one please.
Don't say it worked and then stopped
 
Last edited by Tri-Z,

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • WeedZ @ WeedZ:
    I feel like I'm intruding
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    So weird how the shitbox is so much more active than it used to be
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Who are you people
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    (respectfully)
  • Flame @ Flame:
    @Sicklyboy be careful, this people are dangerous
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    Sicklyboy: So weird how the shitbox is so much more active than it used to be <- yeah, i don't like it :sad:
  • Flame @ Flame:
    beware @Sicklyboy Jdbye is not one of those dangerous ones
  • PeeJay Bonobo @ PeeJay Bonobo:
    I'd better switch to Linux
  • PeeJay Bonobo @ PeeJay Bonobo:
    Because AMD GPU
  • Scott_pilgrim @ Scott_pilgrim:
    " So weird how the shitbox is so much more active than it used to be" it doesnt feel like a small
    club anymore :(
  • Flame @ Flame:
    more the better scott
  • linuxares @ linuxares:
    oooh shiny new toys for mods
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Why blue mods turn green mods :blink:
  • Flame @ Flame:
    @Sonic Angel Knight because Pokemon trainer used a stone on us
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    one big team
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    it's easier that way
  • Flame @ Flame:
    we evolved
  • JuanMena @ JuanMena:
    Green means that they're not ripped yet.
  • Flame @ Flame:
    im a rayquaza now
  • JuanMena @ JuanMena:
    You know, like Green Tomatoes = Unripe
    tomatoes-
  • JuanMena @ JuanMena:
    Oh nice!
  • JuanMena @ JuanMena:
    There's currently 4 Global Moderators on this chat.
    All of them are Green.
    Are you the Ninja Turtles?
  • JuanMena @ JuanMena:
    One of them is Super Gay, and it's not Dinoh-
    JuanMena @ JuanMena: One of them is Super Gay, and it's not Dinoh-