So my AK2i from GameKool just arrived...

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by overslept, Apr 5, 2010.

Apr 5, 2010
  1. overslept
    OP

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    This is what I ordered: http://www.gamekool.com/acekard-2iak-2i-su...slds-p-217.html

    And this is what I got.


    [​IMG]

    (sorry for the crappy pic quality, I just took it with my phone's 3 megapixel camera)

    Unacceptable.

    I ordered an AceKard2i, and got an AceKard 2. The cart says acekard2 with "ver 2.1" below. There is no orange DSI compatible sticker on the box it came in, either.

    So what should I do? Do I go to GameKool's customer service? Will they reimburse my $16?
     


  2. imranh

    Newcomer imranh Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah complain, you should get your money back.
     
  3. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,308
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You're sure that you didn't accidentally order the 2.1?

    It's like when you accidentally pick up a different flavour of your food at the supermarket, I guess they made that mistake.

    Contact them and get this sorted out, they apparently have some good customer support.
     
  4. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Did you get free shipping on that?

    Because the link you had was the one I was originally going to buy, but it had a $7 shipping fee on it, so I went under the "Free Shipping Zone" link and ordered this one:
    http://www.gamekool.com/freeshipping-aceka...slds-p-184.html

    It's kind of odd that you got a 2.1 though, since they have this posted on the front page:
    Also, the price on the AK2.1 is $12.50 now, so if you get a refund make sure they give you the price you paid.
     
  5. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    Pretty weird that you even got a 2.1. Since they don't even sell the Acekard 2.1s anymore.

    # 30.03.2010:Even we have good batch of Ak2,we now temporarily suspend all AK2.1 orders.Acekard team is now producing a brand new batch of Ak2.1 to fix all the problem.

    Anyways contact them and then they will sort it out for you.
     
  6. overslept
    OP

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, I did order the free shipping version. (http://www.gamekool.com/freeshipping-acekard-2i-support-dsidslds-p-184.html)


    But that still shouldn't matter. An Ak2i is an Ak2i, free shipping or not. I purchased an Ak2i, not an Ak2.
     
  7. Mages4ever

    Member Mages4ever GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm scared now.
     
  8. Mantis41

    Member Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    United States
    Throw it in a DSL and see what it shows up as in the menu. They may have thrown the wrong sticker on it.

    I was a bit woried about my A2k when it turned up as it had no sticker at all and the cardboard box had no DSi compatible sticker. I was thinking great!. Without a sticker and in a dodgey looking box it has to be fake.

    After checking it turned out I had received an original a2ki with HW: 81 which I think is one of the newer batch cards. [​IMG]
     
  9. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    Danny Phantom doesn't appear on a DSL so eh.
    Well you still can see the HWID at least.
    >.> Getting 1.4 updates and this mixed up.
     
  10. Mantis41

    Member Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    United States
    What are you talking about? My DS lite menu shows the Acekard at the top with the logo. What's Danny Phantom?

    I have heard the acekard carts and stickers are sent to suppliers seperatly so it is quite possible someone has f'ed it up and put the wrong sticker on it.

    Edit:
    [​IMG] I guess I am too old these days to realise when someone is telling me I am full of shit.
     
  11. overslept
    OP

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, so what should I do? I have a DSlite. How can I check the "HWID" and stuff? If I really do have an Ak2i sitting here, that's great [​IMG]
     
  12. Mantis41

    Member Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    United States
    Set the DS lite so it doesn't autoload then check the top of the start up screen. You should see the A2K logo telling you which cart you have.
    Second, download akAIO RC2 firmware and goto settings and Help look for HW: if it is 44 or 81 there is a good chance it is an original.

    Edit: Actually, if RC2 runs at all I think the cart automaticaly qualifies as original.
     
  13. overslept
    OP

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    No good.


    [​IMG]
    (again, sorry for the pic quality)


    Showing up as an AceKard2.

    Looks like I'm gonna have to hit up their customer service... ugh, I'm afraid of Hong-Kong flashcart dealer customer service
     
  14. Mantis41

    Member Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    United States
    Fuckit I was hoping. Sorry man.
     
  15. overslept
    OP

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Eh, it's fine. Maybe I'll end up with a free Ak2i [​IMG]
     
  16. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    Chances are they will make you send your AK2.1 to them.
     
  17. 5%

    Member 5% GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    453
    Country:
    Record the conversation so we can determine whether their customer service is as unreliable as their order mixups [​IMG]
     
  18. overslept
    OP

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    I'm probably not going to be the one emailing them. My mom ordered this for an easter present (only 1 day late [​IMG]), so she's probably going to be talking to customer service. I'll keep you posted on what happens.
     
  19. 5%

    Member 5% GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    453
    Country:
    Ah ok. Nice avatar [​IMG]
     
  20. overslept
    OP

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks [​IMG] Gee, how did I know you were gonna use that particular smiley?
     

Share This Page