SMG2 "could not read disc' error

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by paulie, May 24, 2010.

May 24, 2010

SMG2 "could not read disc' error by paulie at 9:17 PM (2,018 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. paulie
    OP

    Newcomer paulie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    United States
    I'm trying to play SMG2 but on my first playthrough I got the 'could not read disc' error (grey rectangle displaying this error message) right after finishing the first plant boss for the very first star.
    On the second attempt i got the same message halfway through the 2d introduction part.

    I'm using the scrubbed ind release on a 3.1E Pal wii.
    I got a wiikey but the game would'nt load through the disc channel so I booted it up using neogamma loader since I also softmodded my wii.
    I got New Super Mario Bros working perfectly fine (also through neogamma loader) after I installed the cIos needed for that (going to look up which one that exactly was in a bit)
    Should i finally move on to a newer then 3.1e firmware version for my wii, or would installing another IOS also do the trick?
    I never updated my firmware since I always got confused on how to safely do that, so any hints on how to move on from 3.1e would also be very appreciated.
    I hope anyone can help me.

    EDIT: IOS 249 (rev15) appears to be the IOS i last installed according to the neogamma loader menu
     
  2. Gnargle

    Member Gnargle The day I set a profile picture is the day I die

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I dunno, but I imagine updating your Wii to 4.2 will help. Mine's softmodded on that with NeoGamma and SMG2 works just fine.
     
  3. bluenose2

    Newcomer bluenose2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i got it to work with my d2cpro chip pal wii i regionfrii the iso then ran it through gekoos runs like a dream i am on official 4.2e
     
  4. PrinceNOOB

    Member PrinceNOOB GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Country:
    United States
    Try reburning the game
     
  5. paulie
    OP

    Newcomer paulie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    United States
    IMGburn stated the game was burned succesfull, but reburning right now.
     
  6. paulie
    OP

    Newcomer paulie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    United States
    BTW: I just tried running it through gecko loader since it's still burning.
    The game would not load since I need IOS 56 for it.
    Could this be causing the problem when i run it through neogamma?
    Weird thing is that gecko wont laod the game at all and neogamma does but crashes the game after some gameplay.
    EDIT: after installing ios56 from NUSD i get a green screen with gecko loader.
    Also with the new burned disc.
    Going to try neogamma with this new burned disc now.
    EDIT2: still getting the same error message after finishing off the first boss/star.
    Grabbing the unscrubbed release as we speak, should be done in 20 minutes.
    Would upgrading from firmware version 3.1e to the newest possibly harm my wii in any way?
     
  7. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,657
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Nope, but it will delete your Homebrew Channel and stub some IOSes (like the IOS249 slot).

    Just follow this guide: http://gbatemp.net/t171901-modify-any-wii-4-2-below
    and everything will return to normal. On top of that, you won't have any problem with new games for a LOT of time [​IMG]
     
  8. paulie
    OP

    Newcomer paulie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    United States
    Grabbed and burned the unscrubbed iso and things working fine now!
    Will update to 4.2 tomorrow to finally get that done.
    Thanks everybody!
     
  9. elmariachi

    Member elmariachi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    290
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    getting disc read errors when you can play the game for a while are 9 out of 10 times just bad burns ...
     
  10. George Dawes

    Member George Dawes Wanker

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    688
    Location:
    your wife's corpus uteri
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    Not when s/he burned it multiple times and got the same error. Then it worked fine when they got a proper release.
     

Share This Page