SOooo, What are the odds of the DS2 working on the 3DS?

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by ferret7463, Nov 29, 2010.

  1. ferret7463
    OP

    Member ferret7463 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    590
    Country:
    United States
    The main reason i bought the DS2 is so that i can have a game library ready to be played on the new system. I know there is no chance that it will run 3ds games but what are the chances of the DSTWO running it's emulators and media player? I used my X-Rom from my GBA in my DS for a while till they came out with the Slot 1 solutions. I am hoping to do the same with the DS2 on the 3DS.
     
  2. Trollology

    Banned Trollology Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    And you think that Nintendo won't come up with a way to stop the 3DS from reading the SCDS2 when it comes out? xD
    Just saying what I think about this question.
     
  3. Gh0sti

    Member Gh0sti iOS Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,300
    Location:
    Inside you, all around you
    Country:
    United States
    if DS mode is cracked on the 3DS yes the SCDS2 will be able to play, however playing 3DS roms will need 3DS mode and that might be harder to hack, so we shall see, Super Card team is working on the AP for 3DS i just got a message from Babykane head mod from chinese forums and he said something about that so i dont know if that means they have a 3DS and are trying to hack it or something else but we have some time b4 the 3DS is even out
     
  4. nathancnc

    Member nathancnc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Country:
    United States
    About a 65% chance it will work
     
  5. Dimensional

    Member Dimensional GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    464
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    The Supercard team is fairly sure that the DS2 can run on the 3DS as soon as they crack the DS mode AP on it. Something to do with the DS2's own CPU.
     
  6. tajio

    Member tajio GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    403
    Location:
    Northern Ireland, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's possible. I'd say they have like 10 - 25% of cracking it...
     
  7. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    What are the odds? Well, let me look into my crystal ball...


    "reply hazy, ask again later"


    Well, there you have it folks. No one fucking knows.
     
  8. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Not good if you consider the following possibility.

    Nintendo could permanently block out all current DSi flashcards (DStwo, AK2i, etc.) without any software trickery if they wanted to. Here's how: They could add a switch inside the 3DS's card slot that disables card operation if it is not pressed up by the little plastic ridges in between the connector pins (all retail DS carts have them). As you know, the AK2i has no connector pin ridges and the DStwo has a couple of gaps wide enough for said switch.

    I'm not trying to give Nintendo any ideas here, I just hope flashcart manufacturers are prepared for this possibility. [​IMG]
     
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    That would also mean if somebody's IRL cart chipped it would no longer work, I don't think they want to risk that.
     
  10. Noob15

    Newcomer Noob15 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Canada
    lol ya that wat i thought to at first snailface but then i thought like rydian.... ya they wouldn't risk blocking it out like that.
     
  11. jakeyjake

    Member jakeyjake GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    It might need an update to work, since they had to update after the last firmware release on the dsi, but I expect it to be able to work eventually.
     
  12. rocketen

    Newcomer rocketen Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Ireland
    Better than most since it can mimic a real cart, but still not so good.
     

Share This Page