Share a tech tip with the person before you.

Basic idea. Share a little tech tip with the person before you, preferably something not completely obscure and more general or related to what we do around here. Even if it is somewhat obvious to you it might not be to others, many of us around here are self taught which can lead to some interesting gaps.

Notepad++ (the code it comes from is also used in Geany in linux and co). Arguably the premier open source windows text editor replacement (it is available as an option on https://ninite.com/ ).
The tip
Column select.
Hold alt and click and drag.
When combined with fixed width text it is so useful for a lot of things, especially ones where you have to do repeated actions, basic database ish work (trim columns from data, add things in the middle) and can not be bothered to fiddle with regular expressions.

Cartmanuk

Trophies
XP
Country
When you want to pretend that you are taking notes in IT class using MSWord while you're actully doing f*ck-all, type =rand(X,Y) where X is the number of paragraphs and Y is the number of sentence repeitions and hit Enter. The function will type random text from a built-in article.

On the Insert tab, the galleries include items that are designed to coordinate with the overall look of your document. You can use these galleries to insert tables, headers, footers, lists, cover pages, and other document building blocks. When you create pictures,

Reactions: Foxi4

jonthedit

Trophies
XP
Country
Bangladesh
When you want to pretend that you are taking notes in IT class using MSWord while you're actully doing f*ck-all, type =rand(X,Y) where X is the number of paragraphs and Y is the number of sentence repeitions and hit Enter. The function will type random text from a built-in article.

Never knew about that. Doesn't seem to work in 2003 either, is it 2007 +?

With Windows 7+ you can hold the ÿ key and press an arrow to snap window positions.

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Trophies
XP