Should I just backup everything and start over?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by crazyj3ss, Jul 4, 2012.

  1. crazyj3ss
    OP

    Member crazyj3ss hmm

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Ha, you thought I'd tell?
    Country:
    United States
    Hey, everyone. Yeah, I'm one of those silly people who just goes like 'oh, I'll just update my 3ds now and still be able to update my Dstwo later on when it comes out'. I can't believe why I felt that way this time when normal updates are really fast for the likes of it.

    Anyways, I tried using the one method on another thread where you add the new firmware(?) and change it to dstwoupdateb instead of what it usually says and then put it on your SD card to go through the error screen, then delete it and blah di blah to get it to work. I accidentally deleted the last firmware though and I'm not sure if that's where the problem came from or not. I didn't delete the latest one because of losing the last one.

    I tried to use a relative's 3ds since he normally doesn't play with Wifi on unless he's playing online of course, so it can't connect and update. I tried to update my DStwo and it didn't work, only then did I found out that he had updated it asap this time. Now I'm upset that I got rid of my DsXL. :(

    No matter what I try, nothing seems to work. I'm sure that I just messed up something somewhere and maybe am doing something wrong, but I wanted to ask here before I resorted to this.

    Should I just backup all my stuff and just start over with the newest firmware and EOS or something?

    I'm sorry for all of the rambling, just tried to be clear about what I tried doing and maybe somebody's encountered a problem like it before.


    Thanks. ;D
     
  2. Usarise

    Newcomer Usarise Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    East Coast
    Country:
    United States
    I ran into this problem just a few days ago actually. I was lucky enough to borrow a friend's DSi to update it on. It never hurt to backup your files, so I'd do that first. Then try starting with the new EOS and firmware. If that doesn't work, do you have any friends with old DS's?
     
  3. crazyj3ss
    OP

    Member crazyj3ss hmm

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Ha, you thought I'd tell?
    Country:
    United States
    Backed up everything on my computer, reformatted the card, and then redownloaded the EOS, firmware, patch, etc and put them back on before putting my games back on, etc.

    I still get an error. :\ I thought you could get this done without having the need for a 2nd system. Sadly got rid of my XL and don't know anyone with an un-updated 3DS/old DS. If I can get this straight, definitely just going to wait for DStwo updates yet again instead of rushing with 3DS updates. :x
     
  4. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    you do realize you have to leave it on the error screen for 5mins before you turn off the console?
    if using update B method
    then you delete the update file off the card
     
  5. crazyj3ss
    OP

    Member crazyj3ss hmm

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Ha, you thought I'd tell?
    Country:
    United States
    Well I reformatted the SD card and downloaded the latest EOS, firmware, etc from scratch. How would that apply this time though? Since it isn't just updating it from the last firmware or whatever. ;o
     
  6. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    the update B method applies the update by using the onboard CPU and just uses power from the 3DS

    if you turn it off too soon you can risk breaking the card

    you must just leave on error screen for 5 mins then after take it out and delete the update off the sd card
    or the cpu will try to flash it again and again
     
  7. crazyj3ss
    OP

    Member crazyj3ss hmm

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Ha, you thought I'd tell?
    Country:
    United States
    What if I already have the latest firmware though? Would it work by putting the same firmware on there a 2nd time but under the b name(before deleting the b one)? Last time I tried doing it, I accidentally deleted the firmware I already had on it, so deleting the new didn't seem like an option(before I backed up everything and reformatted), I guess that could've been the problem because I did in fact wait a little over 5 minutes. Now that I've reformatted, automatically put the latest EOS, firmware, patch, and transfered the game files, etc. back, my question is what I just stated earlier in this post.
     
  8. crazyj3ss
    OP

    Member crazyj3ss hmm

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Ha, you thought I'd tell?
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone else have any suggestions or tips? I still kind of doubt that I messed my DStwo up.
     
  9. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    ok. b to update your ds2 if error screen. leave on error screen for 5 mins. after 5 mins delete b file. can be done as many times as you want. you might've bricked your card. if bricked follow the steps in the guide that says how to fix eos 1.08. the 1 percent thing and you need another flashcart that works for that.
     
  10. crazyj3ss
    OP

    Member crazyj3ss hmm

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Ha, you thought I'd tell?
    Country:
    United States
    I might have to just see if I know someone with a DS, don't want to have to get another cart. :c I was asking here cause I thought I heard of a way to be able to unblock the cart without having to have another system.
     
  11. crazyj3ss
    OP

    Member crazyj3ss hmm

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Ha, you thought I'd tell?
    Country:
    United States
    I think i just did the whole updateb thing wrong the first time. Just tried it again and followed directions even more carefully and now my DStwo works! Yay! Next time I'm just going to wait for the patch first, lol.

    Thanks to everyone who offered help! :)
     

Share This Page