1. Porkdish

    Porkdish GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    335
    Country:
    I'd love to hear from any mac user who's successfully patched with the mac patch. I just used a PC, where the patch process is suprisingly mac simple.

    That aside, its well past time I expressed appreciation for this translation patch. Its of exceptional quality, if I hadn't visited the database that one time I'd have no idea it was 'fan made' (also Fedelta thanking Idea for her abuse was a bit weird). The game is a true DS gem and I thank Darthnemesis and his team of helpers wholeheartedly for bringing it to the english language with such care.

    I'm actually still looking forward to an official english release if only to see if its translated with equal quality. I fear it could well suffer under the hands of someone concerned with their target audience/market more than a pure translation.

    Also thanks for the OoE maps [​IMG] Loved em.
     
  2. DarthNemesis

    OP DarthNemesis GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,211
    Country:
    United States
    Most of the few Google hits I see for this error blame the 10.5 upgrade. If binaries aren't stable across versions then I don't know what to tell mac users other than they'll have to compile xdelta themselves [​IMG]
    I'd try to make it easier or write a tutorial, but I don't have a mac.
     
  3. Porkdish

    Porkdish GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    335
    Country:
    Where did you get the compiled version anyway? What system was it compiled on?

    I got the error running on 10.4 of os X, was the version you got compiled on 10.5? or an earlier system?

    The only trouble with mac users having to compile xdelta3 themselves is they would have to install a huge bunch of developer tools, in particular x11, which isn't installed by default.

    I read in the 'patch for mac' thread that one guy had success, perhaps it would be 'easier' to track down compiled versions for 10.4, 10,5 and possibly 10.3 and include them with the patch.

    I tried for a long time to get *any* compiled version online but I couldn't find even one.


    EDIT>

    I answered my own question, that version you included in the mac patch is compiled for os x 10.5

    It patches just fine on Leopard (INTEL) but I don't know about 10.5 (PPC). I will try it on a PPC 10.5 tomorrow.

    It does not work on 10.4 (PPC).

    For those mac users on the newer intel machines, here's how to get it to work...
    1) Make a folder on your desktop, on the safe side don't include spaces in the name.
    2) In that folder put the files from BOTH the pc and mac patches.
    3) Open your Utilities folder inside your Applications folder and run Terminal.
    4) Drag the file PatchSoma into the terminal window and press enter.

    A new file with the -patched extension to the filename is created. This is your translated rom.



    --- Unrelated Sidenote ---
    Not sure if you updated your Dracula's Castle map on Gamefaqs yet DarthNemesis, but there's a typo for the location of the Rapidus Fio (i41 not r41)
     
  4. DarthNemesis

    OP DarthNemesis GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,211
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, fixed.
     
  5. Raestloz

    Raestloz GBATemp's Lone Wolf
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,776
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Hmmm... true, maybe they did have some kind of meaning behind "gunners"

    --off-topic question--
    what's the katakana of gunner then? Is it that gunners with "su" removed?
     
  6. kjean

    kjean GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    550
    Country:
    ???? Gunnersu
    ??? Gunner
    Who knows it has 4 skill categories maybe that's why.
     
  7. DarthNemesis

    OP DarthNemesis GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,211
    Country:
    United States
    They all have ス at the end.
     
  8. Porkdish

    Porkdish GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    335
    Country:
    Just a quick note to say that the patch for mac's works on 10.5 ppc so for the latest mac operating system (leopard 10.5) just follow the steps listed earlier.

    To get it to work on the still commonly used 10.4 (tiger) you will need a version of xdelta3 compiled with that operating system. I don't have the developer tools installed so I can't supply this, sorry. If anyone finds a version shout out.
     
  9. Raestloz

    Raestloz GBATemp's Lone Wolf
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,776
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Wait, are you implying "Gunner" and "gunners" have the same katakana word or you're telling kjean hat all classes have "su"? [​IMG]
     
  10. firaX

    firaX Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Hi, I am from Germany.

    Kampf means "battle/fight" the actors within a Kampf would be a "Kämpfer". The plurals is Kämpfer as well. I know you seem to want a 1:1 translation but is sounds really silly to say Kampfs, since that word is grammtically incorrect in German. I also went nuts when SE translated Siebzehn as Seibzehn in Xenogears (Marias gear, 17).

    The reason i think the japanese adds a plural s is maybe that it implies the character belongs to the group of XXXs. "Group of Gunners" etc. I also agree though, it would sound better in singular, coherent with other RPG/SRPG titles.
     
  11. kurosakinaruto

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Canada
    Wait, I just got an idea, if you can swap people models, can't you also swap weapon models? o.o

    (Imagines holding a Master Laban sword)
     
  12. VISHI SO FISHI

    VISHI SO FISHI Cricket My love!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    765
    Country:
    India
    How the hell do i work this?

    I downloaded the ROM and now i downloaded this, its a folder called

    "Soma Trans" after i extracted this..

    What do i do now?
     
  13. Raika

    Raika uguu
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,865
    Country:
    @VISHI: In the folder there is a "Drop Rom Here" Batch File. Just drag and drop the rom you downloaded onto the Batch File and it will patch automatically...
     
  14. VISHI SO FISHI

    VISHI SO FISHI Cricket My love!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    765
    Country:
    India
    Oh thanks their Raika, lol i downloaded the wrong thing!

    lol

    Thanks a lot!
     
  15. War

    War Take it easy~
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Country:
    Keep up the awesome work Darth, you're almost 100% done! You should open up donations, man. I tell ya', you'd be swimming in dollar bills right now...

    PS:
    Hello i'm new i'm from los angeles.
    where do you translate more?!?111one
    I'M IMPACIENT!!?!11

    PPS: Please don't kill me, Darth.
     
  16. Mergulho

    Mergulho Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Brazil
    Keep straining on the project!
     
  17. kjean

    kjean GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    550
    Country:
    I just finished the game. Truely a good job, Darth. [​IMG]
    don't make her wait I sense some darkforce from this post.
     
  18. Vincent T

    Vincent T GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    504
    Country:
    United States
    He's being sarcastic.
     
  19. Hehe Moo

    Hehe Moo Moo?
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,137
    Country:
    oO'' I'm surprised that several people asked how to work the "Drop Rom Here" file.. I didn't even have to read the "readme" to figure THAT out..
     
  20. Mohammad

    Mohammad GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    233
    Country:
    United States
    lol is there also a readme? lol, I don't remember having any problems installing it, maybe we should put a youtube on how to do it on the first page though, watch as I drag somabringer.nds onto drop rom here.bat AMAZING!
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Translation, Bringer,