Hacking Small pickle with connecting Switch to my Desktop

ivu

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 14, 2018
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
110
XP
33
Country
United Kingdom
Hey, so I've been trying to get my Switch working with homebrew but I'm stuck with connecting it
I get the regular plug-in noise when I'm using my USB C to USB C cable
I've tried using USB C to USB A, I've got from eBay for 2£, yet it doesn't detect the device.

Do I need a proper USB C to USB A or is USB C to USB C cable enough?

TegraRCMGUI detects RCM'ed Switch and charges it while I'm connected through USB C-> USB C, but the whole screen is blank when I'm trying to inject the payload, when I press Mound SD, the app crashes.
 

comput3rus3r

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2016
Messages
3,574
Trophies
0
Age
120
XP
4,749
Country
United States
Hey, so I've been trying to get my Switch working with homebrew but I'm stuck with connecting it
I get the regular plug-in noise when I'm using my USB C to USB C cable
I've tried using USB C to USB A, I've got from eBay for 2£, yet it doesn't detect the device.

Do I need a proper USB C to USB A or is USB C to USB C cable enough?

TegraRCMGUI detects RCM'ed Switch and charges it while I'm connected through USB C-> USB C, but the whole screen is blank when I'm trying to inject the payload, when I press Mound SD, the app crashes.
you could need a proper cable like the one that comes with the pro controller.
that would be the first thing.
if that doesn't work it could be that your sd card reader is not installed properly.
 

Boomerams

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2016
Messages
100
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
450
Country
United States
Small pickle problem huh? Well, I hear it's not the size of the boat, but the motion of the ocean that gets the job done. Wish I could help more, but never had the problem.
 
  • Like
Reactions: TotalInsanity4

ivu

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 14, 2018
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
110
XP
33
Country
United Kingdom
Hmm, my SD card seems to be working, using Samsung 32GB with some 100mb/transfer
I sort of want the Pro Controller but I don't want to splash out 60£ for one, was wondering about a cheaper alternative for the cable, as I've seen people using random cables to plug their Switch to their Desktops

My SD card has Nintendo folder (created by switch) and then all the files from SD Files folder
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,097
Trophies
0
Location
Alola
XP
11,915
Country
Norway
Hey, so I've been trying to get my Switch working with homebrew but I'm stuck with connecting it
I get the regular plug-in noise when I'm using my USB C to USB C cable
I've tried using USB C to USB A, I've got from eBay for 2£, yet it doesn't detect the device.

Do I need a proper USB C to USB A or is USB C to USB C cable enough?

TegraRCMGUI detects RCM'ed Switch and charges it while I'm connected through USB C-> USB C, but the whole screen is blank when I'm trying to inject the payload, when I press Mound SD, the app crashes.
It's possible that C to A cable is for charging only.
But, you best throw that cable away. C to A cables and adapters need to have a 56k ohm resistor to comply with USB-C specs, otherwise it can damage the charger or device used to charge (in this case your PC), or even damage the Switch itself. With these cheap cables you don't know if that's the case.
Hmm, my SD card seems to be working, using Samsung 32GB with some 100mb/transfer
I sort of want the Pro Controller but I don't want to splash out 60£ for one, was wondering about a cheaper alternative for the cable, as I've seen people using random cables to plug their Switch to their Desktops

My SD card has Nintendo folder (created by switch) and then all the files from SD Files folder
The JoyCon charge grip also comes with an A to C cable, and is much cheaper than a Pro Controller. It's a useful thing to have anyway.
 

ivu

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 14, 2018
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
110
XP
33
Country
United Kingdom
That USB C to USB A is not recognized by Windows when I'm plugging it in with Switch (tried on 3 different devices and 6 USB ports 3.0 and 2.0)

I wonder mostly about USB C to USB C, I guess I'll visit some shop and I'll get myself a JoyCon charge grip, though first one that appeared in google as image looks like it's soldered permanently to the charging/docking station
 

comput3rus3r

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2016
Messages
3,574
Trophies
0
Age
120
XP
4,749
Country
United States
Hmm, my SD card seems to be working, using Samsung 32GB with some 100mb/transfer
I sort of want the Pro Controller but I don't want to splash out 60£ for one, was wondering about a cheaper alternative for the cable, as I've seen people using random cables to plug their Switch to their Desktops

My SD card has Nintendo folder (created by switch) and then all the files from SD Files folder
have you tried injecting hekate_ipl? which payload are you trying to use?
I didn't say your sd card, I said your sd card reader on the switch.
It could seem to work perfectly normal even if it's not plugged in correctly. The only thing you would notice is that payloads won't have access to the sd card because they don't support sdsc.

my switch had this issue which prevented any payload from accessing the sd card.
https://streamable.com/txdr9
 

altorn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2007
Messages
1,026
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Toronto, Ontario
Website
atlaswing.zxq.net
XP
1,534
Country
Canada
this happened to me my first time trying out tegrarcmsmash gui. it made the usb sound, detected as RCM, and crashed the GUI as soon as i injected the payload.
i tried it a second time and still crashed the GUI. but the third time i tried again and it worked. ever since it's been working.
 

ivu

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 14, 2018
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
110
XP
33
Country
United Kingdom
Oooook, I got USB A to USB C cable from Nintendo pro controller,
It doesn't detect my Switch once I have it in RCM mode, but moment i unplug it from USB A / C and plug it to USB C / C, my tooltip on TegraRCM changes from Red to Green as RCM detected.
 

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • linuxares @ linuxares:
    This is not the EOF
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    wait i didn't get the time to see what it said
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    damn it, linuxares
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    the shitbox has been effectively eof for a long time and it was perfect that way
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    ehh post it in the eof chat instead? i still want to see it
  • linuxares @ linuxares:
    exactly, that's a good place for it x3
  • WiiHomebrew+Snes @ WiiHomebrew+Snes:
    Well this is interesting
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    For what?
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i don't like this new shitbox, it's too complicated
  • linuxares @ linuxares:
    well this isn't a shoutbox but a chat
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    It's basically the same thing shoutbox has been around for years just upgraded
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    Oh the floating chat thing is new.
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    And you can do formatting.
  • Arecaidian Fox @ Arecaidian Fox:
    Oooooh, colors.
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    I think what you meant was "colors".
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    :^)
    +1
  • antiNT @ antiNT:
    nice
  • HinaNaru Cutie @ HinaNaru Cutie:
    hi o w o
  • HinaNaru Cutie @ HinaNaru Cutie:
    yo does anyone know how to fix the 'no main boot entries found, check that bootloader/hekate_ipl.ini has boot entries or use more configs button for more boot entries' error on hekate??? i keep getting it when i try to click the launch option
  • HinaNaru Cutie @ HinaNaru Cutie:
    nvm got it to work now q uq someone helped me out
  • chrisrlink @ chrisrlink:
    ugh always have trouble sleeping
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Have you tried closing your eyes?
  • HarvHouHacker @ HarvHouHacker:
    Hey, this is cool! Now we can chat pretty much anywhere.
  • AsPika2219 @ AsPika2219:
    RAINBOW 🌈
    AsPika2219 @ AsPika2219: RAINBOW 🌈