Softmod Gamecube?

Discussion in 'Nintendo GameCube' started by CrimzonEyed, Oct 18, 2010.

Oct 18, 2010

Softmod Gamecube? by CrimzonEyed at 7:26 PM (4,735 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. CrimzonEyed
    OP

    Member CrimzonEyed GBAtemp's Assassin

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,486
    Location:
    The Shadows
    Country:
    Japan
    So i finaly found my old gamecube laying around collecting dust.. sadly.
    The bad part is when I'm about to find the games. The games was lying in a box (since we moved a while ago), i finnaly found the box and starting to serch for the game... I found the games, but not were they was suposed to be, not in the game case. The game cases had been opened during the time we moved and all the cd:s had fall out of the game cases and was hell scratched. [​IMG]
    I don't got the money to buy new games so this is when i start though if it is possible to chip/softmod it?`
    Is it possible? any guides floating around on how to chip/softmod?
     
  2. _Chaz_

    Member _Chaz_ GBAtemp's Official Mook™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,623
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know about a softmod, but you can mod it with chips.

    A quick Google search should bring up some nice options.
     
  3. Wabsta

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Oooooor you could play them on a softmodded wii, which isn't that expensive anymore..

    But, I did read something a while ago, about a thing called "SD Gecko" or something?
    Maybe you could look that up.

    EDIT: Found This
     
  4. elmoreas

    Member elmoreas GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    274
    Country:
    United States
  5. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    .
     
    Last edited by playallday, Jun 22, 2015
  6. EpicJungle

    Member EpicJungle stop browbeating me can't you see i'm sexy

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,002
    Country:
    Canada
    Is it hard to chip a gamecube?
    I might be doing this cause my Gamecube is there collecting dust too [​IMG]
     
  7. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    No, it is really easy. NO wires with the Xeno GC -- just a few points of contact to solder. [​IMG]
     
  8. Salax

    Member Salax GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    265
    Country:
    United States
    The problem is, it's really tiny. I ruined mine trying to install it a few weeks ago.
     
  9. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    .
     
    Last edited by playallday, Jun 22, 2015 - Reason: .

Share This Page