So that this doesn't happen again

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by Windaga, Oct 12, 2010.

Oct 12, 2010
  1. Windaga
    OP

    Member Windaga GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    872
    Location:
    New England
    Country:
    United States
    Alright so, my new Pandora battery should be here by Friday, hopefully on Thursday. So that I don't run into any of these problems again, can anyone help me with this?

    - The PSP was running on the latest version of Prometheus. It's been bricked. When I fix the brick with a MMS and a Pandora Battery, will it retain the firmware? Or will I have to reinstall it? What happens after recovering from a brick? Does it go back to the way it was before the brick, or does it start out brand new? (Or does the unbricking process itself also install custom firmware?)

    -- If it needs new firmware, how would I do this? I know where to get the latest version of Prometheus from, I'm just not sure if the process of recovering from a brick is the same as installing the custom firmware in the first place.

    Sorry for all of these topics. I just don't want this happening again. And while I'm on the subject

    - How exactly do you install a theme? Someone said "Flash0 themes aren't really used anymore, use CXMB" - what does that mean?
     
  2. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    -Essentially recovery from a brick is rewriting the internal flash. You're overwriting your brick with data from your MMS. (That's the point of the Pandora, to trigger a boot from files on the MS).

    -You just follow the update process to whichever firmware you want to get to. So if it was me, and i ran Rain's Ultralite Installer which had the 5.00M33-4 firmware on it i'd just run the 5.00M33-6 update and stop. If you want to get to Prometheus you'll need to go to GEN Firmware then Prometheus. You're just re-updating.

    -CXMB essentially does all that you want with themes. It's a plugin that allows you to use custom coldboots/cintro's, XMB's (down to total manipulation of everything) and gameboots. It does all this by loading from the Memory stick so no risk of a brick either. I don't know if i said this ([​IMG]) but your friend was a moron just flashing random files into flash0 when themes are so much easier to utilise with CXMB.
     
  3. Jolan

    Member Jolan Unlimited Bear Works

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Netherlands, currently
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    In fact, CXMB is so safe, you can even use it on 5.03 CFW without any risk.
     
  4. Devin

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    So did you flash it back yet? xD It should have got there today.
     
  5. Windaga
    OP

    Member Windaga GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    872
    Location:
    New England
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I did. Now I'm running "5.00 M33-4" firmware, but I can't any games to run. Did I use the wrong firmware? Is there a way to change it? How do I change it (or upgrade it) the latest version of Prometheus? (Or whatever is best)

    Also, the Pandora Battery worked for installing the firmware (though it's only 20 percent charged right now), but it won't function as a normal battery. Right now, I'm running off of my friend's little brother's A/C adapter. For whatever reason, the battery will only turn on in a certain position with pressure applied, and even then, it won't function as a normal battery.

    Edit
    Also, I'm not sure if you noticed when you shipped it, but the Battery has been opened. I had to tape the side of it so that it would stay shut in my PSP.
     
  6. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Update to 5.00 M33-6 (place the UPDATE folder in PSP/GAME/ and run from XMB
    Grab ISO Tool 1.79 and place in PSP/GAME/
    Run ISO Tool
    Select Decrypt and select ISO which isn't working
    Select Patch and select Prometheus .6b and the ISO which isn't working
    Exit and run game you just fixed yourself.
     
  7. Windaga
    OP

    Member Windaga GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    872
    Location:
    New England
    Country:
    United States
    Will I have to do that with every game I use? I'm asking because I didn't have to patch anything with the firmware I was using before - everything was literally drag and drop.

    (Doing what you said as I type)
     
  8. Devin

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    That's weird. I didn't notice that it was open.
     
  9. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, you can still update to Prometheus again, although xist prefers M33, so it's only natural that he recommends it.
     
  10. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You'd have to patch about 3% of the PSP Game library that way....also once updated go to the Recovery Menu and enable MS Speed Up - All the time
     
  11. Windaga
    OP

    Member Windaga GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    872
    Location:
    New England
    Country:
    United States
    Alright well, thanks for all of your help guys. I would like to update to Prometheus again, though. Does anyone know what the latest version of Prometheus is, and how I would go about upgrading to it? I'd imagine it would be similar to how I upgrade to M33-6, right? (I just don't want to end up bricking my PSP myself > _
     
  12. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Provided that you don't interrupt any updates, bricking is fairly unlikely.
    Find 'Prometheus' on FileTrip.net
    Quick search says this is the latest Prometheus firmware (not the separate module)

    http://filetrip.net/g25124713-5-50-Prometheus.html

    That should always link directly to the latest version available for download. I don't have it myself, but there might be a readme in there.

    I'm only providing the link at the moment; you might have to install another firmware like M33-6 or GEN-D3 before using it (I haven't checked yet), or you might not.
     
  13. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Get the latest XGEN Updater and go to GEN D3. Then Update to Prometheus 2
     
  14. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah, I thought I heard about installing D3 from somewhere...
    I really need to update my information. [​IMG]
     
  15. Windaga
    OP

    Member Windaga GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    872
    Location:
    New England
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks a lot, guys. I'm in the process of downloading everything needed for the updating. I just can't seem to find the files hosted anywhere other than Uploading.to, which is really slow for me. Oh well.

    So this
    http://www.atmaxplorer.com/2009/12/install...re-5-50-gen-d3/

    Then this
    http://www.psp-hacks.com/2010/09/05/custom...eus-2-released/

    Then my games should work, right? Awesome. I think I'll stay away from the themes for the time being. I'll DEFINITELY have Ryan stay away from my PSP now. (The one who originally bricked it >
     
  16. Dangy

    Member Dangy Twisting Your Mind & Smashing Your Dreams

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,391
    Country:
    United States
    550.PBP goes in the root.
     
  17. Windaga
    OP

    Member Windaga GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    872
    Location:
    New England
    Country:
    United States
    Yep I got it up and running, thanks a lot, all of you ^ ^. I'll look further into actually customizing the PSP later on - I'm just happy it's actually working now. Thanks again, all of you. [​IMG]

    I do need to get a new battery, though. This Pandora battery worked fantastically, but it won't function as a normal battery. Not a big deal - I'll head to gamestop tomorrow and buy one.
     
  18. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think you can still use it for power if you turn the PSP on when it's only getting power from A/C, either with a standard battery plugged in or with no battery and just the cable. It functions as a battery, I believe, it's just the startup that is altered.
     
  19. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Format the MS you're using with this, selecting the Time Machine IPL. Now your Pandora will boot the PSP normally.



    Edit: :facepalm: forgot link.....
     

Share This Page