Some code help for libnds

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Morgawr, Jan 22, 2009.

1. Morgawr
    OP

Morgawr GBAtemp Fan

Dec 18, 2008
    Italy
    Hello everyone, I know maybe I shouldn't be posting here about code help or anything like that (maybe I should've gone to a more appropriated forums) but I like this place and it's the best forums around for hacking and homebrew so I wanted to try.. you can always lock this topic if you find it inappropriate..

anyways, three days ago I started programming for homebrew with libnds and devkitARM on the DS and, after following the tutorials and doing some non-graphical tests (like messing around with system input-output and basic clock libraries and stuff) I wanted to give a go to the graphical part of this console.

Reading back on the examples there's the part where you have to initialize the different backgrounds on the screen, and there's a part that isn't clear to me:

CODEvoid initBackgrounds() {
    ÂÂÂÂ/*ÂÂSet up affine background 3 on main as a 16-bit color background. */
    ÂÂÂÂREG_BG3CNT = BG_BMP16_256x256 |
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ BG_BMP_BASE(0) | // The starting place in memory
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ BG_PRIORITY(3); // A low priority

ÂÂÂÂ/*ÂÂSet the affine transformation matrix for the main screen background 3
    ÂÂÂÂ *ÂÂto be the identity matrix.
    ÂÂÂÂ */
    ÂÂÂÂREG_BG3PA = 1

2. Jeremysr

Jeremysr Member

Newcomer
    Jul 26, 2006
    Canada
    Kamsack, Saskatchewan, Canada
  3. Morgawr
    OP

Morgawr GBAtemp Fan

Dec 18, 2008
    Italy
    Thanks a lot, really.. but why I can't find lots of functions (that I saw in other examples) in THIS API documentation? It should be the official one, and the one you linked is different (also it has stuff in japanese that I can't read..)

so, is there a better API documentation (English preferably) that I could browse? D:

1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.