Homebrew Simulate GBA cable link on 3DS?

Rare_Pepe_Trader

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Is there ANY way this can be done? A RetroArch core that supports netplay? Emulators capable of connecting over wifi? A blood sacrifice to Reggie Fils-Aime?

I'm still somewhat new to the 3DS homebrew scene, having hacked only a Wii prior to this. I just want to trade & battle my girlfriend on Pokemon Fire Red/Leaf Green without having to buy two GBAs, seeing as we both have perfectly good N3DSes. I assume somehow replicating the cable link is the only way.

Since it's fairly easy to accomplish on a desktop with VBALink and now the original Red/Blue/Yellow games on the VC also feature wireless capabilities, there must be some way to pull this off?...right?...please?

Reactions: Jokey_Carrot

Mikemk

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Well, it's possible (unlikely but possible) that you could perform a hardmod to install a link cable.
Because the 3DS's GBA VC is an actual GBA embedded in the device, no software solution will ever be possible.
You could export the saves to emulators that support linking though.

Reactions: retrospect

Rare_Pepe_Trader

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
That's what I was thinking of doing, at least so we could "trade" by putting both our save files on my computer. Would you be familiar with the export process, by chance?

P

pasc

Androids MyBoy! can do this.

So can VBAlink on PC. (But you already know this)

3DS ? Forget it... We can call us lucky to have a running GBA emu at all...

Last edited by ,

Mikemk

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Run the game.
Return to the home menu.
Open system settings.
Close system settings while holding down whatever key you use to open Decrypt9.
I'm not exactly sure where it is, but the import/export GBA options are somewhere under sysnand options.