Hacking Softmod my new 2ds, and now ?

myspacee

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 21, 2012
Messages
72
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
209
Country
Italy
Hello,
I succesufull softmod my new 2d using 3ds.hacks.guide. All fine.

My old 3ds fat deads with all my saves and a unusable Gateway card.

I've some question :
- I am obliged to install the cias on sysnand ? (is not possible to store games on my SD and run from there ?)
- If yes, which is sysnand memory size ?
- Using Gateway i've created a virtual NAND, i think all my saves are on SD; is there anyway to recover them and restore on new console ?

Thank you for your help,
m.
 

Shadow#1

Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
11,400
Trophies
1
XP
6,867
Country
United States
Hello,
I succesufull softmod my new 2d using 3ds.hacks.guide. All fine.

My old 3ds fat deads with all my saves and a unusable Gateway card.

I've some question :
- I am obliged to install the cias on sysnand ? (is not possible to store games on my SD and run from there ?)
- If yes, which is sysnand memory size ?
- Using Gateway i've created a virtual NAND, i think all my saves are on SD; is there anyway to recover them and restore on new console ?

Thank you for your help,
m.

Install them to sysnand yes

No size change needed

Not going to use gateway or EmuNAND anymore as both r obsolete
 
  • Like
Reactions: TurdPooCharger

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
28,609
Trophies
2
XP
18,475
Country
United States
iirc, that's the difference between redNAND and emuNAND. redNAND stands for redirected NAND and emuNAND emulated NAND. one of them is the full size of the NAND chip while the other is only what's used. godmode now only backs up what's used to reduce the size. I guess you could think of it as backing up a hard drive where in one instance you only backup used data while in another you clone the entire hdd.
 
  • Like
Reactions: TurdPooCharger

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
28,609
Trophies
2
XP
18,475
Country
United States
no, here's my 3ds (depends on chip):

upload_2020-9-24_5-36-32.png


see how there's two different sizes? one is the full chip; the other is just what's used.
 

fmkid

Just another GBATemp's random guy
Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2015
Messages
1,911
Trophies
0
XP
1,398
Country
Colombia
I've some question :
- I am obliged to install the cias on sysnand ? (is not possible to store games on my SD and run from there ?)
- If yes, which is sysnand memory size ?
- Using Gateway i've created a virtual NAND, i think all my saves are on SD; is there anyway to recover them and restore on new console ?
- Not necessarilly: only DSiWare or System Titles are installed on (Sys)Nand memory. Another content (like 3DS roms/homebrews, updates, DLCs, VC games, demos... are installed on SD/microSD card).

- It depends because the console model (but among 1GB or 2GB, aprox). And SysNand also has some specific partitions:

https://3dbrew.org/wiki/Flash_Filesystem

- You just can inject your GW EmuNand/RedNand on SysNand after install B9S+Luma:

https://3ds.hacks.guide/move-emunand

But, if all your savefiles are associated to .3ds/.3dz roms (not .cia installed roms), you need first to access to your GW and extract/backup the savefiles one per one using a save manager type homebrew.
 
Last edited by fmkid,
  • Like
Reactions: TurdPooCharger
D

Deleted User

Guest
You have about 700 MB of free soace in the CTRNAND, you have about 1 GB of free space in other partitions, but if you install a CIA to the NAND, it won't work. If your saves are from EmuNAND games installed normally, then you can play them as long as you have the EmuNAND's movable.sed on your real NAND, but if they are gateway saves in SAV format, then I haven't a clue how you could use them.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,898
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
11,059
Country
Norway
Hello,
I succesufull softmod my new 2d using 3ds.hacks.guide. All fine.

My old 3ds fat deads with all my saves and a unusable Gateway card.

I've some question :
- I am obliged to install the cias on sysnand ? (is not possible to store games on my SD and run from there ?)
- If yes, which is sysnand memory size ?
- Using Gateway i've created a virtual NAND, i think all my saves are on SD; is there anyway to recover them and restore on new console ?

Thank you for your help,
m.
In order to convert your Gateway saves, you need a working Gateway cart and Gateway Mode.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    AliceCE @ AliceCE: i have owned 4 blue old3dses and one black new3ds