So anyone have the update for MadWorld?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by MaxDeUh, Apr 29, 2009.

Apr 29, 2009
  1. MaxDeUh
    OP

    Newcomer MaxDeUh Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    United States
    Can't play it because I have Starfall blocking all disc channel updates. Thanks!
     
  2. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Required updates for games are ALWAYS on the game disc itself. For now you only need to install the required IOS and yes you can take that from a disc from another region too. (the system menu from another region is what bricks Wiis)
     
  3. MaxDeUh
    OP

    Newcomer MaxDeUh Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    United States
    I know the update is on the disc itself, but I have Starfall blocking it. Is the update safe? Or should I find the IOS?
     
  4. wiiman123

    Member wiiman123 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    938
    Country:
    New Zealand
    ............................
     
  5. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Try this: Unblock disc updates then boot the game in GeckoOS 1.9. It should install only the necessary IOS files from the disc and not apply the rest of the update.

    Just be sure to reblock disc updates when you're done.
     
  6. MaxDeUh
    OP

    Newcomer MaxDeUh Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    United States
    Gecko OS can do that? >_>

    So, I only have to load it in Gecko OS this one time?
     
  7. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, it's a new feature from 1.8 onward. So you can do that or download and install the wads like the post before mine suggested.
     
  8. MaxDeUh
    OP

    Newcomer MaxDeUh Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, I've been using 1.7b since I first modded my Wii. Only really use it for Brawl hacks. Anyways, downloading Gecko 1.9 now, thanks!
     
  9. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I don't think the disc update blocker is able to intercept that. I would be surprised if you really would have to disable it to do what you told.
     
  10. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    I recall reading in the release thread that you were supposed to disable update blocking for the feature to work. You could always give it a shot to see what happens.
     
  11. MaxDeUh
    OP

    Newcomer MaxDeUh Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    United States
    One more thing, just so I don't have to make another topic. Can someone direct me to something. I recall on this board someone making a program or something that allows you to change the safety menu when you first turn on the Wii to a custom image.
     
  12. squablo

    Member squablo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    United States
    That update is safe. I updated mine and all is good over here, no worries.
     
  13. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    After that's all done, I recommend you to install Preloader and uninstall Starfall [​IMG].

    It's better overall (Except if you can't wait for an extra second of the boot time).
     
  14. triassic911

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Gecko os is great for all future games. It's amazing.
     
  15. wiiman123

    Member wiiman123 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    938
    Country:
    New Zealand
    ...............................
     
  16. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    But gecko OS installs the IOSes on the game disc.
     

Share This Page